We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Mwanza, Mwanza, Tanzania
1 review
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

What can i say about The Residence?
Well to start with, the staff were very friendly and very helpful and always had a smile on their faces. The food was scrumptious with a lot of varieties to chose from. The rooms were superb with the private swiming pool which was amazing. Each guest is given a bike to get them around the hotel, which my grand kids really enjoyed.

To sum up, the residence is an amazing hotel with a warm and friendly atmosphere and i would recommend this place to any one who goes to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mehboob2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    102
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
184
484
21
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Residence, Zanzibar is an excellent hotel for quality, style and an all round marvellous experience.
We have now visited twice, and would most definitely return. The resort is truly elegant and stylish, yet the atmosphere is very warm and friendly. No-one can do enough to help with any request. It is a tranquil spot, kept pristine by the staff. The food is excellent, and the service matches.
The kids club, although not very busy during our second visit, could not have been more attentive and entertaining for our daughter.
The Spa is stunning and the massages were top notch. Pricey, but to be expected in such a resort.
We would highly recommend, particularly if you are looking for somewhere post safari that offers rest and pampering in an ideal setting.

Room Tip: All the villas are very spacious, but the beachfront is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familysharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Residence for 5 nights after a safari. It is consideres the best place in Zanzibar but it left us with mixed feelings. The place is great though it could do with some improvement in the "garden area" between the seafron and the garden view villas. Each villa is spacious with living room area separated from the bedroom, allowinf for 2 children bed to fit in. Each villa has its own little pool and terrace area though oura was not much in the sun. The big common pool is the place where eveybody gravitates around, you cycle around the resort so even if big the area you cover the distance quite quickly. The beach is nice and empty but do not expect a tropical sea. When tide is low, the sea is quite distant, and when it gets hogh it is rough and more for playing than snorkelling. For snorkellig activity you will have to get the boat out. Food was good, the Pavillon restaurant has buffet with theme night every evening, while the main restaurant has a la carte menu. Do not miss the African night each monday. Kids club is big and nice but it does not seem to attract the children, also they do not provide lunchea or dinner there, so if your children want ro have a movie might you will have to feed them in the villa before. We had 2 excursions, Stone Town visit and Spice Tour were ok, but Prison Island picnic was quite a disaster due to unfriendliness of the hotel there, so avoid it, go to another island for snorkelling. The service was good but a little bit slow and not so proactive. There was a little bit of unclarity in the final bill as though we had booked for 4 people with American Express Travel Services, they told we had to pay for the extra bed. So be sure to have all your receipt and booking forms! At the end nice stay but I would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Residence is unique in Zanzibar. It combines huge grounds with friendly, personal service and high end luxury. It does this while being very family friendly too! Accommodation is in private villas which are beautifully done and come with private plunge pool. Each guest is given a bicycle to get you around the resort, which is great fun - even little pink bikes for girls and baby seats. Food was excellent, free water sports kept us entertained and the gym is extremely well equipped and modern. Proper pampering at its best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prama129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

When you enter the road up to The Residence, you fear the worst but this is not a good guide for what is behind the entrance. Beautiful gardens, a great view from the reception to the pool and the friendly staff. After safari by guided car for a week in Tanzania this was a good end of our holiday. It was a great pleasure for us from the Netherlands to have good bikes for each at our houses. Food is excellent and the friendly service with a smile even better. We enjoyed to been served by Jeruhminna and Cosmas but also the beachboys, MacDonald and Dotto. The Spa is relaxing and also the gym is well equipment. You can bring your own music.
We did the snorkelling tour with the dow and that was also great. Towels and water were in the boat and snorkel and fins are provided when you don't have them. Please notice that in august there is ebb and flood, so only in the afternoon you can swim. Perhaps it is possible to use the jetty more commercial, there were bubbles under the stars, but we don't know that. The Residence was a good experience and it was a pity to leave this place.

Room Tip: Frangipani garden villa, nr. 210, has two bedroom and two bathrooms and a living room, is at walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our second stop on honeymoon, and after 4 days in safari, 10 nights at The Residence was definitely needed. The drive from Stone Town is about an hour, so you really be away from it all. We did one day to the town, which was long and hot and in the middle of Ramadan, so there wasn't much to do. Our villa however was amazing. We had our own pool, beautiful living area, great bathroom and a stunning four poster bed. We had breakfast each morning on our deck, but there is a buffet style in the main dining area if you prefer. Lunch again was buffet style, with plenty of different choices every day. There are 2 restaurants on the complex, both of which were delicious. An a la carte menu or a buffet style with entertainment. As far as activities went, be prepare to relax. The beach is just like a postcard. There are water-sports to do, tennis courts, a gym, a gorgeous spa and every guest has their own bike to get around on. I felt really spoiled from the moment we arrived and the head of room service prepared us cocktails and canapés on our return from an excursion (for all the good breakfasts we had!! ) All in all, it is pure luxury from start to finish! Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are a few different options of rooms. Our view from our pool was still secluded but we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fairypretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked the residence as the second week of our honeymoon for a bit of luxury and relaxation after a week on Safari in mainland Tanzania. We were not disappointed. We originally booked a garden villa, but when we arrived we were upgraded for free to a sea view villa and although lovely, the garden villas do not come close to the sea view ones. You cannot beat opening up the big doors to the terrace in the morning and the laying in bed watching the waves coming in. Amazing. We really couldn't fault anything, the spa, the food, the service, the drinks, were all fantastic. Dinner served on your private terrace by the Butler is not to be missed! The large pool is excellent for swimming, and the pool side service was excellent too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
32.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
30.2 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
48.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
48.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
16.2 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Property: The Residence Zanzibar
Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing