We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOLIDAY PARADISE!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“HOLIDAY PARADISE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a top class hotel once you arrive after a 75 minute journey from the airport. Immigration at Zanzibar Airport needs dramatically improving as does the final 4 km of road up to the hotel. Once you get there everything is first class with very comfortable rooms and each one having its own pool.and sun deck. The General Manager is one of the very best and the hotel staff reflect a warm, friendly but efficient culture with nothing being too much trouble. The food is good but not gourmet with a very wide range of choices. The Head Chef is very committed to delivering good food. A 21 hour trip from the UK to the hotel but well worth the effort and we would highly recommend the hotel to any potential visitors.

Room Tip: Go for Room 112 which is right ion the beach adjacent to the Jetty. The location is very quiet but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 158Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    113
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
192
521
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had the most amazing 8 nights at The Residence! The staff were wonderful, helpful and always smiling. The villa was beautifully appointed and kept immaculately clean. The food was out of this world. The setting, the beach, the pool were fantastic.....what more can we say? We also had 3 great visits at the Spa where, once again, the staff was fantastic. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are well worth the extra. We were happy to be slightly away from the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorenza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

If you don't mind spending a few extra bucks (it is one of Zanzibars most expensive hotels) this place is close to perfect.
A private beach, an excellent huge pool, private pools in each room, fantastic food, shesha by the sea, bicycles for staying guests to commute from one place to another and awesome staff who smile so much they bring out the sun shine.

One of my most romantic experiences ever!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khalid_Ismail_Zarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I spent 8 days at the Residence after our Safari in Tanzania last August for our honeymoon, and the accommodations were incredible. Our room was kept clean, the aesthetics were lovely, and we spent most of our days by our plunge pool. The staff were SO friendly, which is why we were so disappointed in the way they were treated by some of the other guests. Obviously the cost and high star rating of the Residence would attract a certain type of clientele, but the snobbery and rudeness that we saw extended to the staff on a number of occasions was a big turn off. Having a job at a hotel like this in Zanzibar is considered a very good job. They work very hard, they do their best to try and learn the many languages of the guests to accommodate their needs, and to see them treated so poorly by people was disgraceful. I know the hotel prefers you tip at the end of your stay, but it didn't stop us from leaving a few notes to the ones who went above and beyond.

As for the food, it was quite good. However, we did find the system they have setup with the various menus (all inclusive, non-all inclusive) to be confusing. There was more than one occasion when we dined, either during the day, or at the A La Carte restaurant, where we had to clarify whether we were looking at the right menu or not.

We did take on a few activities, snorkeling, and diving with the dolphins, but be forewarned, although it was definitely an experience, my wife and I both questioned the safety and ethics that were involved with the dolphin dive. Basically we had about 20 minutes alone with the school, before about 10 other boats descended and it became total chaos. It didn't feel safe jumping in and out of the water with so many boats circling around, and we felt that the dolphins were put under a lot of stress by it as well. Would not do it again.

The spa was amazing, drinks were great, having the bikes to travel around the grounds was fun. The resort is quite secluded, so don't expect to do much exploring outside of the grounds. The beach was good, and when the tide was in, the water was quite warm and pleasant to swim in.

Overall, would highly recommend, but would try to keep in mind some of the negatives we experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hawk-Talks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refugefromthenorm, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guests, Thank you very much for allowing us to serve you and meet your expectations. You kindly drew our attention to some ‘out-of-tune-treatments’ that some of our Staff had to endure. you mentioned that some of our guests were exhibiting behavior that would best never to be seen all together.
The management would always interfere or provide support to the employees in case of any form of harassment towards one member of the great team of People that The Residence Zanzibar employs. We work together with an open-door policy and welcome comments from our staffs and management alike. We have not had any accounts of blatant mistreatments until now, however your point has highlighted a potential area of concern that we want to review immediately and with extra care.
Once again, many thanks for your feed-back and the time you took to alert us on the above mentioned points.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed for ten nights at the Residence in an oceanfront suite. The accommodation was beautiful and the customer service from most of the staff was superb. Unfortunately, there was a party of 12 whose children were allowed to run around the bar and restaurant area, jumping over and on sofas, shouting and having no regard or respect for other guests around them. Each morning they managed to clear a lot of couples from the pool area with their constant yelling and crying. It is very unfortunate this 5 star hotel does not have a separate childrens pool.

We had to be moved from our suite after six days (something we were aware of prior to our holiday) due to a large party arriving who had block booked the oceanfront suites. The move was handled very badly by the Director of the hotel. He was dishonest and told us a bare faced lie. He had informed us of the suite we were to be moved to which we were very happy with as it was an unexpected upgrade. On the morning of our move he said the air conditioning was not working and so the suite was out of use. This was a total fabrication because surprise surprise, half an hour later some other guests were put in it. He decided to upgrade them and not us. Ok, that was his right to do that but we were disgusted by his dishonesty, lack of remorse and his blatant lies. However, the rest of the staff offered top five star service and went out of their way to ensure all guests were looked after beautifully. Unfortunately, their Director let them down badly. We had had such a wonderful five day safari at Ol Seki Hemingways in Kenya prior to our stay at The Residence and unfortunately the latter part of our holiday did not meet our expectations.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Refugefromthenorm, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate very much when our guests give feedback reviews about our services. And we are delighted that overall you had enjoyed your stay.
Kids Party:
Thank you very much for your comments where you noted that the children were causing disturbance around the main pool of the hotel. We are fortunate to have a very large pool with different depth to allow people of various age and swimming capabilities to enjoy themselves. We also have private individual pool in each and every one of our beautiful villas, for our guests that are in search of privacy and quietness. Furthermore, our extensive Spa facilities offer a relaxing, secluded whirlpool that our guests are most welcome to use , on a complimentary basis. Nevertheless we will reinforce the management and the supervision around the pool to avoid unacceptable disturbances.
Room Change:
It is unfortunate that the information provided by one of our managers was indeed misleading. He was acting in good faith and his only objective was to provide you with a better room option for your stay. Following this embarrassing situation, you then met with his superior, The Resident Manager of the hotel that managed to provide you with the category of villas you had requested. I have personally reveiwed the situation with the manager involved; I have explained to him how important it is for our second-to-none service delivery standards that at all times, we provide honest, convincing and doable answers to our guests.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to our sunny shores, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribo Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were a family of 12 including 5 kids aged from 2 1/2 to 9 years old spending 11 days in four ocean front villas with " all inclusive" . And it was ! The villas are spacious ( 3 big rooms), well equipped and clean. All the meals were delicious with dinner-buffets from different areas of the world and fine entertainment during dinner. And " all inclusive" is a good thing being a big group including children. The service was perfect and the attention to our big group, and especially the kids was amazing. The place is highly recommended !

Room Tip: Try to get an Ocean Front Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NielsMariboDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavi L, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.We truly are thrilled that we met all your expectations and that the group had a happy stay.It would be delighted to receive and welcome the group once again to our sunny shores, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

After a week of safari in Tanzania, and many early morning wake-up calls, we were very much looking forward to a week of R&R. The drive from the airport to the resort was quite long (about 1hr) and the drive from the main road into the resort is very bumpy and about 20 mins alone. Just when it felt like the sand roads wouldn't end, we pulled up at a beautiful gate and all was forgotten.

This resort is the epitome of tranquility and makes for a very luxurious experience. We were welcomed very warmly by everyone and were so happy to make our beautiful garden villa home for the week. We even received a gift upon arrival. A polo for the men and a sarong for the women, in addition to a beach bag that proved very handy. The villa is very spacious and extremely comfortable and the private pool really changed our experience as it gave us the privacy we needed, when we wanted it and was the perfect way to spend many lazy afternoons.

The food at the resort was consistently excellent, especially the themed dinners at The Pavilion where we enjoyed a different buffet experience and entertainment, every night, for a week. We would look forward to those evenings and enjoy long, drawn-out dinners with great pleasure. While you do have a 2nd option for dinner, The Dining Room, we chose to avoid that by night as all our breakfasts and lunches were there. Also, they don't offer entertainment, instead you have a nighttime view of the beach.

We weren't able to enjoy the beach as much as we would have liked as the tides were extremely low by day up until about 3pm. When we did go out, it was incredible though. We recommend you try the catamaran sailing and a boat goes out every day for snorkeling if you enjoy that. You have many excursion options to book through the hotel. We did Stone Town and the Spice Tour. It was a very hot and stuffy day but we thoroughly enjoyed both and the day trip helped break the daily routine of eat-swim-read. They even have a resident doctor who was extremely helpful and made himself available when I unfortunately reacted very badly to the anti-malaria pills I was taking. Despite it's size, this resort feels personal. The staff is extremely kind, very smiley and genuinely caring. When I fell sick, I couldn't eat for 2 days and was received with such kindness and sympathy from everyone there.

If you are there on your honeymoon you will be as pleasantly surprised as we were with a complimentary Sundowners cruise, to watch the sunset from sea, and with a spectacular romantic dinner on the terrace of your private villa. I think both my husband and I agree that was one of the most memorable parts of our stay.

This hotel is a dream. We were so sad to leave when the time came. Except for the mosquitos which ate us alive, I don't have a single bad thing to say about our stay. It was unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavi L, General Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great responce, we are happy you had an unforgettable experience throughout your stay,and that your health has recuperated. It will be a pleasure welcoming you again.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
32.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
30.2 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
48.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
16.2 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
16.2 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Property: The Residence Zanzibar
Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing