We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable, comfortable, delicious food, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kizi Dolphin Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kizimkazi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kizi Dolphin Lodge
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitable, comfortable, delicious food, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife spent four days at Kizi Dolphin Lodge as part of our honeymoon. The owners (Vita and Abdul) are extremely friendly and helpful with everything. I recommend booking day trips with them, since some of the fishermen by the beach are a bit shady (one of them called Jambo (James) ripped me off with a fake deal). Snorkeling in the area is very good, probably better than around Stone Town. I very much recommend the food at the hotel, especially the potato balls that they serve for dinner. For a beach experience that is a bit more pristine than the beaches in Kizimkazi, I recommend day trips to Jambiani, which can be organized by the owners of the Kizi Dolphin Lodge.

Room Tip: Make sure it's near the WiFi router in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Actually everything was bad except owners and foods. Plumbing problem, broken power generator, wrong room... As i told, may be we're unlucky.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakan-Tiryaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kizimkazi hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Complements to staff, guys you were awasome. You gave us confort that the decision we made to visit the beach instead of being in the city was a good one. We enjoyed everything including the meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madumetsa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

While planning a short "hooray" trip to Tanzania, I have decided to avoid big cities and went straight on to search for some hide-away on the Zanzibar island.

Arrived late afternoon to Dar-es-Salaam on EK 725 daily flight from Dubai International. Unfortunately because of traffic I could not make it for the last ferry which costs USD 35 and had to rush back to airport to catch a plane. Must admit that the 20 minute journey on a small 12-passenger aircraft during sunset was rather overwhelming experience and well worth the USD 75.

After arriving to Zanzibar (make sure you have your yellow fever vaccination record on you) I got on a taxi for over an hour long journey to Kizimkazi beach.
It is located down south from Stone town in rural areas. The Kizimkazi village has max 1000 inhabitants and it is a very simple living. There is one small nursery, school and besides Dolphin lodge, another two small hotels.
I believe during my visit it was only myself and another couple staying in the hotel next door, who were visiting at that time. So yes, ultimate runaway from touristy hot spots.

Kizi Dolphin is a nice small and very well maintained house. The room has its own bathroom with flushing toilet and no water flow disruptions. Spacious and little harder bed with mosquito nets feels almost princessy and I personally recovered my huge sleep deficit during my two nights there. Everything is spotlessly clean. Staff is very friendly and you can expect anything but anonymous atmosphere of big hotels. It feels more like coming to stay in friends family house.
There is a descent meal menu, breakfast full of fresh sweet fruits and juices... heaven.
Downturn are the occasional power outages, especially in the evening.
Location is great, right by the beach, but you have to reach the strip where fishermen dock their boats.

Owner of the place also organizes trips tao snorkel with dolphins in open sea, trip to Stone town or romantic dinner on sand banks for couples.

It was not a matter of luxury and spoiling in its five star meaning. Zanzibar is still developing and life in the rural areas is very simple. People though are extremely friendly and security was no issue.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klarita15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kizimkazi hotels
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Safari Lodge
Dolphin Safari Lodge
#2 of 11 in Kizimkazi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Promised Land Lodge
Promised Land Lodge
#1 of 11 in Kizimkazi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kizimkazi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karamba
Karamba
#4 of 5 in Kizimkazi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kizi Dolphin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kizi Dolphin Lodge

Property: Kizi Dolphin Lodge
Address: | Kizimkazi Dimbani Beach, Kizimkazi +255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kizi Dolphin Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a small lodge with 6 room all with toilet and balcony near the fisherman village of kizimkazi dimbani beach in the south of unguja island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kizi Dolphin Hotel Kizimkazi
Kizi Dolphin Lodge Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing