We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice peacefull location with bars and tavernas nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John-Mary Apartments
MERSEYSIDE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice peacefull location with bars and tavernas nearby”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We chose this location because we wanted to relax, no noise just sun sightseeing and good food and wine in local tavernas. That is what we got, but with a few disappointments!!! The complex of appartments and pool was lovely, but the 'cooking facilities' consisted of a portable 'camping hob' no lwhere near a plug, there is no toaster and very little in the way of cutlery. We did not intend to eat in but for those of you who do re consider. The shower hardly ever worked, in fact it is more of a trickle than a shower, I had to wash my hair in the sink using the kettle and a jug. We had one change of towels during our weeks stay but no change of bed linen and we had to take out our own rubbish and clean the floor/balcony with the mop and brush provided! The family are very friendly but do highly favour the 'regulars' who seem to get top class treatment. Be ware the photographs of the surrounding area, it is NOT like that at all and the complex does not provide entertainment/BBQ/ etc etc in fact some nights we arrived back at about 10.30 for a drink and the bar was shut!!! and yet other nights when the regular people where there (they tend to accommodate ships crews) the bar was open till 2am! A nice strip with lovely breeze and tavernas but very very quiet for August.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CoMayoIreland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday with Michalis and his family at the John Mary apartments. They all made us feel so welcome and part of their family from the minute we arrived. It was our 2nd time back there and we are already planning our 3rd trip. We had a beautiful apartment, very clean with wonderful views of the sea which was only across the road. The pool was spotless as was the whole complex.There are so many great restaurants within walking distance, we especially liked Osais and Athlantis, but everyone who visits gouves must try SPYROS in old gouves. 5 minutes by taxi from our apartment it is a family run restaurant with real traditional greek food. Spyros himself takes great care of his customers and is a genuine nice man with a great sense of humour. Tell him irish George sent you!! Overall we could not wish to holiday in a nicer place or with a nicer family. Well done Michalis, everything under control!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoMayoIreland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Have read with great dismay some of the comments about John Mary apartments, have stayed here for the past 5 years sometimes twice a year and would not think of going anywhere else. The apartments are typically greek and the family make you feel like one of their own. I love it so much I have introduced family and friends to the apartments and my partner and I plan to marry from here next year at the beautiful chapel round the corner. Its my heaven on earth.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janula56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

just booked for the 5th year on the bounce cant wait to meet up with other travellers who like us, like the peace and quite of the complex.We know we are going to have an enjoyable holiday.Any body going to gouves we,d recommend eating at lamanaki.On the main strip in gouves there are plenty of pubs with music and eatery.John and marys , they offer great prices in car rental as we would recommend that you get to see other parts of the island as it is beautiful. Hope to see you there.
the city man.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We have stayed here 2 years on the trot and simply love the place. I can honestly say that we will return time and time again. Michalis, Nicki, Yiannis and Marietta can not do enough for you they are a beautiful family.

  • Liked — The location and owners
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank RakiManScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We atayed at the John Mary for 1 week in July....what a terrible experience!! We chose the apartments mainly based on the positive reviews here on TA but I dont know if these people really were in the same apartments at all.
Firstly and the biggest complaint I have is that the apartments were dirty - no change of towels or sheets for the week. When I asked the owner about this (who incidentally seems to think he is some miniature form of a Greek Tom Jones....NOT) he abruptly told me I should have asked the "clean lady".....I would have if I ever saw one!!
The "bar" according to the brochure promised live entertainment and barbecue.....again - maybe I took a wrong turn. Mike (the owner) seems to have his own little favourites among the guests and if you are not on his hit parade you can just forget about any sort of good service.
The apartment complex really is on the edge of the village, not too far from the beach and a nice walk to the strip but if you are after a bit of atmosphere this is not the place for you. If you do end up here, there is a restaurant accross the road which can be recommended for reasonable food and the owner here is guaranteed to put a smile on your face as he is definitely the Greek version of Manuel from Fawlty Towers!!
Finally, unless you are very desperate for accommodation in Crete.....DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing here to like!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mayo_traveller_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I have just returned from a one week holiday at the John Mary apts with my boyfriend - i strongly recommend not to book here. They are situated in Gouves at the very END of the strip (which isnt really a strip but an empty road), Gouves itself is very pretty but VERY boring for young people and couples. there are very few bars and entertainment is hard to find. No music or crack. Theres only restaurants along the water which are pretty but after the 2nd or 3rd night your sick of them and want a change.

Anyway referring to the apts on arrival they were clean, nice and spacious. By the 4th night we still had no clean sheets no clean towels the toilet bin was still full (as you know you cannot flush toilet paper in crete) so the apt was beginning to get smelly and dirty. By the last day of our holiday i cudnt wait to get out, our toilet paper was never replaced i had to buy it in shop. the staff of JOhn Mary are so un-helpful i asked once for help with the air con and he was not happy. this was all i asked all week. when leaving i was actually itching to get out the apt was so so dirty the floors were NEVER mopped and the beds were never changed.I was appalled for the money we paid to stay here and its a good long walk from everything, only thing near by is a shop and the bar in John Mary is no good, never music and no crack it was always empty. It was such a let down considering the reviews i had read before we went i duno how anyone enjoys it there as we were not the only ppl disappointed there, alot of ppl were complaining to great escapes when they got back i heard.

DONT GO HERE ITS A RIP OFF!

  • Liked — nothing really
  • Disliked — everything - very dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heddim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
0.1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cosmi Apartments
Cosmi Apartments
#27 of 36 in Kato Gouves
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#8 of 36 in Kato Gouves
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
#13 of 36 in Kato Gouves
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ourania Apartments & Hotel
Ourania Apartments & Hotel
#2 of 31 in Kato Gouves
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John-Mary Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John-Mary Apartments

Property: John-Mary Apartments
Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — John-Mary Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your John-Mary Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John-Mary Apartments Hotel Gouves
John Mary Apartments Gouves
John-Mary Apartments Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing