We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Bliss”
Review of Villa Marie Kelly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Marie Kelly
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I returned a week ago from Gouves and although the resort is very quiet there was never a dull moment at the Villa Marie Kelly with the other guests and staff making the holiday so great. The staff were brilliant. The owners were very friendly and helped at the drop of a hat, taking residents to the bank, supplying muscle cream rub for aches and pains Natalie who does the cooking is a great source of information for all holiday makers but mainly a brill cook, poached eggs, carbonara, burgers are just a few delights you will be served. Nikos worked the bar at night and joined in all the fun working till the small hours of the morning. The rooms were basic but you had everything you needed and the maids kept everything clean and fresh.
Villa Marie Kelly is ideally situated for the beach which is roughly 50 yards away, you can catch the tourist train at the beach. The bars around the apartments were quiet but the food was good in all of them, give Georges a try just to the left of the road at the end of the drive.
Anfield bar across from the little chapel was great staff ounce again very friendly and pleased to serve, we spent a few nights in here as it was livelier than the rest and also did karaoke.
AVOID the RAINBOW BAR at the top of the hill, my family visited this place as it was advertising live music which was a man miming to a pre recording. My family had a good night until we were saying goodbye to the owner who worked the bar when he verbally attacked us and told us to Fxxxxxf as we did not spend enough at his bar even though we spent about 40 euros in the space of two hours for two adults and a ten year old on drinks which I thought was reasonable considering we were not drinking alcohol. We would have visited again if it was not for this. My 10 year old daughter got very upset at this man shouting at her parents for no reason so AVOID especially if you have young children.
Overall if you want a quieter holiday this is the resort and definitely apartment for you.

Enjoy your holiday wherever you go

Room Tip: Pool view ground floor was perfect to allow me to enjoy the sun while my daughter chilled in the sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    112
    25
    6
    11
See reviews for
134
183
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halewood
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place, huge two bed apartment, spotless, everything you need is there, extra pillows arrived quickly , pool area was lovely, lots of sunbeds, great bar area and lovely food, full english was huge and well cooked, bar snacks quick and tasty, special pizza and special omelette a huge hit with 16 year old stepdaughter. Overall a really enjoyable break

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Just got back after 2 weeks holiday 22nd july - 5th august. We got there to a fantastic welcome from olga and dimitri they remembered us from last year, the accommodation is brill clean, welcoming with everything in the room you need, there was one difference this year nikos was behind the bar instead of alex. The food is delicious and all the staff are very friendly and helpful nothing is too much
trouble it also feels safe for the children. Everyone goes there to have a good time but make friends tooits a very friendly place

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

After 4 visits to M K it's still our favourite holiday spot. We cannot believe some of the remarks about the proprietors, we find them both welcoming and helpful, Dimitri is approachable and friendly and Olga cannot do enough to for you, should you want another pillow,saucepan, air conditioning turned on etc you only have to ask. Natalie and Nikos run the bar between them, Natalie makes great snacks during the day and Nicos will keep the bar open until the early hours if anyone is still thirsty. In saying that there is no noise nuisance at all, no problems sleeping . (Alexandros has moved on, we missed you Alex). Pella and Lana work very hard keeping the apartments spotlessly clean and tidy, there is always a friendly greeting and smiles, thanks girls. The pool, although on the small side, is always kept spotlessly clean, and there would be enough sun loungers to go round if people wouldn't creep out at the crack of dawn to reserve them, leave their towels there all day and not even bother to use them. Why do people do this? The sandy beach is only a couple of minutes stroll, restaurants, bars, car hire, gift shops, a supermarket and bakery (yummy cheese pies) are all close by.Try Scorpios Restaurant, next door to M K, affectionately known as Sophia's. They do a great giros pitta for 3 euros if you want a snack as well as substantial full meals, you know, proper Greek Food. Try the new Sports Central Bar where you will get an enthusiastic greeting from Christos, he will make you very welcome. For regular visitors just to let you know the Anfield Bar has moved from the main street to the beach road just opposite the little white church, a great spot with a nice view and usually a cool breeze. Thomas, Anna and Christie are great hosts. So, we recommend MK once again, although just one thing, do not go to Gouves if you want discos and night clubs as there are none but if you want a relaxing holiday it's just the job.

Room Tip: Marie Kelly is on two floors, if you are a bit doddery like my husband and me ask for a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank magku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Wanted a 2 week relaxing holiday in the sun and that is exactly what we got. The fact that these apartments are clean, tidy, well maintained, friendly, close to beach and fabulous restaurants, was an added bonus. All the staff can't do enough for you, plenty Mythos on tap and Nikos was always happy to provide nightly banter and information about the local area. We hired a car for 2 days and travelled to Plaka, Elounda and Spinalonga. All beautiful places. We also went to Knossos which was amazing to see and afterwards went to a small village recommended by Nikos for lunch. We weren't disappointed. Heraklion is a beautiful city and well worth a look. The apartments are within a 15 minute drive of the airport and when we come back, we will take a taxi to and from the airport as the tour operator bus can take upto an hour! We made many friends while holidaying here and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neepz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We returned home last week having had a fantastic fortnight at this wonderful place. Everything is very well maintained and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The bins are emptied by the very busy cleaning girls every day, towels and bedding 3-4 days.
Our son stayed on the bed in the kitchen/dining area of the 1 bed apartment where a very slight drip from the kitchen tap started on day 2 and disturbed his sleep. I mentioned this to Demitri in passing and when we were out the following day the issue was fixed without delay.
The bar is run brilliantly by both Natalie and Nicos regardless of time of day. The pool is crystal clear and very refreshing in the heat. The optional aircon in the rooms was essential for a good nights sleep (I slept better there than at home). It is very well located for restaurants and there are a few tavernas in the area although the resort was very quiet whilst we were there. Scorpios run by Sophia was my sons (11y/o) favourite and the quality was very good. We also liked Mylos that had Greek Dancing on Wednesdays, George's taverna and bar and the Medusa. These are all within 5 minutes walk too. The bakers just a little further than Mylos is great for cheese pies.
The only negative and it wasn't down to the villa or any of the staff was that I took a euro cash card on the advice of the travel agent and there were only 3 ATMs across the resort that I could find. They are about 25 mins trek in the midday sun unless the one you pick is out of order at which point it is about a 3 mile circle route around them all.
Overall, would we go back? We wish we were still there and yes we would go back and next time we'll take our friends too.

Thank you Demitri, Olga, Natalie and Nicos. We'll see you again soon I hope.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Safcboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a very nice holiday here with other members of my family in June to July. We are returning because we enjoyed our stay, was reasonably priced, its location is good for local restaurants / shops and the beach is a short stroll. Gouves is small but interesting. Theres enough going on and good for those not wanting lager louts.
Natalie and Nicos at the bar are great and everyone gets on with them, although I did beat Nicos at the pool table (sorry pal lol). The owners are decent folk too.
The swimming pool is ideal, not too big or small. Loungers are a bit scarce for the number of people there but you can see its because of the space available around the pool that's the issue.
The place is kept clean and tidy. I would prefer a replacement towel every other day but I can live with that. We had room 203 which was at the rear with poor views compared to the rest of the family so I'd like a better room for September 'Olga and Dimitri'!!! (owners)

Room Tip: I would try and avoid a room at the rear as less of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rock_Hopper_R_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.3 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Despina Apartments
Despina Apartments
#19 of 36 in Kato Gouves
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cosmi Apartments
Cosmi Apartments
#27 of 36 in Kato Gouves
74 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marie Kelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marie Kelly

Property: Villa Marie Kelly
Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#6 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Marie Kelly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mariekelly is a luxurious fully renovated complex of 30 autonomous apartments. They provide fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, boiler and toaster, bathroom with shower, air conditioning, safety deposit boxes, TV, telephone, haidryer and balconies or terrace with panoramic view to the sea, pool and or garden. Villa Mariekelly offers reception service, free parking, free book hire from a huge variety, satellite TV, internet facilities, laundry service, pool table and other games, outdoor swimming pool in a huge terrace with sun loungers.Gouves is a modern tourist area, 20 km away from the city of heraklion, with organised beaches, cafes, taverns and restaurants. You may find a variety of shops in the shopping centre, as well as car and motorbike rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Villa Marie Kelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marie Kelly Hotel Gouves
Hotel Marie Kelly
Marie Kelly Hotel
Villa Marie Kelly Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing