We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2011 in Lyda Beach / Diogenis Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diogenis Blue Palace
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hello
Today I entered a little to look for the hotel to enjoy a holiday in 2011
I am left speechless
How to write such things ????
The hotel was excellent in every respect. I, my wife and my two children we are from 4 to 18 September in this hotel.
Very clean, service daily with towel change every day, linen change every 2 days, with 3 meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, with enough variety and delicious.
My baby was 2 years Birthday, we 6th Wedding Anniversary.
We were offered by the hotel birthday cake, champagne and flowers.
Our crib was given immediately just asked.
Staff helpful and pleasant. Employing a child with my other games, mini disco and animation.
Again in July 2012 Lyda Beach Hotel - (Diogenes Palace today).
I recommend it to my friends and family.
Dima, Moscow.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dima k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel is absolutely the worst example of a family hotel on the island of Crete

We got back this morning 11/10/2011 so glad to be home

biggest problem is the food : It was Cold , Tasteless : Repetitive :

the cold foods were set out on a long trestle table . each dish always the same , and just covered with cling film. perfect conditions for bacteria.

the hot food was neither hot nor appetising , yes you could use the one working microwave to re heat it.

the evening food was even more unsavoury due to the lighting . the food was heated by and thereby lit by bright red infra-red bulbs . directly above the trays . The lighting of the dining room is neon green
This has the effect of making everything look like a dirty brown colour.

and yes each guest is expected to clear their own tables

the rest of others comments are real. The drinks are served in dirty rough heavy duty plastic beakers. Glasses were in short supply, Tea & coffee machines are dirty with broken hinges , the rooms were dark . not all Water coolers were plugged in

The pool was in very poor condition , no hand rails for the non-swimmer to access the water ,
For a non-swimmer who just wants to cool off. the steps are too large & the depth is daunting

its not a good hotel at all. it was not good when it was the LYDA BEACH nothing has improved . and nothing will if people keep booking this place

Chevron Puppy

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chevron-puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

WELL..Diogenis Palace/Lyda Beach, what can i say!

There were two of us girls in our early twenties and although there were no reviews stated before booking (obviously unaware that it was previously known as "Lyda Beach"), we still went ahead with it and this was not exactly the experience we expected!

Upon arrival, the staff members on reception weren't exactly very welcoming after making us wait a good 15 minutes before acknowledging us whilst he finish off his private phone call when another staff member came along to "help" with carrying the suitcases to the room (although we were unaware of this) He just grabbed one suitcase and stormed off in a hurry and we just assumed we were expected to follow, meaning one suitcase was left to be carried up and down sets of stairs of course by us.

The room was adequate as we weren't planning on spending much time there anyway, lighting conditions were ridiculous, you permanently have to leave the lights on to enable any visibility whatsoever! Didn't particularly have many problems with the room upon arrival until the second day when the toilet seat broke in which we immediately reported in order to get it fixed... 2 days later they FINALLY come to fix it. On the last couple of days, the air conditioning broke as it started to leak.

The pool was okay.. for the occasional dip.. but in terms of the condition it was in, not so okay. This hotel catered for many families with small children and the pool could be seen as some sort of disaster zone. With actual sides of the pool sliding off, about a third of the tiles missing off the bottom of the pool with the other third slowly dropping off and being placed on the side of the pool (not removed from the area).

Now onto the food and drink. Considering this was an all inclusive hotel, the choice of food, the selection of drinks and the state that the food was in was very POOR. There were only 5 options of alcoholic beverages and these were beer, wine, cognac, raki and ouzo. I even resorted to drinking beer during the day to attempt to get some moneys worth! The food was hideous, constantly cold with the same selection every day. You even had to tidy up after yourself!

The location of this hotel was pretty much in the quietest possible area. Although we hadn't done much research on the area, we still thought it would be quite easy to find a few pubs and clubs, but we were wrong. Although we did get a taxi to the nearest nightlife which was hersonissos! The only good thing about the location of this hotel was that it was situated right next to a LOVELY restaurant named "ISLAND", which we were very thankful for.

The hotel also provided no entertainment whatsoever besides half an hours worth of water aerobics every now and then.

The only thing I can't complain about was the weather but all in all, would not step one foot near this place ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just returned from what can only be described as the worst holiday experience ever. Diogenis Palace is probably the worst hotel in Greece. I cannot believe this place has a 4 star rating and has been advertised as suitable by our tour operator THOMAS COOK!. I was ill for 3 days upon returning to the UK and my partner still has stomach complaints two weeks after being home.

The low down....
One bar in the whole place serves everybody and its THE POOL BAR! The guy working there was friendly enough and the girl but they werent managed propertly and left to their own devices often on facebook or messing with the music. I spotted people leaning over the unattended bar actually pouring their own beer from the pumps and the staff didnt care. Nobody cleans the tables or the bar area its beyond dirty. Theres an old drinks machine you help yourself to coke, lemonade, orangeade and soda water. It is caked in dirt and the soda ran out twice whilst we were there. Theres a still water drinks dispenser thats full of grime too. Yes in addition to being AI and buying our own wine we ended up buying our own bottled water too (and food).

The all inclusive drinks are terrible. White wine is undrinkable,red wine cloudy and rose like bad table wine. Spirits on offer are Ouzo, Raki, type of Cognac which i actually thought was homebrew. No Gin, Bacardi, Vodka etc...you know the type of thing you just take for granted at a 4* AI - the supermarket next door had all the locally produced variations. We paid for AI drinks and bought our own wine from the supermarket next door. I pinched a wine glass (one of about 10 in the whole place) and topped it up taking it down to dinner. We spoke to couples that had booked for a fortnight and i felt so sorry for them they ate out so much it cost them a fortune after paying for AI meals its a disgrace.

Food - oh my god what can I possibly say that would paint a bad enough picture of the slop they are serving up. The plates are stacked on the right hand side of the door as you walk in and often I found dirty ones.

Every day you get the same choice on the salad bar. One bowl of lettuce (left in water inbetween services breeding e-coli) tomato, onion, green pepper, coleslaw, beetroot sometimes one or two extra dishes but and thats about it! Theres bread of one variety either fresh if your lucky but normally stale. The hotel has no toaster and ran out of butter for two days whilst we were there. The main meals are disgusting and we lived off plain pasta. The meat option mainly featured cheap cuts (chicken thighs) and liver...who eats liver as a meal given a choice? The only thing on offer for desert was icecream from a dirty freezer stuck in the restaurant and a bowl of sliced watermelon or oranges.

Breakfast choice was pathetic every day was really poor. Often no bacon featured or eggs (occasionally there were boiled early morning but they didnt last long) there were plenty of cold beans, cold greasy fritters and hotdog sausages on offer. I eat continental when im away and did find greek yoghurt, honey and some cereals but only a couple of choices. The orange juice often ran out and the coffee machine is dirty and has a broken door you have to hold shut whilst the machine spits your coffee out into your cup (if youre lucky to find one).

The hotel seem to think its acceptable to serve wine in plastic dirty cups once the short supply of glasses runs out (which are a bizzare array of champagne flutes, half pint and paris goblets)

When we arrived we were given a slip of paper that advised afternoon tea is served and could be pizza, toasties, chips. This is rubbish we were offered cake on two occasions and other days stale ham sandwiches and rotten cold pizza slices.

No regular activities for adults or children. Mini disco every other day (that was rubbish) that lasted about 20 mins and a 20 min pool aeorobic event every morning.

The pool tiles were loose and had been removed by the children diving beneath the water. They made up this game because they were bored out of their minds with the lack of anything going on. Theres an arcade containing knackered old machines that dont work properly. The main hotel public toilets are next to the arcade - one male and one female is the only thing on offer and the smell after 9pm is terrible and really offensive. The loungers in the bar are are covered in stains and the windows cannot be seen out of because of the grime. Our room wasnt available on arrival as it had been given (no acutally sold) to a family wanting to stay after the 12 noon check out time. Even though i had paid extra for a maisonette i was given a standard small room on the ground floor in an area that constantly smelt of raw sewerage - the smell was also around the pool area.

The resort is really tired and run down. We walked into Gouves centre (15 mins from hotel) and it wasnt worth the effort, well if you like sports bars and shops selling cheap trinkets then make the journey.

The hotel has two names Lyda Beach and Diogenis Palace - wonder why???

Theres a bar which is supposed to belong to the hotel located at the front of the property but the owner has apparently rented it out to somebody and therefore all inclusive guests have to pay for drinks in this bar - which is actually sold as part of the hotel in the brochure. Oh yes and if you are led to believe the sunbeds and umbrellas are offered for free (as we were by Thomas Cook) you will be told otherwise when you arrive and they charge 6 euros for the pleasure of renting a shabby umbrella and dirty rickety beds on a pathetic stretch of beach.

Oh yes...nearly forgot a ladies bikini was stolen off her balcony and somebody had their own towel pinched. Safety deposit boxes are located somewhere near reception but we didnt bother and kept all our valuables on us at all times.

Good points - not many...

The girl behind the reception works really hard to put things right and is the backbone of the whole set up. The young man who i think is related to the family who own the hotel is very helpful and accomodating. The maids seem to work hard keeping things clean but you can only do so much with the state of the decor, furnishings etc.

Theres an absolutely beautiful little chapel is located nearby which allows people to visit and light candles. We watched a wedding and christning early evening which was really nice.

The restaurant across the road is acceptable and does a roaring trade as its full of all the guests who have already paid to eat at Diogenis Palace but decided not to bother!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Buttercupluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We (my daughter and myself) arrived at the airport and went to get our transfer to the hotel, the first thing that had me slightly nervous was when i was told the name of the hotel was "Lyda Beach Hotel" and not "Diogenis Palace" that we booked.

We got to Lyda Beach/Diogenis Palace about 11pm and the fella behind reception did not even look up to greet us but took our hotel voucher and made a phone call, still without speaking to us two guys came to reception and took our cases and so we followed. We were taken to our room and let in, here one of the guys picked up the TV remote and proceeded to tell me that is was a remote??? They both left without another word or smile. This was the longest conversation that the reception staff during our 2 week stay. Apart from Maria who works during the day - poor lass!! The room we were allocated by all means was one of the best available so on that score, no complaints. We did not go on holiday to stay in our room though.

In the morning we went for breakfast, although we had no idea where we were going or what to expect. We found the "restaurant" if that is what it was classed as. It was like a school canteen. The tables clothes were covered in spilt food from previous guests or even sittings. I expected on this holiday for it to be self service for the food but for a 4 star where you have to tidy your own plates away, this was new to me!!
The food was never hot, barely reaching lukewarm. There were numerous times when other guests were actually having to queue and wait for food to be brought out!
The food was atrocious and my daughter of 10 years would not eat anything, she commented it was like the food left in the houses on the tv show - life of grime! she was right. I paid for an all inclusive holiday to ensure we would have no unexpected expense as i am a single mother on a tight budget, all food and drink were all ready included. What a joke, i had to get family to transfer £200 to me so we could eat on top of the money i had myself.
Even the AI drinks were not very good. Larger, ouzo, Raki, cognac, and Wine (not nice) for the alcoholic choice and Fizzy orange, lime and lemonade, cola, water and Soda water, none diet. The only one my daughter would drink was cola!

The pool was falling to bits and tiles were coming lose at the bottom of the pool daily and was left to the guests to take them out of the pool as and when. The large slab at the side of the pool next to the steps was loose and was ready for falling in the pool itself, when we mentioned this to the staff we were told "so what!!!" The pool gets extremely slippy when people are walking about and numerous people slipped and hurt themselves, including myself!
We had a towel stolen from the sunbed and a friend had a bikini stolen from outside her pool side room, again when we told the staff it was " don't leave them out"

The music played at the pool side was completely inappropriate for a so called family hotel, many contained swear words and were played over and over.

Being a single mother taking my daughter away by myself for the first time was daunting enough but for the bar staff to be calling my room at 2AM telling me to leave her and meet him for a drink?? even when he was put straight he was still calling, i ended up unplugging the phone!

The way the hotel treat people on the last day when you are coming out of your room is disgusting also, i understand they need the rooms for future guests, but when you have been told you have the room until 4pm and then called to reception and told that the room is needed and the people who need it are already sat in your room watching you pack!!! never heard of anything like this before EVER (this happened to our friends while we were waiting for our pick up)

The one thing i can honestly say about this hotel is, it has made making english friends really easy!! Met some lovely people and THEY made the holiday!!!

Book elsewhere!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fwendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dmitrijs O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nataly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
13.4 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gouves Bay Hotel
Gouves Bay Hotel
#13 of 36 in Kato Gouves
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
#15 of 36 in Kato Gouves
218 reviews
5.1 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#63 of 172 in Hersonissos
577 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#82 of 172 in Hersonissos
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diogenis Blue Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diogenis Blue Palace

Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece (Formerly Diogenis Palace Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $61 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diogenis Blue Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RENOVATED IN 2017. As of 2017, hotel Diogenis Blue Palace is now property of BRIGHT Group of Companies. After 3 months of constructions, BRIGHT has completed a renovation of facilities and rooms, upgrading the hotel to 4-stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Bookgreece.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Diogenis Blue Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diogenis Blue Palace Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing