We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Villa Marie Kelly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Marie Kelly
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just back from a week at Marie Kelly and had a lovely holiday. We didn't spend that much time at the apartments but the staff were very friendly and the apartments and pool area immaculate. Location was perfect being on the edge of the main village but 2 minute walk from the beach and 10 mins from the main shopping area and very peaceful. Would wholly recommend! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Villa Marie Kelly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 426 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic week at Villa Marie Kelly. First visit to Crete and it certainly won't be the last. Was lucky enough to be allocated a 2 bedroom apartment with a double in one room and three singles in the other, not to mention the three balconies. The entire complex is spotlessly clean and I really cannot speak highly enough of the staff who are warm, friendly and certainly know how to look after the guests.

We had a late flight back but were lucky enough to be able to keep hold of the apartment at a very small cost, however the Marie Kelly has good shower facilities for those of who are not so lucky meaning you can enjoy an additional day in the sun either by the pool or the beach which is practically at the bottom of the road. The Marie Kelly is also perfectly positioned for those looking for a quiet and chilled out time but is also surrounded by some great wee bars and tavernas.

All in all, had a great stay and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Be mindful that you get what you pay for, if you want 5* then pay for it. All rooms enjoy good view...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We returned yesterday from a 9 night holiday with Marie Kelly- the owners, bar and cleaning staff were all super and I loved our room. The complex is immaculate and there is a meal service (very reasonable ) available - this holiday we were up early (5-6am) most days to explore the mountains and gorges so did not get the chance to mix in the hospitality offered however have booked to return in June for a chill to celebrate 50th birthday. Thank you

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ella w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have been to this resort and apartments 5 times and going back for the 6 in a couple of weeks.
Highly recommended. We are made to feel at home and very welcome. We have nearly always gone on a birthday of my mum or daughter and Birthday cakes and decorations were supplied free of charge. The pool and bar areas are clean at all times, the rooms are spotless.
Staff cannot do enough to ensure you have the perfect holiday.
This is a family run business and they are not shy of supplying the personal touch we all want when we travel.
You are not in the middle of the noise and fuss but its not far away if/when you do want it. All local restaurants are good, Mylos and Madusa in particular we find but this is all down to personal taste. You have everything you need on the doorstep and plenty more beyond, there is nothing more you could need.....perfect

Room Tip: The owners are very accomodating and will do their utmost to ensure all requests are met where possi...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My self and husband spent 2 weeks here last September we had a fantastic time made by the friendly helpful staff and owners they could not do enough for us. On arrival my husband noticed his fishing rod had been broken on the flight the owner took it away and fixed it for him. Not many people would do that nothing was too much trouble the room was exceptionally clean as was the pool and reception It's definatly a place we will be visiting again soon

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifi321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My Mam and dad stayed here in August to attend my wedding, my became extremely unwell and was in icu in Heraklion, as you can imagine my Dad was distraught so my sister who was staying in hersonnisos with her boyfriend said they would book a room here to keep my dad company, when they checked online the hotel was extremely good value so when they enquired in person they were told a much higher price...my sister could not afford to pay this, I was outraged when they showed no compassion and did nothing to help my Dad, my Mam has since died so you can imagine how grave the situation was and they knew how bad my Mam was.
They our Greedy owners who sit at the corner of the bar with glum faces watching the bar till open and close.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
11  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMariekelly, Ιδιοκτήτης at Villa Marie Kelly, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear madam,
I am very sorry for your comments and of course for the loss of your mam. You remember very well that you stayed with your father in his room without any charge even though there was no booking made for you. When your sister asked for an extra room for one night, we informed her that the price for one night cannot be the same as the packages we sell in internet.
I am very disappointed by your words, we even gave your father our personal number for anything he might need.
Obviously, this vacation turned out to be sad and not as you had planned for so I can excuse you for your bad words..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

a very well run complex, rooms very clean and self catering equipment adequate. Staff very friendly and a snack could be purchased in bar. we are a married couple of 47years, so do we rate as couples!?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
4  Thank Lindow R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.3 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#7 of 36 in Kato Gouves
863 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magda Hotel
Magda Hotel
#4 of 36 in Kato Gouves
610 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marie Kelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marie Kelly

Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#6 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $31 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Marie Kelly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mariekelly is a luxurious fully renovated complex of 30 autonomous apartments. They provide fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, boiler and toaster, bathroom with shower, air conditioning, safety deposit boxes, TV, telephone, haidryer and balconies or terrace with panoramic view to the sea, pool and or garden. Villa Mariekelly offers reception service, free parking, free book hire from a huge variety, satellite TV, internet facilities, laundry service, pool table and other games, outdoor swimming pool in a huge terrace with sun loungers.Gouves is a modern tourist area, 20 km away from the city of heraklion, with organised beaches, cafes, taverns and restaurants. You may find a variety of shops in the shopping centre, as well as car and motorbike rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Marie Kelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marie Kelly Hotel Gouves
Hotel Marie Kelly
Marie Kelly Hotel
Villa Marie Kelly Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing