We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moneyworth tour.”

Casela World of Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.89*
and up
Full-Day Swimming With Dolphins And Casela Nature Park Tour in Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Atop the sugarcane fields on the west coast of the island, with the Rempart Mountain in the backdrop, lies Casela World of Adventures one of the major attractions in Mauritius. Casela probably has its name origin from "la case la", meaning house in local langauge. It opened its doors in December 1979, as a bird sanctuary. Casela, part of Medine group, a major conglomerate in Mauritius, was a vision that took shape and concretised beyond the expectations of those who, for the love of nature, refused to have those beautiful trees cut but had them integrated into the creation of a garden at that time. Spreading over a surface of 250 hectares, Casela World of Adventures has successfully established itself as the leading attraction of the island for both locals and tourists. The park with its rich fauna and flora is home to 1500 birds, giant tortoises, Bengal tigers, cheetahs, white lions, lynxes, servals, hyenas, dromedary camels, pygmy hippos, white rhinos, giraffe and many more species. A plethora of activities are proposed to visitors ranging from an African Safari to heart throbbing activities to unique encounters with big cats. It is also a unique place with the island's only dry toboggans and longest zip lines. The West part of the island is known to be the only place in the world where visitors can swim with dolphins in the morning and walk with the lions in the afternoon! The various amenities and activities recently introduced at the park are testimony of the innovative spirit driving the team. The Discovery Centre, a magnificent building at the entrance of park sets visitors in the mood as soon as they step out of their vehicle. The peculiar roofing at the entrance, along with imposing statues of animals, is a must-take photo spot! Massive pillars replicating giant baobabs and creepers on the ceiling add an adventurous touch to this building with the theming signed by the illustrious company which was hired for the world famous Games of Throne series. Fitted with the very first 4D cinema on the island, two movies are on display. A made-to-scale replica of the map of Mauritius in 3D of is also centrally placed so visitors can situate themselves. Several interactive buttons enable visitors to discover the island's leading landmarks in a fun way. New activitiesAt the giraffe platform, Casela proposes a unique opportunity of feeding the tallest mammals on earth. Visitors also have the chance to feed the colourful lorikeets with fruit nectar. These arboreal parrots characterized by their specialized brush-tipped tongues would feed from your hands and perch on your head. The African safari and its animals can be discovered by safari bus, quad or Segway. Recently visitors can discover the rugged terrains either on horseback or go the extra mile with our exclusive camel ride! Another innovation at the park is the memorable rhino interaction in their natural surroundings. As from December, Casela will also propose mud karting for the most adventurous ones. FiguresThe first development phase of Casela warranted a $10M investment, testimony of the scale of the development envisioned. Part of the Medine Master Plan development, Casela has got further developments in store. The 250 staffed-team is still growing and the park receives around 400,000 visitors yearly including locals and tourists. Seven days a week except for Christmas Day and New Year's Day
Kosice
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A moneyworth tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice nature park with beautyful lions, tigers and cheetah. Safari tour is quite good especially for children, unfortunately there aren't many animals to see, mostly zebras and oistriches (visitors can feed them with bread). No lions, no other predators so a little bit boring though.
The best of is without a doubt interaction with lions. Generally I can recommend the visit of this park, but don't expect way too much.

Helpful?
1 Thank miro81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,516
    974
    437
    143
    101
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“your trip of mauritius will be incomplete without this visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

the area of park is very big and nicely maintained.
resto and park is also there along with safari.
very friendly staff. we took Sega-way in jungle. it was completely thrilling experience. two staff members came with us and guided with the skills. driving sega-way, we went very close to group of deer nd ostrich!
walking with lion gives you memorable experience of lifetime. lion session is closed on sunday, so avoid going on that day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank swatiprinceshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, UK
Level Contributor
249 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Staff and Management need to learn the customer is not their enemy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

They weren’t selling any drinks during our visit. They refused to let us go back to the car for a glass of water. No re-admission is the rule, so don’t leave anything behind in the car if you visit here.
They may close without warning if it rains.
Staff are unfriendly to hostile. The word Sorry is never used and once we had paid we never saw a smile.
It had been a wet night with about 50mm of rain and quite a few businesses did not open at all that day, including a complete shopping mall and a garage, however conditions were improving when we arrived, it was just light rain. We were warned about the weather and there were no refunds but never warned the park wasn’t properly open, so we agreed to go in.
Everything was nice and friendly until they had our money. We were directed to the restaurant as we wanted coffee (it was about the opening time stated on the website). They were cleaning it, when asked when they would open, they tersely replied ‘2 hours.’ So we couldn’t have a drink or a chance to sit until about 12pm.
As we went round the park we noticed all the staff avoided eye contact with us. Just one surprised us by wishing us ‘Good Morning’ as he passed.
We wanted to see the endemic plants. I spotted a closed gate at the top of a clumsy set of steps. My wife couldn’t believe it was closed and climbed up to see if it was. A member of staff stopped her, saying it was closed because of the weather.
By 11.30am we were thirsty, and wanted to get a drink. We went to the Exit gate. We called to one of the staff, who couldn’t be bothered to walk the 30ft to talk to us with courtesy. He told us we weren’t able to re-enter.. My wife protested, and he told us they were closing anyway at 12pm. We left.
Somehow you can guess the rest. That’s right the rain stopped at 12pm, and the rest of the day was dry. Lots of disappointed visitors!
I was tempted to head this review ‘The worst tourist attraction I’ve ever visited’ but I suppose I have seen a couple of others in the same class. Perhaps if we’d visited when the weather was better I’d have written a very different review as we did enjoy our time there, although it’s overpriced; but there’s no way I’m going back to find out.
To finish on a few positive points. The labels on the aviaries were excellent, with just the right amount of information. All the aviaries were clean, and gave the birds both space and plenty of entertainment (some cages though were smaller than ideal, but that applies to most zoos). We were concerned for the monkeys, while their cage was clean, there was little enrichment to their lives, to encourage them to think. Many ducks, geese and swans were wandering in public areas, it was a pleasure to get close to them.
The basic problem lies with staff and management. They really do need to change their attitude to the public. Upsetting customers is not a clever stunt. Also, friendly staff make happy customers, and that’s nicer for all the staff as well as the guests. We left feeling shocked at the way we’d been treated. Mauritians are so friendly and helpful, I’m amazed at how different things are here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank HeatSeekerWrexham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We only had a couple of hours to spend there but it was worth it. We will definitely spend a full day there next time, there is so much to do and so many fun things for kids. The prices are reasonable for a tourist attraction. They do have prices for locals and prices for tourists, which makes you feel a bit ripped off (lol), but at least they are catering for the local people too. The restaurant is also nice and the food is good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSakelliou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Must Visit for Flora and Fauna Lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a very well maintained nature park, with many well-kept Birds and Animals. Many animals seem accustomed to Human interaction and one can get really close to some of them. There is informative signage all along the park and that helps, specially when seeing some rare species.

The air is clean and does not have a lot of stench one usually encounters at Animal reserves in India. The greenery and streams of water are also in abundance and you get to see some really spectacular views of the city around.

There is 3 major things that one must definitely try for while at Casesla -->

1 TIGER INTERACTION/ WALK with the TIGERS - This is a Must.. You can either spend a few minutes patting Tigers... or Spend an Hour Walking around with them (with safety presonnel and handlers ofcourse)

2, QUAD BIKE THROUGH THE PARK - Memorable experience, if that's your kind of thing.

3. ANIMAL SAFARI - This is also a must. They take you in a bus deep into a section of the jungle, where you get to see deers,, zebras... ostriches and other animals real close. Not just that, you can also pat them and feed them bread(which management provides)

All in all, try and give this a visit. It will definitely add color and variety into the making of your memorable Mauritius experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank GautamKaviraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casela World of Adventures also viewed

Riviere des Anguilles, Savanne District
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
 
Riviere Noire, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to Casela World of Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing