We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst hotel l have ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pathumrat Hotel

Pathumrat Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pathumrat Hotel
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst hotel l have ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Paid for two nights only stayed one ,the hotel is dirty smelly and noisy ,the breakfast was disgusting dry bread no butter for the toast .the bath was so black and dirty ,the sheets had dirty stains on them ,the pool dirty. the staff rude and unhelpful. the dirtiest hotel l have ever stayed in .Needs two be closed down.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank curly e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    3
    2
    8
See reviews for
2
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lobby was nice when we arrived however staff neither paid any attention nor they were friendly.
The room was just terrible, bed hard like a rock and the bathroom was dirty and wet. We needed to ask for towels and toilet paper. On the hallway piles of old mattresses. The peak of our experience was the conveniently located Disco IN the hotel and the bass sound was in our ears until 4am. As we needed to leave at 5 am to catch a plane we had neither sleep nor breakfast.
Do yourself a favour and avoid this experience! Happy travels otherwise.

Room Tip: Do not choose any room ! Go somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clueke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ubon Ratchathani hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there because all others were fully booked.
nobody to carry our luggage on arrival. Very old rooms and bathrooms flooded. no electric bulbs.
No towels on arrival; we had to ask for some.
could not sleep all night due to a super loud music from the hotel discotheque. A nightmare.
Checked out early in the morning. too early to test the breakfast...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Upon arrival we were told that our confirmed booking price was not acceptable for the second and third nights, the price was double. Not having any way of changing hotels, we only stayed for the second night. The bathtub was cracked all over, there was no hot water and no soap. There was also no toilet paper but the cockroaches did not complain. There were piles of used sheets left in the hall for 2 days, smelly ashtrays left in the hall, a food tray left outside the room next to ours for our entire stay. The pool was dirty. I certainly would not use it. A complete renovation would not help this place. A complete demolition might.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MeenoiBatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We only stayed here as the Sunee Grand was full. Second time at the Pathumrat, and it has declined in the 2 year gap.The pool is deep, with a diving board, but no longer filled to the rim, making it look unappealing, though it was refreshing anyway, and we had it all to ourselves.

Breakfast is only good if you get in early, though they will make you fresh egg dishes if your order directly, and it helps if you can speak some Thai.The self serve instant coffee was unpleasant for breakfast, but then the tarrif for this hotel is pretty low.

The Pathumrat is fading, but the foyer is a wonderful study of 1970 excess. This is certainly no longer the best in Ubon,so only stay if necessary.

They no longer offer airport transfers but can order a taxi for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the road side. Quite noisy, whereas the rooms on the other side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromstad, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

!! Dirty and ugly rooms with mosqitos. Breakfast was discusting! And no help with the bags when we arrived.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 806319Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Go to any upcountry Thai provincial capital and you'll find a hotel that was once the best in town, is now somewhat faded and as such, represents good value for the room rate. The Pathumrat is such a hotel. It was constructed in 1972 and in its day was probably quite the place. Nowadays the Pathumrat is a bit past its prime but nonetheless a pleasant, centrally-located place to stay in Ubon Ratchathani. As others have mentioned, the Pathumrat could do with some renovation. To tell the truth, all management would really need to do is remove the dark threadbare carpeting from the corridors, replace it with light-coloured tile, and the property would receive a tremendous facelift. I stayed in a deluxe room for four nights during the annual Candle Festival (Ubon's one big event). Room itself was nicely appointed with parquet floors. I had a split booking (one night direct, three nights through an agency). Breakfast was only included in the night I booked direct. The food was pretty picked over by the time I got to the dining room but I was the last person to eat that day. Looked like the standard fare served in many Thai hotels: some Western, some Thai and some Chinese food. Small swimming pool located in an inner courtyard and protected from the direct sun for all but midday. The hotel offers complimentary transfers to/from the airport. In short, if you don't mind a little "worn", the Pathumrat is a good value place to consider for a stay in Ubon Ratchathani!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_OvenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
0.1 mi away
The Regent Ubon
The Regent Ubon
#20 of 28 in Ubon Ratchathani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunee Grand Hotel
Sunee Grand Hotel
#2 of 28 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eco Inn Ubon Ratchathani
Eco Inn Ubon Ratchathani
#11 of 28 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sri Isan Hotel
Sri Isan Hotel
#12 of 28 in Ubon Ratchathani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laithong Hotel
Laithong Hotel
#6 of 28 in Ubon Ratchathani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 28 in Ubon Ratchathani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathumrat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathumrat Hotel

Property: Pathumrat Hotel
Address: 337 Chayangkura Rd, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Hotel Class:3 star — Pathumrat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pathumrat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing