We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sweet Memory Apartments
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of June/start July. After the initial mix up with the booking company over the room we booked (2 bed apartment) I contacted Yannis via email prior to our visit. After a few email exchanges, Yanni assured us all would be sorted for our arrival.
Yanni did his best to accommodate our original request by giving us a change of rooms 4 days into our holiday. Having said that, the rooms where clean and functional, however once we were into our new room (room 32) top floor, it was airier and didn't feel as claustrophobic as that of the basement room (room12).
Yanni runs the overall business, and will happily try to meet your needs/requests without any fuss. His mum, "mama" does all the cooking - she will also do her best to accommodate for younger children who may not like whats on the menu.
Elaine the cleaner visited our apartment every day, - this lady works extremely hard! Our beds where changed 3 times during our fortnight and towels changed every 3 days - no complaints on the cleanliness of the rooms or surrounding areas of the apartments.
There is a pool you can use free of charge a short walk from Sweet Memory in a hotel/apartments called Blue Sky attached to a fab restaurant called Xilino (look out for the very cute dog called Charlie)
There are a few lovely tavernas within walking distance and a beach directly across from Sweet Memory. This beach isn't sandy, with a few stones, however the waves are fantastic, which kept my 9 yr old entertained all day! A few minutes walk to the left or the right of the apartments will lead you to a more sandy beach, these tended to be busier (we were normally on our beach by ourselves most days - bliss!!)
I'd happily stay here again, as the overall accommodate verses what you pay is great value for money,however I would book directly with Yanni and not go through a booking operator next time.
We will most certainly return, even if its just to sample the one of the many cakes mama baked for my son - delish!!

Room Tip: by far the best room in the complex is room 32 with two balconies. One facing inwards which gets the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lozza2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 368 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of April and I think we were literally the first guests of the season. Yannis is an incrediable host and did everything he could to make our stay as good as possible. The food was fantastic!!! Apartments spotlessly clean and the quality of bed linen what you'd expect in a 4Star + establishment. The bathrobes were a very nice touch. Yannis helped us organise car hire etc and we got a discount.
Can't comment on the resort as everything else was shut!
Everything has already been said. Agree with the previous comment about the beds being a bit hard but in my experience they always are in Greece.
Sorry its taken so long to post.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snoodlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Confusion starts my review of these apartments and by my own mistake when booking our holiday. I do confess to being a bit of a snob for my annual trip abroad and always book apartments with a minimum 4 star rating. As I trawled through the entire online blurb about Sweet Memory Apartments I found that it was rated by Thomas Cook, Sunshine.co.uk and Low Cost Holidays as 4 star. On the strength of this we decided to book the holiday through Travel Republic because of the price, only to notice on further viewing while on the holiday that they rate it as 2 star.
My opinion is that they all have it wrong! In my opinion it isn’t 4 star and if it is 2 star then it is the best 2 star in the world.

The location is absolutely perfect. Right on the sea front and within minutes walk of everything you need including some brilliant restaurants and bars. The owner Yanis is probably the best host we have come across in a long time. The apartments are more than adequate for their purpose

They do offer an evening set meal of one starter and a main course at 10 euros which is superb value and I understand that the food is outstanding. In their ‘booklet’ of facilities it boasts a menu with various dishes being available. This has now been withdrawn which we feel is such a pity as we would have loved to have sat down in the perfect location overlooking the sea to enjoy an evening meal with a superb host.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Really clean, spacious apartments. Yanni, family and Jess extremely friendly and helpful. There are quite a few beaches to choose from. A small little bay about 5 minutes away which was great and a little bit further on a huge sandy beach. Its a great shame that there are many all inclusive holidays in this resort which is proving a problem for the small tavernas. We tried to support them all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justina15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

To be honest all the other reviews say it, I am unable to add any more except that we all enjoyed ourselves even the kids as this was a family holiday with the brother - in - law.
You are right opposite a peeble beacjh but Sandy ones are close by. If you like snorkelling then you are in luck as there is plenty of other places to go snorkelling nearby.
Yanni and his family are superb as they really do make your holiday, especially the BBQ - THIS IS A MUST ON A SUNDAY EVENING/NIGHT.
We ate out during the day but had some chips and a Greek Salad, which was great as Yanni made it fresh. I can strongly recommend this.
Mamma & Pappa live on site and will help you as much as they can. You only have to ask for any help and as well as Yanni and any other family member that are there they are only to willing to help.
It does not matter wether you are alone, a family or a couple you will have a pleasant stay here and be able to enjoy it.
Also it was my wifes birthday while we were staying there and Yanni and his family bought her a cake and boy did she go red when they brought it out . Yanni checks your passports and makes a note of any birthdays.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon-Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not much I can add to the reviews already written, but our host Yannis and his family are some of the nicest and helpful people I have met in along time. Food was really good don't miss the BBQ. I also have to give a mention about Jessica Yannis's assistant/hostess of the year award needed, she looked after us like we were one of the family very polite and charming girl she was that nice I can actually call her a friend now, we hope she comes to visit us soon in Scotland. We liked our stay that much we are hoping to return in October. Keep up the good work you lot. You made our holiday a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank novachess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

At Sweet Memory you can socialise with the family or remain content with your own company, either way the family and staff will make sure you are happy, but socialising and generosity is the custom on Crete. This is a family business headed up by Yanni who will joke around and cook superb meals, then there is Papa, quiet but kind and Mama a lovely lady who fetches fresh ingredients daily, cooks a wonderful Stefado as well as the daily bread which is suberb. Jess had just started when we arrived and fitted into the friendly atmosphere perfectly and adding a little extra fun. Ideally located for the beaches, good restaurants, pools at other hotels, a short walk to the major bus routes and well known for taxis to find this makes a great base and a welcome return at night. For the first time ever we want to return somewhere for a second holiday, something we have never done before!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davejmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
0.5 mi away
Kleanthi Studios & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
0.6 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Your Memories Hotel
Your Memories Hotel
#11 of 31 in Kato Gouves
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Memory Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memory Apartments

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 71 600, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#4 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $22 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweet Memory Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Memory Apartments, a best choice for families and young couples, is a 4 star+ self-catering apartment complex located in Gouves, a family-oriented resort, east of Heraklion. Literally a few meters from the beach, our apartments are spacious and modern in a serene location yet not far from restaurants, taverns, bars and a vibrant nightlife nearby. The apartments were built in 1990 as a family business with a friendly staff at your service at all hours to ensure a memorable stay for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sweet Memory Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Memory Apartments Hotel Gouves
Sweet Memory Apartments Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing