We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”
Review of Unguja Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Unguja Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Unguja Lodge for two nights as a precursor to our 'Footsteps of Livingstone' southbound trip on the Shongololo Express from Dar es Salaam to Vic Falls. Our experience at Unguja Lodge was superb - right from the pre-visit correspondence with Elies (who really went out of her way to assist with connecting flights, transfers etc) to the stay itself. We had a Baobab villa which, despite not being sea-facing, was absolutely magic - we loved the cleverly designed, open spaciousness (yet with excellent privacy) that the villa offered. The variety of indigenous wild life is a testament to the eco-friendly way that this resort has been developed and is run. The food was delicious - it was much appreciated to have a fresh fish dish on offer every night. The staff were very friendly and overall there wasn't anything to fault. We can't wait to get back for a longer stay so that we can do some diving (which looks most promising).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elieshagedoorn, Owner at Unguja Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for staying in Unguja Lodge this month and for writing this very nie and informative review. We hope you enjoyed the train journey after your stay with us and we would love to see you back for some diving!

With warm regards from all of us at Unguja Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Unguja Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Unguja in September 2013 for 7 nights after a 4 night safari in the Selous. We had a wonderful week and the relaxed pace was definitely needed.

Ralph and Elies were very friendly and welcoming and the lodge was well organised and run. The staff were all friendly and the bar/restaurant service was good.

The pool area was always quiet with plenty of sunbeds (and lots of sun!). We stayed in a Baobab villa which was luxurious and very spacious. The monkeys added entertainment to our stay as they were great fun to watch playing in the gardens.

We went on a snorkeling trip with Nick and the dive team which was reasonably priced and we saw a wide variety of sea life. The team were very knowledgeable and made the trip enjoyable.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Unguja and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxed holiday in Zanzibar. Thank you to the team at Unguja and to Imagine Africa for their recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyM_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elieshagedoorn, Owner at Unguja Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us as part of your honeymoon and for writing this nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the snorkelling and the monkeys. We would love to see you back one day.....for an anniversary?

With warm greetings from all of us at Unguja Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Unjuga lodge, on arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and had a chat with the owners. Our villa was delightful, right down to the smallest room! Complete with remains of a tree, the views were fabulous, we enjoyed a few walks on the beach. We particularly enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks and conversations at the bar. The food was excellent and plentiful. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elieshagedoorn, Owner at Unguja Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for staying in Unguja Lodge this month and for sharing your experience. This is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you back one day and have another drink and chat with you at the bar!

With warm regards from all of us at Unguja Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I just came back from four night at the Unguja Lodge in Zanzibar. All I can say about the hotel: fantastic, awesome, unbeatable. It starts with the warmest welcome, then you see your amazing and absolutely stunning villa. At the pool/bar/restaurant you are greeted by the loveliest staff. The food is delicious. Enjoy this outstanding and intimate setting and relax. I will definitely come back!!

Room Tip: As I was travelling on my own I asked for a room/villa in the centre of the resort and Ralph and Els...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ_S877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elieshagedoorn, Owner at Unguja Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us this month and for writing this very nice review. We would love to see you back one day. Karibu tena!

With warm regards from all of us at Unguja Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We finished our 3 week honeymoon with 4 nights at Unguja Lodge and it was the perfect idyllic ending we hoped for. The sea facing 'room' was open with amazing views of the sea and beach when the tide was out. The early morning delivery of hot water enabled us to open the doors of the bedroom (the only enclosed room) and enjoy coffee from the bed while gazing out to sea. We enjoyed lazing by the pool, watching the cheeky monkeys eating the flowers. The staff were so friendly and helpful, thank you Omari 1, 2 and 3 and Happy! Elies and Ralph were very welcoming and have built a paradise, whilst caring for the natural habitat. The walk into the village with Rasheed was eye opening and extremely interesting - make sure you have plenty of space on your camera as all the children want their photos taking and then want to see the results!! For the meal on our final night we were led to a private table under the stars by the sea...a lovely idea and the perfect end to our honeymoon in an amazing place!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-S-Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elieshagedoorn, Owner at Unguja Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us as part of your honeymoon and for writing this very nice review. Also a big thank you for supporting the village of Kizimkazi by doing the guided village walk with Rashid. We are now supporting the village by donating garbage collecting materials (bins, wheelbarrows etc.).

With warm regards from all of us at Unguja Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ralph and Elies make staying here a great experience. It's not just that the quality of everything is excellent, from the construction of the rooms and the restaurant, to the pool, to the food, but that there is a relaxed atmosphere and the staff are friendly without being overbearing. It is impossible not to relax here. The rooms are absolutely massive, so comfortable, and beautifully done, unlike any other room I have stayed in. The restaurant is also very tastefully done, without any unnecessary frills or fanfare, and like everything else here, quite open-air - there is not a single window in the whole place!

The food is excellent, truly delicious. Every evening it is different, with a seafood option every evening. The portions are satisfying and certainly not pretentious, but also make each meal special. Every afternoon you can get up from your slumber by the pool or down by the beach (if the tide is out) and go up into the restaurant to get some coffee and whatever the delicious snack of the day is.

All in all, a fantastic experience that made an amazing holiday even better.

Room Tip: Baobab villas have their own plunge pool, while the seaview villas have a view to the sea... from yo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elieshagedoorn, Owner at Unguja Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience with the world. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do our best in making Unguja Lodge a truely special place and we are happy that you experienced it this way.

With warm regards from all of us at Unguja Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here after a 10 day safari in Tanzania followed by 2 days in Stone Town and 3 in Paje on the other side of Zanzibar. We actually stayed here TWICE because our flight home was cancelled and we couldn't get another for 3 days so we returned the day after we had checked out - which was definitely how to make the most of a bad situation!
I booked it as a much needed piece of luxury for my family after being bone-rattled and wind-burned and suffering from some illness on the mainland during our long safari (I had no idea it was possible to get SO hot and SO cold all in one day in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro but that's another story).
Unguja Lodge is wonderful! Situated in the far south of the island in Kizimkazi, you won't get there for less than $45 in a taxi. The views are breath taking. The villas are huge, open plan, clean, luxurious... We didn't bother using towels after taking a hot shower but stood, open armed and let the warm sea breeze dry us. Boiling water is delivered before sun rise in a flask so you can make an early morning cup of tea or coffee. Monkeys clamber through the rafters and, on one occasion spent half an hour bouncing on the tops of my children's mosquito nets! I have photos of a red colobus stealing a drink from the swimming pool and there was a daily assault on the breakfast buffet by the long tailed monkeys. The night time is punctuated by the strange call of tree hyrax and bush babies. Every evening a letter from the staff was on our bed giving us information about the island, the wildlife or the festival of Eid (which was in full swing when we were there).
Fabulous food and some cracking cocktails. The night of the fresh grilled, marinated tuna was one to remember.
We were incredibly lazy and didn't use the dive centre facilities but other clients appeared to have had a great time snorkeling and diving. But we did enjoy the village walk through Kizimkazi with Rashid - an eye opener for my pampered children!
A huge thank you to Ralph, Elies and the staff of Unguja for BOTH of our stays during August - we were so impressed with what you have managed to create.

Room Tip: We had sea view rooms (7 and 2) and both were superb. Just make sure you do not leave anything out...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squashballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elieshagedoorn, Owner at Unguja Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you VERY much for staying with us twice and for writing this wonderful review. This is much appreciated. Also a big thank you for taking the effort to do the guided village walk with Rashid and so helping the village of Kizimkazi.
We look forward to welcoming you and the family again one day.

With warm regards from all of us at Unguja Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
2.8 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
954 reviews
33.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
34.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
1.0 mi away
Karamba
Karamba
#3 of 5 in Kizimkazi
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unguja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unguja Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 675, Kizimkazi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range: $323 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Unguja Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven spacious private villas. From your ocean view terrace you can watch the local fishermen sailing the Indian Ocean. A breathtaking sunset is yours. All villas are beautifully decorated in Zanzibar style. In our beautiful garden with old mango and baobab trees many indigenous animals find their home. The rare Red Colobus monkeys often come and play. In the middle of the tropical garden, a large specially conditioned swimming pool is situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Unguja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unguja Hotel Kizimkazi
Unguja Resort Kizimkazi
Unguja Lodge Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing