We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We visited Amirandes between the 23rd June - 1st July, and cannot praise this hotel and every single member of staff highly enough.
Firstly, we were originally quite anxious to visit a hotel of its size, as we usually stay in properties with 100 rooms or less, and have been fortunate enough to stay in other 5 star resorts both on the island of Crete, as well as in Mykonos and Santorini. However, Amirandes surpassed every expectation we had and I can honestly say, in my opinion, that this has got to be one of the best hotels in Europe, not just architecturally, but from a customer service, facilities and location point of view.

Firstly, it is one of a select group of properties which actually looks better in real life than it does in the photos. The Greek architecture is simply stunning, and the lines of the hotel blend seamlessly into one another to create a wonderfully warm and welcoming property. The lagoon, (which is lit up at night), provides a unique platform which blends horizon and sea with land, reinforcing the effort the Grecotel chain have put in to create such an exceptional property.

The 202 rooms are spaced cleverly across the property, so it really does feel as if you are in a much smaller resort providing intimacy and tranquility at all times. There are multiple locations you can enjoy downtime on a sun-lounger, and no rush to reserve a bed before breakfast. The exceptional pool staff, Yianni and Yianni, will quite literally move heaven and earth to make sure you are comfortable, and will move loungers/umbrellas to wherever you want them. In our case, on the grass in front of the huge swimming pool facing out to sea for the duration of our stay. They bring you fresh watermelon at regular intervals, as well as fresh fruit and bottled water, which I may add, the hotel provides free of charge, something which although may seem small like a small detail, is exceptionally generous and thoughtful considering it was 30 degrees on average and they could quite easily charge 5 euros a bottle for. Christos, who manages the pool restaurant is very attentive, extremely friendly and no request is too big for he and his team.

Every single member of staff we met had no hesitation in greeting you with a smile and conversation, and it is a testimony to the exemplary work of manager Vassilis Minadakis for creating such a wonderfully happy, hard working and dynamic team. All the staff seem genuinely happy to be working at such a wonderful place which of course makes a huge difference to the quality of stay for the guests, and after engaging in numerous conversations with the manager, it is easy to see why.

Mr Minadakis is always available to speak to, and is genuinely welcoming to any suggestion/thought/praise you have for the hotel, and goes out of his way without ever being intrusive to make sure that your needs are satisfied. I think what impressed us so much was the way that they go out of their way, but discreetly, to enhance your stay in any way they can. They even have a member of staff at their airport to help you through check in and security, another small, but extremely professional detail.

The rooms are perfectly decorated, spacious and light, the beds super comfortable and I believe 80% of rooms have a sea view. There is a twice daily turndown, and your room is always left spotlessly clean with a temperature card, water and some chocolates. The breakfast is stunning, you will need to see it to believe it, and there are at least 5 chefs visibly creating all that is laid out for the guests. The food across the 6 restaurants is excellent, and varied, from sushi to Italian to local Cretan food, with all ingredients coming from their organic farm a few miles away. You will never have to leave the hotel for the duration of your stay if you don't want!

We were surprised to read previous reviews regarding the ambience of the hotel guests, some saying that a majority of the Russian guests have appeared rude and not hesitant to show their cash, but we didn't experience any such behaviour, and found mostly everyone to be polite and willing to engage with other guests and hotel staff, creating a warm, friendly and hospitable atmosphere.
The spa treatments are wonderful, and they have a traditional elixir spa as well as an ayurveda spa for you to choose from, both offering lovely and invigorating treatments.

We don't often stay at hotels more than once, however, we would have absolutely no reservation in visiting here again and again and enjoying everything this spectacular hotel has to offer year after year!

Keep up the great work!!!

Room Tip: Sea View, ground floor with huge terrace, room 404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank robinshroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 815 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

I am spending since three years one week in July at the Amirandes. It's a fantastic hotel, an unbelievable architecture. The service is near to perfect, friendly staff, always ready to help. The rooms are quite nice, and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLonTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed 10 days with wife and 2 small kids.
The hotel is more on the romantic side, no good entartainment for small kids. However, dining for kids is well organized, free kids lunch is quite helpful, so no problem.
Design is impressive, decorated with plenty of water and stone. Nice outside bar with live music and coctails nighttime.
Family suite at ground floor is nothing special, at some left backyard with no design and no view, with a small piece of gason. Also it is difficult to climb the stairs with baby trolley, so avoid it.
Seaside is clean and baby-friendly, we rented a beach pavilion for the whole stay, was 50E/day, very useful.
Good restaraunts (fusion, eastern-food) with amasing seaview, drinks and food. Breakfast-no complaints, everything well presented, sitting area a bit scarce.
Staff is friendly, and helpful but no extra.
Guests-half former USSR, Eastern Europe.
Generally, great place, would go again and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank velocipator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, service amazing
We booked a sea view delux room but were upraded to sea front bungalow, which was great :)
We went for HB option which i recommend as the food is very very good and healthy, lots of options, for kids too
Sea-water pool whicj is handy for those who dont like the sea
The sea is not of the azur colour like in pica because the hotel is located in the east part of the island and the best water and beach ia on the west side
Nevertheless the actual hotel i highly recommend also for those with kids

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Olitza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The building is an architectural beauty, the staff is very friendly.The swimming pool is amazing and the sauna and wellness are completing the infrastructure.The beach is private and you can enjoy the beach and the sea while enjoying a nice drink served on your beached.

The choice of food is tremendous, too much to explain in this space.If you don't feel comfortable overhere you will never find a better place.Wi-fi is all around and there are even routers in each room.Friendly staff is opening your bed in the evening and the surprise with chocolates or flowers
are justifying the 5 stars rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank norbert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Just about to leave and can't rate our experience highly enough. The service has been impeccable from arrival to our leaving gift. The staff go out of their way to constantly deliver. The facilities are as described and of superb quality. The environment is beautiful with different views at each hour of the day as the sun changes. We stayed with a la carte and the restaurants had fantastic quality. The kids enjoyed the beach & the pool. While there wasn't always an available lounger by the pool the staff would help you find one. We've relaxed more than ever because everything has been so well delivered and so blissfully easy.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank isla30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Amazing architecture. Lots of space on the beach, and the staff very willing to help out at busy times. The beach is private, too. Different types of beach 'accommodation' available.

Virtually all of the staff were utterly charming. Speaking some Greek probably helps a lot, but they obviously all speak English, too.

Peaceful and beautiful grounds.

Breakfast buffet absolute heaven.

Water features throughout.

Gym actually reasonably OK. Pretty usable even for a two-week stint.

We were quite charmed.

We have made the decision only ever to go on our summer holidays to Greece and only ever to stay in Grecotel hotels.

This is not just the best hotel and resort we have ever stayed in; it was leagues ahead of anything else we have tried, and we have stayed in many, many fancy hotels over the years.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
43.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
24 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Stella Island Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Address: PO Box 106, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $251 - $1,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amirandes 5 star hotel in Crete, is a sparkling exclusive resort on the coast of east Crete. Themed around the lagoons that swirl through its centre, the luxury hotel in Crete covers a 70,000 sq m beachfront estate comprising of eight restaurants, sandy beaches, Elixir Spa with authentic Ayurveda treatments, outdoor Olympic-size seawater pool, over 60 private pools and extensive children's facilities. The sophisticated guestrooms suites and villas feature indulgent details such as private gyms, home cinema and state-of-the-art bathrooms with colour-therapy and aromatherapy Jacuzzi bathtubs. Refined and considerate service mirrors the Resort's meticulous attention to detail and utmost respect for the privacy of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Gouves
Grecotel Amirandes Amnissos
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Amnissos
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing