We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having just returned from a week's break at this hotel, I can report that aside from the stunning views and beautiful location of this hotel, it is the staff ( from the wonderful general manager down) that make this hotel! No request was too trivial and the very, very few problems we encountered were solved within a matter of minutes.
The room itself, ( we were upgraded to a room with a private swimming pool) was very comfortable with all facilities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and had a great choice of food.
We had dinner twice in two of the a la carte restaurants and really enjoyed great food! The only downside of this was the price - extremely expensive!
Pool was wonderful withan uninterrupted view out to sea and great service by the pool boys....
Reception staff couldn't do enough for us and bent over backwards to accomadate us when we arrived and our room wasn't ready.
All in all, a wonderful, relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minnieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 815 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were obviously awaited and treated like royalty with cooled flannels to wipe way the heat of the journey and fruit juice at the Reception desk as we checked in. I didn't have to give our passports up either! All excellent.

We were then escorted to our room by a friendly and informative management staff member. I had phoned in advance to request a high floor room and that is what we were given - I am sure from the conversation that the hotel will definitely try to meet all reasonable requests. The lifts up were clean, quiet and quick at all times.

Although our room was the minimum standard it was large and airy. The walk-in shower was superb and the best we have ever been into in an hotel (30 years holidaying). The beds were really comfortable and the air-conditioning was excellent and free of charge.

The balcony was smallish but OK, except that there was no facility for drying swimwear or other clothes that you might want to rinse through during a stay. We saw on many rooms swimwear etc hanging out to dry on the backs of chairs, which I thought was poor in respect of the hotel as there was no alternative. In an hotel of any type in Greece and especially a 5 star, you should surely have a dryer as standard.

But having given the comments above, I would like to end my review with further positive comments:

1. The food quality, variation of food, chef and service in the main restaurant was superb. 10/10

2. Every single employee at the hotel was totally customer-focused.

3. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Superb breakfast offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Concorde2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amirandes_Management, Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

With this letter we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort. We truly welcome and value your comments as direct feedback always helps us to try harder, in order to exceed your expectations and provide exclusive luxury services.

We were very pleased to know that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us and we hope that you will choose again a Grecotel Property during your next visit in Greece. We are also very happy to hear that you were satisfied by the service of our personnel. The Amirandes team makes a continuous effort for personalized service and through extensive training we try to improve day by day. Service has always been an important value for our Group and we will continue to work hard towards this direction.



Regarding the points that you are highlighting in your letter I would like to inform you that we take all comments under careful consideration and we want you to know that our goal is the constant improvement on the points that each guest mentions.


Dear Guest, we would like to assure you that we will keep working hard to develop and improve our services, taking into account any comments and proposals and we really thank you for giving us this opportunity. We truly hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you again in one of our Resorts.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Crete was our last leg in Greece before we got back home. The hotel offers an absolutely breathtaking view of the beach. The service was superlative, the spa was recommendable and so was the overall stay.
In fact after we checked out to leave for Athens, bad weather got the flights cancelled and Amirendas let us stay in the room till our flight took off at night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adhvaryul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend at the end of May 2013. We have stayed in 5 and a 6 star hotels , and this is up there with the best of them. The rooms are stunning , we had a garden room , which had a nice view. The service throughout the stay was excellent, from the night we checked-in , it was late and the receptionist said there was no need to check-in that night and we were showed straight to our room. The breakfast and meals were excellent and again the service was very good. We really enjoyed our meal in the main restaurant which has long windows looking over the sea, and the food in the beach bar is a very good quality . I think the staff made our stay really special as nothing is too much trouble, and everything was made easy. We are looking forward to staying here again very soon .

Room Tip: The beach bungalows or garden rooms are the best view, we would pick one of these next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunlover097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have just returned from 10 nights at the hotel. It's a very nice hotel and the staff are very friendly. I have stayed at many 5* hotels and this is up near to the top.....but there were a few things which really for a top class hotel should not have been there.

We stayed in a suite on the second floor. The room was immaculate and there was lots of space. The room had blackout curtains and a thin curtain, the railings for the blackout curtain was too short there was about 4in gap at each end which meant that light was pouring into the room at sun rise, alrit if you get up early but if as you are on holiday you wanted to sleep in it was very annoying. Another strange issue was the toilet...! The overflow pipe feeds back into the toilet bowl the plastic pipe however is positioned so it presses into your bum when you sit on the toilet....not hygienic or comfortable at all!!

Drinks and food were very overpriced - €14 for a vey small simple cocktail, €7 for some chips at the pool. There was a shop on site where you could buy bottled drinks etc but again this was expensive, walk 5mins up the road and there is a much cheaper shop (50% less), we went twice in 10 days and food and drink to cover lunches as we were on half board.

Other than that the pool was lovey but a bit cold, there was no shortness of sun beds although people some days were down at the crack of dawn putting towels out but every hotel has that problem. Free water was give out by the pool which was good.

There did seem to be a lot of children at the hotel, dinner was not very relaxing no matter what time you went there was always screaming kids walking in between tables so they could walk around the water feature.

Would I go back, I'm not too sure. There was very little to do within walking distance of the hotel but there was a car rental company based in the reps area if you wanted to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L_V_Z__C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Grecotel Amirandes middle of May and first day once arrived to Crete it was storm, nasty and windy.Despite of that the first impression from the hotel was warm and nice.All guys at reception desk were friendly and always helpful, especially Michail Katantos thanks a lot for nice first impression and support during all days of stay.Room exceeded our expectations being big, light and with lovely view to the beach and calm small garden.Even while storming it was not noisy at room. Brecfasts were fresh and various, greek coffee became my the favorite kind of morning the special since was tested at Amirandes.Thanks to Dimitra, who was always pleasant and freandly to our 3 years ald daughter. She became her reastaurant friend.Separate thanks to hotel management for kids-friendly policy, when the dors of restaurant are always open for kids with fresh fruits, diet meat, fish, etc.All stuff is friendly from morning to the late evening. Thanks to waitress Polina from lounge bar for evening coctails and friendship to our daughter, who still remind smiling Polina home.I can recomend this hotel to famillies with kids of different ages.

Room Tip: standart rooms have all required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanovaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the resort til the minute we left we felt like royalty staying here. The property is breathtaking!! Pristine, environmentally beautiful, words just cannot describe how fabulous this place is. They have thought of everything!! Rooms are brilliantly designed - very thoughtful in every way. Amazing design...comfortable, yet chic. It's worth it to upgrade to a suite or villa. Breakfast was one of the most extensive I've ever seen....dinners, though, expensive, are delicious..from the Italian restaurant to our favorite, Cretan cuisine. Lets not forget the staff that goes above and beyond to make everything perfect...seamless service with a smile!! Especially Marika, who is a treasure to the hotel...she was the sweetest.. Thanks for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: If you do not like small children, make sure you let them know to put you away from kiddie pool side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
43.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
23.1 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Stella Island Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Address: PO Box 106, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $255 - $999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amirandes 5 star hotel in Crete, is a sparkling exclusive resort on the coast of east Crete. Themed around the lagoons that swirl through its centre, the luxury hotel in Crete covers a 70,000 sq m beachfront estate comprising of eight restaurants, sandy beaches, Elixir Spa with authentic Ayurveda treatments, outdoor Olympic-size seawater pool, over 60 private pools and extensive children's facilities. The sophisticated guestrooms suites and villas feature indulgent details such as private gyms, home cinema and state-of-the-art bathrooms with colour-therapy and aromatherapy Jacuzzi bathtubs. Refined and considerate service mirrors the Resort's meticulous attention to detail and utmost respect for the privacy of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Gouves
Grecotel Amirandes Amnissos
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Amnissos
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing