We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family/surf resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Juan Surf Resort
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good family/surf resort”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, traveling with boys aged 7 and 10 and a one-year old. A decent restaurant. No room safes. Valuables need to be checked in at reception. A nice open feel to it and a basketball hoop! A better choice than The Little Surfmaid, unless you're a die-hard surfer who intends to spend hours on the point.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    73
    35
    16
    6
See reviews for
48
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Its quite expensive but the rooms are good, food is nice and we didn't get woken up in the night. However the restaurant seemed to have loads of flies in the day. Not good for breakfast (which is a shame because the breakfasts were actually really nice). Rooms really clean though.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were a group of 6 and we stayed at one of the villas. The size of the villa was perfect for us. We only had to get an additional mattress so that everyone can stay in the same room. The resort is really pretty but the room in itself is basic and ordinary - nothing fancy. The staff was polite, friendly and courteous. Too bad though, there was a power shortage on the whole town on the second day of our stay. There was no electricity and running water at the entire resort for the whole morning and afternoon. Nevertheless we had fun just chilling at the beach and enjoying the waves.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgamotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston,uk
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

San Juan is great for surfing, cheap 1 to 1 lessons for about 7gbp per hour. The San Juan Surf Resort has a great view of the action, nice restaurant even if the service is rather slow. Rooms were large, there was an issue with the shower on the first day but it was sorted within 30 minutes. The surf store at the resort had everything that you needed if you weren't prepared for the action.
Rooms were very basic, clean and comfortable. Air con, TV with lots of channels, fridge, quiet location.
Along the beach front are different resorts with restaurants and the best by far was Kahuna which had a good menu with lots of choice, great wine, good service and not too expensive.
Value wise you can't beat the San Juan Surf Resort, we were at the Sebay next door for one night and moved (see Sebay review). Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

SERVICE
Resort staff are accommodating and courteous especially those serving in the restaurant. I really liked them and they attend to your inquiries nicely.

LOCATION
Resort is beachfront and located just along the highway. Laoag and Abra bound buses, as well as jeepneys going to San Fernando city pass by making commute easy.

FACILITIES
There is a bar and resto located right before you go down the beach. They offer different dishes and cocktails. Price is high, as you can expect from a hotel restaurant but food is very good. I must say that their burger is a must try after hours of surfing. There are also 2 free hefty serving of breakfast included with some choices from different cuisine.

There is also a surf shop across the resto that sells surfing and swimming gears and even souvenir T-shirts.


ROOM
We stayed at one of the Bungalows, Bungalow #2. The room is air-conditioned and spacious. Although there were only four of us, I think a group of 6 people can be accommodated since there are two double beds with pull-out. Cable TV is included as well as a refrigerator which is a surprise because the receptionist told me there is none during my reservation. It's nice for me since I always want my drinking water cold.

The bed and especially the cabinets looks old (a varnishing will make it look good). The mattress is a bit thin for me but I had no trouble sleeping. Bathroom is clean with enough space to move around but they should fix the shower pressure. Towels, toothpaste, shampoo and soaps are also provided.


VALUE
We paid Php 2,560 for our room. There are four of us so it's 640/person which for me is not worth in terms of the room quality. But in terms of location and service, I'll let it pass.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay and might go back. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenrose_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We are extremely disappointed with the way the Manager (Ms Jovy) handled our room reservation (for Dec 5 and 6, 2012) which we have booked and paid for 1 week prior. We had to travel from Manila to La Union in order to reserve a specific Deluxe Room.

When we arrived at the check-in counter at around 9:30PM of December 5, we were told that the specific Deluxe Room we reserved and paid for is still being occupied by a guest who extended his stay. We were not even given the courtesy of being informed of the changes. The Manager and her staff assumed that we will just accept any other vacant room.

Having been a loyal client of San Juan Surf Resort (i.e. our family and relatives have previously stayed at the resort, we have always recommended the resort to friends based in Manila), this is not what we expected from the Manager and staff. We would have expected that they should have respected our reservation and given us the room.

If this is how their manager and staff treat loyal clients, then they will definitely lose their trust and patronage one by one.

This vacation would have been a very important milestone in our life, because we chose the resort as our honeymoon suite. But the manager and staff ruined this vacation, just to give priority to an extended guest.

This place just lost a couple of loyal customers and we will never recommend this place to anybody anymore.

Room Tip: Always make sure to not lose your room reservation. Fight for your right to your reserved room.... t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEds C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My first time in La Union was for the Oakley Longboarding competition so I let my friends decide where we'd have to stay. We ended up here since their past experience with the place was a pleasant one. We took the standard A/C room good for four (somewhat on the expensive side for the typical budget backpacker) and when they showed us our 1st room we were ecstatic. Nice, clean and spacious... with a fridge. 2 queen sized beds. Hitch? The A/C wasn't working. So they transferred us to a smaller room with bunk beds instead. It was alright, A/C was still not cool enough but we didn't care anymore we just needed a place to stay for the night since our trip was all about the surf, sea and sun. The restaurant served average resort food and staff were accommodating. The great thing about San Juan Surf Resort is that the main surfing area is just a short walk away. It's not right in front of it though so that provides enough privacy, peace and quiet. They also rent out boards for their customers' convenience.

Room Tip: Our experience with the air-conditioning wasn't that great, so before booking a room make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izi_IceCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.9 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
49 reviews
4.0 mi away
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
#2 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Circle Hostel La Union
The Circle Hostel La Union
#3 of 11 in San Juan
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Villa Beach Resort
Costa Villa Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in San Juan
79 reviews
1.9 mi away
P&M Final Option Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Surf Resort

Property: San Juan Surf Resort
Address: MacArthur Highway, San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Juan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
San Juan Surf Hotel San Juan
San Juan Surf Resort La Union, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing