We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Promised Land Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Kizimkazi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at the Promised Land Lodge for a few nights because we needed some quiet and relaxing moments after some stressful weeks and before starting a couple of weeks of adventure. :) The place is even more beautiful and peaceful than on the photos. The sea, the white sand, the hand made chairs and sun umbrellas, everything makes you want to stay.
The restaurant has no choice of food, it will serve the dish of the day. However the food is really nice and it is a good way to try out something new. The rooms are not the most luxurious ones you will find on the island, but we didn't mind considering the extraordinary location. The bathroom has salt water, it's a bit unusual, but you get used to it really quickly. Other reviews say that there is no hot water, but we had hot water, especially during the afternoon and evening. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The staff had organised for us to go swim with the dolphins. They knew which time was the best to avoid other tourist, which was perfect for us. It was such a magical experience. I wish we could have stayed longer at Promised Land. It is such a relaxed and peaceful place.
Even if this place was wonderful, here are some tips to make your stay even better:
1. There is nothing around it, so don't expect to be able to buy something in case you forgot to bring it.
2. Bring plenty of bottled water. We found their bottled water a bit suspicious and brushing your teeth with salt water is not for everybody.
3. Bring snacks. Their restaurant offers 3 meals a day, but you can't get anything in between.
4. Bring enough cash. The place is absolutely safe to keep a bit of cash in the bedroom, and it is not possible to pay by card anyway.
5. If you are travelling on a budget, I would recommend to bring some extra food so that you don't have to eat every meal at the restaurant, as it can get a bit expensive. If I remember correctly, we payed around 50000tsh per person for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have more light and higher ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promised, Owner at Promised Land Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks for your visit and your review at trip advisor that always makes us to improve our services.
There are few details on your review that would like to correct.
-The water we provide is from a genuine company and always the guests get celled bottle when they buy. we never had a similar suspicious but I will look very deep at this matter .
-We have our lunch main course of 12.000 T.sh ( 8 usd ) and dinner 15.000 T.sh! (10 usd).not 50.000 T.sh
-You can always order a plate of fruits in between and for our vegetarians we have menu for them.
-Unfortunately we still use our deep well water that is salty but we are working with the government and privately to solve this problem
Welcome back and happy new year from promised land lodge.
karibu-welcome to promised land lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    41
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
68
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

To choose Promised Land as our wedding destination and invite friends and family from around the world ended up being the best decision! My husband and I were looking for a secluded, 'personal' place where our loved ones could spend time together without the stress of being in a packed tourist resort. The place is basic but very charming, if you are looking for a stress free environment with nice people around you, then this is the place!

The owners of the lodge were extremely accommodative and helpful in the preparation stage and we felt very calm arranging everything remotely. As we finally arrived, we got the full attention and for instance, through local connections had hand craft made for decoration which turned out beautiful.

During the stay, our guests were taken care of and everybody were very happy with the service, the location and the food. Some went on day trips arranged by the lodge and had a wonderful time.

The wedding itself was very well organized, we had two dhows that took us out to a beautifully decorated sand bank and then back to a magnificent Zanzibarian buffet dinner followed by dancing all night long.

We were incredible lucky to have found this place, with reliable and helpful owners - we really did not have to worry about anything. Any email we sent, the reply was swift and accommodating which we very much appreciated.

We highly recommend this place if you are looking for accommodation outside the beaten track of tourists, close to nature!

Thank you Shabi and Laurie for making our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Promised Land for 6 days and had a great time. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They truly make you feel at home. At the end of our stay, we didn't have enough cash for the bill, so the owner went out of his way and drove us himself all the way back to Stone Town and then onward to our next guesthouse. The scenery from our bungalow was breathtaking, turquoise water and you could see whales breaching in the distance. The beach itself isn't great for lounging on because there are rocks and coral, but it's totally clean and pristine and nice to walk along when the tide is out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful trip here. We had originally only planned to stay three nights, but fell in love with the place the second we saw it. Thankfully, Shebi was able to accommodate us staying up to a week! We miss it so much already and we hope we get to come back sometime in the future. Try to ask for room #7 if you can- we had a great view of the beach and its beautiful turquoise water just from laying on the bed or sitting on our balcony!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good value, beautiful, friendly, relaxing and unpretentious, we loved Promised Land. I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to go to Zanzibar and feel part of the community instead of being walled up in some rip off bling resort with other mzungus. You can hook up with local guys to do a village tour or take a boat out fishing or snorkelling for good rates if you want to do more than lie around (haggle!). The sandbar/snorkel/mangrove trip is fantastic. Tips: The village is a 15 minute walk so if you want to explore, hire a bicycle. It's also a good idea to take a few snacks if you don't want to eat a big lunch every day. Many thanks to Chebi, Anu, Ali and all the cool, friendly staff, we miss you already.

Room Tip: Bandas at the back are quieter, prettier and less windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keasrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As other reviewers have commented Promised Land Lodge really does live up to its promise. In a lovely location its a really laid back quiet spot, the staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are spacious, beds very comfy and breakfast is plentiful. Overall it represents exceptionally good value for money. We had a two room family bungalow which was plenty big enough for our family of 5. We enjoyed walking out on the reef at low tide, but beware the sea urchins! We didn't manage to swim as tide was in at the wrong times and the wind whipped up the waves at high tide. Really enjoyed a snorkelling day trip including Bbq lunch on a sand bank - it really is as pretty as the pictures. We hope to return to Promised Land if we holiday on Zanzibar again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieOch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

You don't ever expect a place to be as beautiful as it is in the brochure, but no brochure would be good enough to capture the beauty of this place - it surpassed all our expectations! Best location, really quiet area - we saw almost only locals, very few tourists. We loved walking out onto the reef during low tide, and if you want a sandy beach there are one or two only 5 minutes walk away.The staff are amazing, super relaxed and the rooms are great. Telling all our friends to go there and hopefully we'll be back one day! Thanks Shebi, Anu, Ali and Noru for your warm hospitality!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
9.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kizimkazi
267 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 6 in Kizimkazi
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Karamba
Karamba
#3 of 6 in Kizimkazi
309 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
10.0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promised Land Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promised Land Lodge

Property: Promised Land Lodge
Address: Kizimkazi-Zanzibar, Kizimkazi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not sleep and wake up with the dolphins! Promised Land Lodge located in the south coast of Zanzibar in the dolphin village called Kizimkazi. 50 km from Stone Town and 20km to the east coast. Promised Land Lodge is designed with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique cool and relaxing environment with tropical garden with direct access to the beach and warm water of the Indian Ocean. It is a place where you feel at home as seen in our reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Promised Land Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promised Land Lodge Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing