We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sebay Surf Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sebay Surf Central
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Juan
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pros:
- right smack where the surfing action is
- friendly staff
- decent and cheap barkada room. We paid 3,500 (?!) for a room that is good for 8 people.
- they allowed us to check out at 1:30pm without charging extra

Cons:
- food was a bit pricy
- you can hear the people in the other rooms
- no hot water

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelleinne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    29
    13
    14
See reviews for
24
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

One of the cheapest resorts in town. The rooms are very cheap but don't expect a beautiful one, the rooms are fine and their water supply is sometimes a problem. Food is a bit expensive for the serving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JettA570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Noisy (staff have really loud music, bar karaoke is loud and rooms are badly insulated), and rooms are not good for the price. Hotel is also pretty dingy. Surf instructor staff were friendly and helpful though. Food was good.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I arrived at Sebay at around 7pm. I was not able to see any staff around except for the security guard. When I saw the room it was small for a 3 person room as stated in their website. There is a single bed and a queen size bed. We had to ask for another bed since we won't fit in the beds. The rest room is also so small. The night band singing at the restaurant makes it difficult for anyone to sleep.

Room Tip: Their rooms good for three is actually only good for two so it would be best to book one level up ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston,uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked into the Sebay and went to the restaurant while our rooms were readied. Unfortunately the restaurant staff didnt seem too happy to be working so the service was very slow and when they did finally take our order they didnt have half the options on the menu. We went elsewhere. The rooms unfortunately were very very dark and dingy. They did have aircon and tv, the bathroom was pretty awful tho. The shower worked a little, it was a cold trickle for a few moments at a time.
The only positive I can come up with for this hotel (?) is the surf instructors based here, who were fab, helpful, happy and patient.
For the difference in cost do yourself a massive favour and move next door to the San Juan Surf resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay in Sebay last month. It's a family run resort that has basic amenities. Since it was just a side trip to Baguio, the resort suited my needs. The rate was very affordable, considering that their location is infront of the beach. Rooms have basic amenities - aircon, TV and private restroom. What's important for my family is that the room is clean and the aircon works! We also felt safe inside the resort at night since they have security guards. They also have sufficient parking inside the resort. They also have a restaurant infront of the the beach, so you can stay here while watching your kids play in the sand.

San Juan is said to be the surfing capital of Northern Luzon. Staying in this resort will put you in the middle of the action. They have instructor that charges by the hour, in case you want to learn how to surf.

With the rate that they are charging, I had very good deal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

First time to ever go to La Union like 2 weeks ago and for those who are on a budget you can stay in this hotel. We were 5 in our room and there was just one bathroom. There was very little leg room given that the room was small and we had our stuff. Food isn't that great however if you're in a hurry to eat might as well order from their resto. I suggest that you go to the town proper and do you grocery shopping there especially for the liquor and cigs, its way cheaper to buy outside. Although the good thing is the beach is near and its amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caycastanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.8 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
#1 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#2 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Circle Hostel La Union
1.8 mi away
P&M Final Option Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Costa Villa Beach Resort
Costa Villa Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebay Surf Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebay Surf Central

Property: Sebay Surf Central
Address: Urbiztondo | San Juan, San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Juan
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Sebay Surf Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebay Surf Central Hotel San Juan
Sebay Surf Central San Juan, La Union, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing