We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic holiday”
Review of Villa Marie Kelly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Marie Kelly
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

After a dodgy start in the Klio Apartments we got moved to the Marie Kelly, this was the best thing that could have happened. All the staff were most welcoming and friendly. All the people we met on holiday were also very friendly and repeat visitors to this Apartment. (some going 2 or 3 times a year). Our group had 2 rooms both of which were adequate and spacious for the amount staying in them. My partner, daughter and myself had 1 room which could have occupied 4 people with more than enough space. Good cooking and living facilities. The apartments are family run with the Father Mother and 1 daughter working there on a daily basis. All very friendly and more than happy to help whenever needed. Dimitris the father was not very talkative but this is due to the language barrier as his english is not great, all other staff are very fluent. Natalie the daytime bar person was fab and more than happy to assist in any way and Alex the night-time bar person was very very friendly especially with females. ( bless him he does try to be a romeo but in the nicest possible way). The location is great right by the beach, about 3 mins walk supermarkets and restaurants also very close. Skorpios restaurant has to be the best, with Medusa's a very close 2nd. As per normal the greek staff in both are most welcoming and very friendly. All in all a great place and will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yazzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    109
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
119
165
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Good value hotel, studio small but spotlessly clean. Very friendly staff. Small pool which can get very crowded. Air Con an extra 50 euro's a week but essential. Unfortunately the german habits have caught on and most sunbeds are "towelled" very early with many of the owners turning up late afternoon, isnt that so bleeding annoying!!. Very close to beach but unfortunately the beach is not very clean, the sand is gradually being replaced with fag ends. 2 sunbeds and parasol 7.50 euro's, very limited space if you dont pay for these. limited in the way of bars/tavernas in the immediate vicinity in fact I dont think there is anywhere outside the hotel where we could feel really comfortable just having a drink or 7 without ordering food. Despite been only about a third full the tavernas are dreadfully slow after ordering, we waited 90 mins in one with an average of about 40 minutes a night over 2 weeks so dont wait till your starving!! The main resort is about a 35 minute walk along the sea front, worth a visit if you want a bit of variety in your eating/drinking but I would recommend getting the taxi for 7 euro's.. We spent most nights, after eating, at the hotel bar as its as good (if not better) as you will get and a little cheaper then the taverna's for the beer (2.50 for beer in a glass out the freezer Mmmmmmm beeeeeer and 1.80 for a soft drink). Food available locally is ok. Weather was absolutely scorching, the humidity was very high the first week and after a few minutes walk on a night time you felt/looked like you had just had a shower, not nice but cant really blame anyone for that............or can I??. As usual take your mossie repellents and plug ins. Keeping the room for an extra 5-6 hrs on day of departure was 15 euro's not bad and well worth it in the heat. I have been to most of the Greek Islands and the mainland so used to the p poor airports but Crete airport raises my opinion of the rest. Minging dirty, very small, very very crowded, very very expensive, (over £4 for a coke and he didnt have the decency to wear a mask !!) very long queues to everything and check in staff who's main aim in life appears to be to make your life miserable. Be prepared to be cattle prodded if your not standing in the queue properly!!? Just read this back and it seems very negative which is strange as we really did like the hotel and had a great holiday, but my cup must be half empty! Have to say though that I wouldnt go back to Crete, it is tatty and there isnt much going on unless of course you head to Malia with the 18 - 30's!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

we recently returned from a two week stay at marie kelly, we was very pleased with the size of the room the only problem was the beds are very hard so did not sleep very well which was the only down side to the holiday, the location is very good just a few minutes walk to a lovely beach which is very good for children.the local restaurants near the apartments are far better then the ones along the seafront which are more expensive and not so good.the pool area can get very busy and there is not enough sunbeds to go round but the bar staff do a get job Natalie works during the day and does the cooking and serving she never stops and in the evening alex's keeps everyone entertained at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Having read the reviews before we went it was pretty much what we expected. We had a 1 bedroomed apartment which was plenty big enough for the 3 of us. Linen and towels were changed regularly and everything worked properly although we met some friends who had problems with their air con, ours was fine. We were at ground floor level right next to the pool, an advantage if you want to get quick out to the pool but no privacy on either terrace as everyone walks past all the time. If you want some privacy ask for first floor, I know I will next time. Our only disappointment was having to get up at 6.30 am to put towels on the sunbeds round the pool otherwise you would not get a sunbed. I couldn't believe I was doing this but after 3 days of no beds if you can't beat 'em join 'em. When its full there just isn't enough beds if everyone stays poolside rather than going to the beach. Whilst we were there half of the nearest beach was washed away by high seas so that didn't help. All depends on who is there when you are! Great location with all the best eating places at this end of Gouves. Staff really helpful and drinks and food when you wanted. Pool table, air hockey and table football for the kids and internet access at 1 Euro for 15 mins if you must. We hired a car for 5 days so got around to see Agios Nickolaos, Lato and Kritsa and Lerapetra and for evening meals to Sissi, Hersonissos and Heraklion. We ate out every night and seemed to spend 45 Euro for 3 of us each night in each place that included a starter, a main and drinks so not bad really. All in all lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryrose2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Air con an extra £50 per week, £15 for the safe,bathroom very small, shower head was so dirty and sprouting water we asked for a replacement, to which was done the following day .kitchen could be done with upgrading (see photo) pool area not loved by the owner, left over sun tan bottles , and a pair of old sandles lay under the same sun bed for the whole week that we were there.bed uncomfortable and hard, the sheets were old and rough felt of sandpaper on the good side good location to the sea, and resturants, bakery, supermarkerts, and just a bit further up the bus stop. Plenty room for car parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank poppy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Arrived with two young children on a very hot Tuesday afternoon. We bought the air con and it wasn't working well. We complained but was told that it would start to work. We were very upset as my one year old was really struggling to sleep in the apartment. It did go colder but not as cold as we have experienced on other holidays. We had to put up with this but barely slept for the fortnight we were there. The apartments generally though were lovely...basic but really clean, cleaned daily and well maintained. The pool bar was great and did lovely snack food if you wanted it. The pool did get really busy so I probably wouldn't go back to this accomodation as it was a bit too noisy for my liking. Having said that, many of the lovely people who were also staying there were regular visitors and had previously stayed there at least three times before. If you didn't put your towels out before 9am you wouldn't get a space at the pool .

Overall, lovely apartments and if it wasn't for the fact that I travelled with my young children I would probably go back. However, for future holidays I would look for somewhere where I can relax by the pool rather than being constantly splashed and where my children can swim without the fear of being pushed by teenage children.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpipcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at Marie Kelly for two weeks and found the apartments to be fairly basic but clean and comfortable.
The pool was nice, not too busy and we never had any problems getting sunbeds.
What really made our holiday was the friendly and helpful attitude of all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were always made to feel very welcome. During the day Natalie was happy to make us drinks and snacks and in the evenings Alex kept the bar lively with great cocktails. If we needed anything or wanted advice about places to visit they were both happy to answer our questions.
The kids (ages 11-13 years) really enjoyed the day at the water park. We hired cars for a few days which was really worthwhile as it meant we could visit the plateau and some lovely beaches, we particularly like Istron.
There are so many tavernas nearby that eating out was never a problem. Our favourites were Oasis (try the lamb and potato in the oven!) and sitting right by the ocean at the Island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flegghouse7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
0.3 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Despina Apartments
Despina Apartments
#18 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#9 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
#12 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marie Kelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marie Kelly

Property: Villa Marie Kelly
Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#6 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Marie Kelly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mariekelly is a luxurious fully renovated complex of 30 autonomous apartments. They provide fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, boiler and toaster, bathroom with shower, air conditioning, safety deposit boxes, TV, telephone, haidryer and balconies or terrace with panoramic view to the sea, pool and or garden. Villa Mariekelly offers reception service, free parking, free book hire from a huge variety, satellite TV, internet facilities, laundry service, pool table and other games, outdoor swimming pool in a huge terrace with sun loungers.Gouves is a modern tourist area, 20 km away from the city of heraklion, with organised beaches, cafes, taverns and restaurants. You may find a variety of shops in the shopping centre, as well as car and motorbike rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Villa Marie Kelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marie Kelly Hotel Gouves
Hotel Marie Kelly
Marie Kelly Hotel
Villa Marie Kelly Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing