We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunting weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine de Valaudran
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Salbris
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hunting weekend”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stay 2 days for a weekend,nice place with nice scenery was in October 2010
Owner friendly but no free wifi at that time
Room ok beside our toilet didn't work first day.
Dining over price and boring atmosphere as well,dreadful bar empty no one there.
Better that many hotels around if you mandatory need to stay around Salbris as we needed to other wise no use to drive miles to go there unless in the summer with the pool ...could be nice ?

Room Tip: In the main house not on the side building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieChantal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    110
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
50
154
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice in October, with a two week gap - so can confirm that they keep up to a very good standard. The location is absolutely superb for anyone wanting a quiet break from the nearby motorway.

The service is first class. The bathroom was all that one expects, but the bedrooms could benefit from better lighting.

The restaurant is very good for both dinner and breakfast. Prices highish for dinners but worth it. Breakfasts very good with light fresh croissants. Hams, eggs etc. available too.

Improve the bedroom lighting and go up to 5 stars please.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived late afternoon and followed the signs to the Car Park. It was about 100 yds from the Entrance and we had to carry our luggage in the rain. The Receptionist was busy at her computer just inside the door. She gave us our room key and sent us on our way to find our room. We had booked a Superior Room and were disappointed to find it so small. Apparently the only difference between a Superior room and a Standard room is the size of the bed. Book superior if you really need a 6 ft wide bed. Otherwise a smaller bed and more floor room would be preferable. Apart from being small, the room was very plainly decorated and not what we expected from a building of this age. The dinner was the highspot of our visit, the Head Waiter was most helpful and the food was very good. Incidentally, he was the only staff member we met there who was prepared to speak English to us. When we left it was no better. A man was busy at the computer. I had to sit and wait while he finished what he was doing and then I was given a bill. My Credit Card was processed without comment and he immediately went back to his computer. No Good Bye or anything and certainly not a word of English.

On the whole, value for money was poor and we felt unwelcome. We will certainly try somewhere else when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Solney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We often stayed at this slightly faded but comfortable hotel adjacent to the A71 under its previous ownership but when we returned this year we found that much has improved under the new, friendly and professionally competent ownership of Celine and Gaetan Massu. The 32 smallish rooms are quiet and being gradually updated and upgraded; some are on the ground floor offering ease of access from the grounds and ample car park. The restaurant is the highlight, though. The food, previously considered just 'good' is now exceptionally good with noticeable attention to detail in the saucing, preparation and presentation of mainly regional dishes by their award-winning head chef. Highly recommended and so usefully located on the edge of the forest at the Salbris junction of the A71 south or Orleans.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet but the ground floor rooms offer easy access from the ample car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbbarrie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are two adults and a 16 and 18 year old on our way back from the South Atlantic Coast to Calais. Salbris is a perfect half-way stop-over and the Domaine de Valaudran perfectly located close to the A71/E9. We had two adjoining double rooms on the third floor that were very comfortable and arrived just in time to swim in the small outdoor pool. We had drinks on the terrace overlooking the garden which has tables and chairs scattered around with people relaxing and having pre-dinner drinks in the evening sun. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff efficient and friendly.

Dinner was a bit of a disappointment, we had a better meal in a tiny hotel in the pyrenees for 1/3 of the price. The restaurant was typically 'French' taking the whole dining experience rather seriously, but the quality of the food was average, even at half the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Like a lot of people on their way back home in London we looked at the last minute for an hotel and unexpectedly ended up at Valaudran.
The host and master of the place is a charming professional. The place is amazing - great without being onerous - delicate without being rich - the rooms are of reasonable sizes
After a lovely evening and lovely dinner at the restaurant of the hotel ( not too many tables and a very high class menu) we decided to extend the stay to enjoy the swimming pool and the lunch. which was again for a family of 4 including 2 kids of young age very affordable and very appropriate for the circumstance.
Not only i encourage everyone to stay at Valaudran but I encourage the Hotel to continue with the last piece of improvements necessary to reach excellence.
The only very minor negatives are the bathrooms which look dated and the view on the chalet and residential blocks on the rear side of the Hotel.

rest was perfect - we will surely come shall we drive again by this place !

we highly recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyBlangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose hotel as stopover to SW. Close to motorway yet a quiet and delighful property. Great outdoor pool so arrive early for a post journey swim. Room on 2nd floor smallish but with aircon and fine for price. Might go for superior room in future. Highlight was a delighful evening meal. Will certainly use again

Room Tip: Go for superior although basic is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippeterpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salbris
1.2 mi away
Logis LE PARC SOLOGNE
Logis LE PARC SOLOGNE
#3 of 5 in Salbris
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Sauldraie
Hotel La Sauldraie
#2 of 5 in Salbris
203 reviews
12.5 mi away
Le Chalet de la Foret
Le Chalet de la Foret
#2 of 8 in Vierzon
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Vierzon
Ibis Styles Vierzon
#1 of 8 in Vierzon
437 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Club Vacanciel La Ferte-Imbault
Hotel Club Vacanciel La Ferte-Im...
#1 of 1 in La Ferte-Imbault
110 reviews
16.8 mi away
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Yvoy le Marron
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Valaudran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Valaudran

Property: Domaine de Valaudran
Address: route de Romorantin, 41300 Salbris, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Salbris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Salbris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Valaudran 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nichee dans un parc de 18 hectares, gentilhommiere du 19e siecle, havre de paix et de tranquillite LE DOMAINE DE VALAUDRAN vous accueille dans un hotel de charme 3 etoiles au coeur de la Sologne dans une ambiance familiale et attentionnee. Vous pourrez profiter du confort des chambres aux tonalites fraiches et fleuries pour un court ou long sejour. Installe au restaurant gastronomique ouvert sur la nature, ou en periode estivale, sur la magnifique terrasse donnant sur le parc et la piscine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Valaudran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Valaudran Salbris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing