We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for Greece”
Review of Villa Marie Kelly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Marie Kelly
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I would say this is a very average hotel for Greece. There are some good points and some very poor points about the hotel. We visited with my partners parents so it was a group of 4 of us and we stayed for 2 weeks.

The owners have no interest in you (unless you go back year on year - then you get some conversation). The owner himself was very rude, only grunted, pointed and shook his head at you, whilst his wife was a little nice, but again considering it's Greece was not very interested in the guests unless you were buying stuff at the bar.

It was very hot towards the end of August and we felt we had to have the air con, however it is 50 euros a week which is quite expensive but again seems to be the going rate in Greece.

The hotel itself was very nice. It was cleaned, not sure how often and wasn't always to a high standard but it was ok. We stayed in room 203 - do not stay in this room! The room itself was lovely with 3 balconies and a lovely set up with a good living/kitchen area and a good sized bedroom. The problem was the shower. Once you'd had a shower, the soakaway system didn't do this, it only pushed the water out meaning the whole bathroom was flooded. The water was also very smelly and dirty.

It was very quiet when we stayed, but the location of the hotel was lovely. It was only around a mile to the main strip and there were plenty of shops/restaurants within only a few hundred meters.

The pool area was very nice, not the biggest pool but good amount of sun loungers and nice bar right next to it. We hardly ate/drank at the hotel as we like to visit the local restaurants that are around the resort. If anyone would like any recommendations, feel free to ask.

We visited at the end of Aug and it was very quiet in the whole resort - Malia and Stalia were alot busier but mainly young people. It's such a shame that there are so many hotels in Greece now that are All Inclusive as it's really having a big affect on Greece - especially when the local restaurants are so lovely. Please support the locals and don't join in this AI which is ruining Greece year on year.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dsion_cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 438 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

"Greeted" by the owner when we arrived who only talked in grunts. When we asked if we could get food or drink we were told "bars closed" even though it states it was open until late. We had an apartment and the shower head was broken. The shower cubicle itself was incredibly tiny and the screen was broken. There were cracked tiles on the bedroom floor. The bed itself was like sleeping on a plank of wood and only one pillow was provided per person. The sheets weren't actually wide enough to tuck under the mattress properly and the rubber sheets that they kept on the beds kept sticking to you. The air con was 50 euros a week, the safe 15 euros a week. Electrical sockets came out of the walls everytime you pulled a plug out. The hot water was so hot I scalded myself on several occasions. The only time we ever saw the owner smile was when he was instructing his dog to chase stray kittens up a tree in the pool area.

There is no view at all if you have a ground floor apartment of the sea. The beach itself was only a 2 minute walk away and even in October the sea was warmer than the hotel pool. The supermarket just up the road (past the Island) has very helpful staff but also very expensive. If you can handle the 1500m hike to the shopping street then do it - the prices are a lot cheaper.

On the plus side, the owner's wife was very pleasant and did a nice breakfast. The pool was lovely and going in October meant hardly any tourists and the weather was still great.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank KazHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited twice this year and would definitely return again next year. Fairly basic, but comfortable apartments but thats all we needed as really only used apartment for sleeping. Very clean and excellent value. Lovely swimming pool and the bar staff are so friendly, close to sea front, some great tavernas and supermarket.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan_stitches_lock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went there in September the weather was great, Marie Kelly best place rooms were basic but very clean they were only ment to clean twice a week but came every day.
My husband and I had a fantastic holiday the beach was so close to the villa and for two sunbeds it was 6 euro.
There is loads of places to eat but maria Kelly do, do a very nice breakfast and club sandwich we will be going back as soon as we can.
Only thing that was a bit off was the dam airport my god four lines if the holiday had not been so good we would have been so ticked off!!!!!!!! But the Marie Kelly was so friendly and everyone should visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Another fantastic two weeks at the Marie Kelly. This is my 3rd visit and I have every intention on making an annual visit.

The owners Demitris and Olga as well as all the staff are such lovely people, who go out of their way to make everyone welcome.

The atmosphere is very Laid back and an excellent place to chill out.

The apartments are very clean and has all the equipment for self catering.

Demitris takes great pride each evening in making sure the pool is cleaned and cared for and it is very safe.

Natalie (daytime) and Alex (nighttime) are the workers in the bar and are great fun.

I am aware of the economic situation in Greece, but this has not caused me any concern in returning to Crete.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carol2011holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

just returned from marie kelly.just the place to chill out for 2 weeks laid by a lovely clean pool.our room was just what we ask for upper floor and over looking the pool.clean and tidy roomswith an 1st class maid service .the staff are really lovely behind the bar day time is natalie her food is really good value and so tasty.at night time it alex`s and he pull a lovely cold glass of beer.just wished they served food at evening time.the maire kelly is at the quiet end of gouves but still many nice places to eat.we will be returning back there at some point i am sure.going to gouves its got to be the maire kelly that you stop at .

Room Tip: 223 over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bantams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just back from a 14 night stay at the Marie Kelly and we were pleasantly surprised, we had a lovely room with 4 balconies, I know that this isn't standard and we were very appreciated to have been upgraded. The staff were always helpful and obliging and the other guests , some of whom have been there on other occasions, were very friendly. It is a quiet resort but suited us, some excellent restuarants (meals too big for us) reasonally priced with drinks to match. The snack meals and breakfasts at Marie Kelly were good value and always freshly made. A very pleasant relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthportDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
0.3 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#7 of 36 in Kato Gouves
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magda Hotel
Magda Hotel
#4 of 36 in Kato Gouves
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gouves Bay Hotel
Gouves Bay Hotel
#14 of 36 in Kato Gouves
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marie Kelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marie Kelly

Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#6 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $30 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Marie Kelly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mariekelly is a luxurious fully renovated complex of 30 autonomous apartments. They provide fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, boiler and toaster, bathroom with shower, air conditioning, safety deposit boxes, TV, telephone, haidryer and balconies or terrace with panoramic view to the sea, pool and or garden. Villa Mariekelly offers reception service, free parking, free book hire from a huge variety, satellite TV, internet facilities, laundry service, pool table and other games, outdoor swimming pool in a huge terrace with sun loungers.Gouves is a modern tourist area, 20 km away from the city of heraklion, with organised beaches, cafes, taverns and restaurants. You may find a variety of shops in the shopping centre, as well as car and motorbike rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Marie Kelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marie Kelly Hotel Gouves
Hotel Marie Kelly
Marie Kelly Hotel
Villa Marie Kelly Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing