We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somebody stoled from our room!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Juan Surf Resort
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked in, put our staff to room and we left to the beach. We came back after two hours and in that time somebody has went to the room and took from my purse third of my moneys. And I knew exactly how much where there before we left, because I just counted the moneys! Ofcourse We put all of our valuable to the safetybox and those where the moneys just for the food. When we left to the beach there where two staff guy carring a fridge and they saw as leaving so we are quite sure that they where them! We told to the reception what happened and asked that we want to speak with owner and tell to him what happened, they told that he is not there and they have been told about what happened to the manager. We asked at the next morning that has the owner came, because they told he will come next morning. Ofcouse he wasn't there. All what the reception staff said was that do not leave anything to the room, but if the safetybox will be closed 5pm and normally you can trust that nobody doesn't go to your room!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mima44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 164 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Its a nice place..clean rooms. Great foods in their bar and resto. Problem is the internet connection. There's just a certain area where u could get a good signal. Got a good view of the beach and the surfers. Staffs are polite. There's a shop for ur beach need..bikinis, slippers, etc. Surfing instructors are friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissySkipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, traveling with boys aged 7 and 10 and a one-year old. A decent restaurant. No room safes. Valuables need to be checked in at reception. A nice open feel to it and a basketball hoop! A better choice than The Little Surfmaid, unless you're a die-hard surfer who intends to spend hours on the point.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Its quite expensive but the rooms are good, food is nice and we didn't get woken up in the night. However the restaurant seemed to have loads of flies in the day. Not good for breakfast (which is a shame because the breakfasts were actually really nice). Rooms really clean though.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were a group of 6 and we stayed at one of the villas. The size of the villa was perfect for us. We only had to get an additional mattress so that everyone can stay in the same room. The resort is really pretty but the room in itself is basic and ordinary - nothing fancy. The staff was polite, friendly and courteous. Too bad though, there was a power shortage on the whole town on the second day of our stay. There was no electricity and running water at the entire resort for the whole morning and afternoon. Nevertheless we had fun just chilling at the beach and enjoying the waves.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgamotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

San Juan is great for surfing, cheap 1 to 1 lessons for about 7gbp per hour. The San Juan Surf Resort has a great view of the action, nice restaurant even if the service is rather slow. Rooms were large, there was an issue with the shower on the first day but it was sorted within 30 minutes. The surf store at the resort had everything that you needed if you weren't prepared for the action.
Rooms were very basic, clean and comfortable. Air con, TV with lots of channels, fridge, quiet location.
Along the beach front are different resorts with restaurants and the best by far was Kahuna which had a good menu with lots of choice, great wine, good service and not too expensive.
Value wise you can't beat the San Juan Surf Resort, we were at the Sebay next door for one night and moved (see Sebay review). Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

SERVICE
Resort staff are accommodating and courteous especially those serving in the restaurant. I really liked them and they attend to your inquiries nicely.

LOCATION
Resort is beachfront and located just along the highway. Laoag and Abra bound buses, as well as jeepneys going to San Fernando city pass by making commute easy.

FACILITIES
There is a bar and resto located right before you go down the beach. They offer different dishes and cocktails. Price is high, as you can expect from a hotel restaurant but food is very good. I must say that their burger is a must try after hours of surfing. There are also 2 free hefty serving of breakfast included with some choices from different cuisine.

There is also a surf shop across the resto that sells surfing and swimming gears and even souvenir T-shirts.


ROOM
We stayed at one of the Bungalows, Bungalow #2. The room is air-conditioned and spacious. Although there were only four of us, I think a group of 6 people can be accommodated since there are two double beds with pull-out. Cable TV is included as well as a refrigerator which is a surprise because the receptionist told me there is none during my reservation. It's nice for me since I always want my drinking water cold.

The bed and especially the cabinets looks old (a varnishing will make it look good). The mattress is a bit thin for me but I had no trouble sleeping. Bathroom is clean with enough space to move around but they should fix the shower pressure. Towels, toothpaste, shampoo and soaps are also provided.


VALUE
We paid Php 2,560 for our room. There are four of us so it's 640/person which for me is not worth in terms of the room quality. But in terms of location and service, I'll let it pass.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay and might go back. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenrose_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.1 mi away
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
174 reviews
4.0 mi away
Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - ...
#2 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#3 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel
Flotsam and Jetsam Hostel
#1 of 12 in San Juan
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Circle Hostel La Union
The Circle Hostel La Union
#3 of 12 in San Juan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Surf Resort

Address: MacArthur Highway, San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Juan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
San Juan Surf Hotel San Juan
San Juan Surf Resort La Union, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing