We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a beautiful resort with amazing cuisine and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Crete is known for its hospitality, food and beauty, and the hotel scored the highest in all these categories! The architecture is stunning, combining the 3 elements of the ancient cretan style of water, stone and wood. All the restaurants are nicely situated around this theme and offer views of the infinity pools and/or the ocean. Our room, suite 226, was very spacious and had breathtaking views of the ocean. The service is amazing, the famous cretan hospitality at its best. We felt that these people could be our friends. They did not only call us by name but they all knew our plans and experiences for our vacation and were trying to help with suggestions and explanations. Among the friendliest staff I must point how exceptional captain Eleni and the manager of the cretan restaurant Antonis were! The breakfast was so good and offered a big variety of the cretan and Greek cuisine. The Cretan restaurant offered some of the most delicious food combining traditional cretan recipes with organic products from the Grecotel's own farm, "A Greco". You must visit that farm, if you have the time. All the a la cart restaurants were excellent, we had lots of fresh fish. They were always very accommodating willing to prepare for us things that were not on the menu. The pool is olympic size and beautiful. We originally chose this hotel because of its location. We wanted to be close to Hrakleion but not inside the town. We wanted a luxury resort that would allow us to easily sight see the Eastern part of Crete. We rented a car and we went to the palace of Knossos ( an absolute must-see), the Kazantzakis museum, the towns of Hrakleion and Agios Nikolaos as well as Elounda. If our kids were a little older we could have traveled further east but instead we decided to move to Chania for another 6 nights and explore the western part of Crete. Although originally from Greece, we live in the United States and spend our winter vacations at luxury resorts in the Caribbean. Amirandes was one of the best resorts we have stayed, if not the best, and at the fraction of the money we spend in the Caribbean. Our last vacation was at the "famous" Eden Rock in St. Barths. I must say Eden Rock pales in comparison to Amirandes in all levels, including the value. We can't wait to visit Amirandes again and have told all our friends and family about it!

Room Tip: Stay in suite 226 or any of the suites overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YotaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 801 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is fantastic as is the service from 80% of the staff
The room was excellent
If we had any grumbles it was really the fact that the hotel was taken over by 90% Russians and their families.
The many children running around at all times even late into the evening when you are trying to have a romantic dinner is off putting to say the least.
The quality of the catering was excellent in most of the restaurants including the buffet breakfast .
The only restuarant we thought a bit below par and the others, was the Thai restuarant that serves Thai- Asian food but at an very expensive price for what one received there.

Room Tip: Nearer the sea is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank riseccouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

If you are looking for a great beach location with fabulous surroundings and a large pool, this place is for you. Villas with private pools also available. And health club. And tennis, etc. Restaurants are pricy. We were traveling for a month on an active itinerary and Amirandes was a welcomed 3 day rest. My wife an I slept late, kicked-back and watched the waves.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2travel4kicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We went there for our Honeymoon. Absolutely beautiful hotel. The view from our room was amazing. We could see the inside lake and sea in a whole. The inside restaurants were great with great food. You should try the Cretan restaurant. There is no menu, but they serve you all the typicall Cretan plates. Do not eat much cause they are so many. The whole hotel is great. The pool, the service, the sea, the rooms. Everything was GREAT.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiriaki_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Apart from the amazing architecture, this hotel should take a gold badge for the most kind personnel everl! As soon as you arrive, they salute you with fresh orange juice and warm towels to wash your hands. Photos speak for themselves, it is breathtaking, all those pools surrounding it, the palm trees, the big walls, giving you the impression that you are in Knossos palace.
The food in Blue Monkey, the japanese restaurant is excellent, although a little bit expensive. The snack bar by the pool serves very tasteful dishes. 80% of the newly wedds in Heraklion choose Amirandes for the place of their shooting, and don't be surprised if you see a bride, with the wedding down, during sunset, being photographed!!!! The rooms are spacious and well decorated, everything is great!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in Grecotel Amirandes one week in May 2012. The whole experience was very good. From the very first step into this hotel we experienced absolutely excellent service. Upon arrival we were personally guided through the hotel to our apartment. We used the apartment with private little pool and garden which gave us independence from sunbeds in the beach. Food was very good and I would especially point out a nice choice of traditional greek apetisers in every buffet! Maitre de mainson of the main restaurant never forgot to come to our table to check if everything is fine. We also noticed that he remembered every child of the current guests by name and especially cared whether they are comfortable or not. He brought same creams for our doughter when he noticed that she has bad moskito bites.

The only drawbaks we can think of was wifi connection not working in the room (we got cable) and really cold water in the outdoor pools, which were not heated, still we could use small indoor pool in the spa area.

Nevertheless what really makes a difference about this hotel is service!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anonymus125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was my first visit to Crete and I can honestly say it was perfect on all fronts. The hotel is set out beautifully, the accommodation is superb but I have to say it was the team who work at the hotel who stole the show. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were all effortlessly friendly and made the whole experience sensational.

The pool area is idea for wiling away those long summer days and when the sun begins to set head for a cocktail at the Labyrinth Lagoon Bar followed by dinner at my favourite restaurant Xasteria where you can enjoy a menu using local ingrediants. The Blue Monkey Restaurant was another personal favourite and a great place to discover sushi!!

The resoprt spa has a great indoor pool and offers a wide range of treatments that offer the ultimate in relaxation.

We didn't take children with us but would happily return with other couples or family members with children as the facilities were excellent....

Room Tip: There are twenty room types to choose from but the earlier you book (as always I suppose) the greate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
43.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
45.5 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
722 reviews
3.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.0 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#12 of 175 in Rethymnon
951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Address: PO Box 106, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $205 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amirandes 5 star hotel in Crete, is a sparkling exclusive resort on the coast of east Crete. Themed around the lagoons that swirl through its centre, the luxury hotel in Crete covers a 70,000 sq m beachfront estate comprising of eight restaurants, sandy beaches, Elixir Spa with authentic Ayurveda treatments, outdoor Olympic-size seawater pool, over 60 private pools and extensive children's facilities. The sophisticated guestrooms suites and villas feature indulgent details such as private gyms, home cinema and state-of-the-art bathrooms with colour-therapy and aromatherapy Jacuzzi bathtubs. Refined and considerate service mirrors the Resort's meticulous attention to detail and utmost respect for the privacy of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Gouves
Grecotel Amirandes Amnissos
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Amnissos
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing