We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic and clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kalia Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Gouves
bolton manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“basic and clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

arrived at hotel around 5pm. we were given room 102 which was downstairs and next to the reception facing a car park. we did request upper floor but disappointed. we then opened the door to the room and you could not swing a cat in it! (sorry for my expression) twin beds could not be separated apart because room was too small. we insisted an immediate change which we was told yes the next day. we did not unpack that night at all. the bathroom was horrid and the shower curtain did not reach the floor hence it flooding the bathroom every time you showered.
the next morning we were given a new room upstairs and this was much better. larger room to move beds apart and lovely balcony. the same bathroom but the shower curtain did reach the floor so our bathroom did not get soaked. we were fine now!.
we did make a lot of friends there and we compared our rooms with theirs and they are all different shapes and sizes. some are huge family rooms larger balconies. but most all flooded the bathrooms.
the bathrooms are seriously dated and covered in lime scale and just so old.
all the staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful especially thanos who will talk to you in good English and the lady receptionist I forgot her name.
the hotel grounds are great plenty of good sun beds. the bar drinks are limited in what you can get so check it out. I don't drink alcohol so never had a problem. but I had a problem with soft drinks they don't serve any diet drinks whatsoever so as a diabetic I lived on water most the time. in the restaurant you can't serve yourself you have to form a line and wait to be served. there is not much of a choice pork pork pork lol. chips chips chips. all meals are only just warm and not hot as we would like it. all in all the food is nice but just not warm. breakfast tip. DONT TOUCH THE MILK. its disgusting, I am sure its powdered an it comes in glass jugs and its warm.
get your own milk from the supermarket next door. and keep it in your own fridge in your room.
all in all the holiday was great and we made great friends at night sat round the tables. the resort was extremely quiet and you can get the but to hersonnisos 15 mins up the road for a measley 3 euro 20 cents a couple one way.
we went shopping there most days. we also went to agios Nicholas on the but too. for a few extra euros and also the city heraklion for bigger posher shops.
so just 2 let downs. 1 the food is only just warm. 2. the bathrooms are shocking.
I would return to hotel kalia beach again but not for another few years.
oh and just to let you know we all got bit to death by mosquitoes. so take plenty of cream and deterrents. we all itched to blood.
ps. don't go off the picture on the internet jet2.com that's the family room which is large.

Room Tip: if you want to feel safe at night with balcony doors open, then choose upper rooms. rooms on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    100
    71
    41
    35
See reviews for
81
150
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

we had a lovely week here. Staff very nice and friendly, room was clean, food was lovely, lot of moaning English people about silly things , you get what you pay for.first time in Crete, would go back for sure, Thanks Adam, Thanasis, veggelis, albi, yanis for good laughs... Love from the 2 giggly sisters

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaz-Missy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

After reading the derogatory reviews by previous visitors, my wife and I wondered what we were letting ourselves in for. However, we have just returned (25th October) from a very enjoyable two week stay at the Kalia Beach Hotel. Admittedly the hotel is rather 'tired' and the rooms are very basic with minimal facilities (shower was pathetic) but hey, you gets what you pays for. On the plus side, the staff were fabulous, friendly and helpful all day long and the pool area was a very relaxing spot. We had no problems with the food, nothing fantastic but I am a very 'picky' eater but had three good meals every day although I have to say we had a rather lot of pork! The location is ideal, right on the beach front road with good beaches within walking distance, plenty of shops, bars and restaurants adjacent and half a mile up the hill were the bus stops. Here you could get one of the many frequent buses, which we would call coaches, to various destinations far and wide at a reasonably cheap price. I'm not sure if we would visit again as we always like to try new destinations but for a cheap holiday the Kalia Beach hotel was excellent value.

Room Tip: Try for a sea facing room with larger balcony or a room facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

very shabby room no double beds patio doors closed with difficulty bath didnt work shower a mere trickle the room wasnt ready on the first night the food adequate the all inclusive bar drinks a poor choice snacks very few .
positives the ice cream was okay the pool nice and they let us stay in our room until our transfer on the last day .

oh and its definetley on the flight path every 20 minutes day and night

Room Tip: dindt see any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M400K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlilse
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Arrived at Kalia Beach Hotel at 11.30pm, tired and hungry from a long day travelling, We were a party of 7, oldest being 77yrs and used a stick to walk! An 'All Inclusive' holiday we asked if there was any food available only to be told NO, but if we wanted to pay for it we could eat in THEIR restaurant, 'Zorbas', part of the hotel! We didn't eat there and found a lovely place 5mins down the road called 'Pella', and they did take-away, so pizza and chips all round and it was lovely. After being checked in, we were shown to our apartments. My partner, his mum and I were sharing and it was ok, unfortunately, it was up a flight of stairs that 'mum' could not do on a daily basis, so we asked for a room on the ground floor, but there was none available until 6pm the next day, which we accepted. The second room was much smaller, albeit on the ground, at the back, looking at a pathway and garden, 3 beds in one room, a small shower room, no bath, a wardrobe with 5 coat hangers for 3 adults? and a small fridge! Air-con was at a price, 7 Euros per day! I dont think so! FOOD.....Its true what others are writing, its disgusting, yuk! Breakfast was miserable........:( Lunch was pork, pork, pork,.....Dinner was pork, pork, pork and salad and cheese, everyday! Ate out on many occasions. Jet2 need to take a look at this place, food awful, beds hard, no entertainment, (same greek guitarist every night, playing the same tunes every night!) Bar closes for 'all inclusive' at 10.30pm and then you have to buy the same rubbish you've had free all day! Watered down lager, I could strip paint with there 'Raki', Ouzo yuk, Brandy yuk, and the Wine, more like 'put it on your chips'! If it hadn't been for the wonderful ppl we met at Kalia, our holiday could have been a disaster....Yayyyyyy, 'The Naughty Corner'! Giannis n Thanos, our waiters, they are the best, they speak good english and make a real effort to please evryone. Would we go back....NOOOOOOOOOOO! Anyone thinking of going, please think again, and read others reviews, its all true what they say!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elkavox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gouves hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well here goes .... arrived at Kalia beach on 1st Oct for a girly week away ... on arrival was dumped at hotel by coach and told the room we had was a "superior" room...not a chance ... for a start the balcony doors didn't not lock so had to push all furniture against them on a night as we where on ground floor and didn't feel safe...the toilet took all night to refill once it had been flushed ...the fridge was knackered and the bath rusty ...if u stay in room 311 good luck!!!!
After arguing with the rep we where moved to a better room above hotel ..thank god.
The food .... one word ...Crap.. if you like pork then u will be ok ..no choice and served like school dinners and if you tried to help yourself u got shouted at..oh and avoid there version of mash potatoe it looks bad and tastes even worse ...barffff so just ended sitting outside drinking .
All inclusive finished at 22:30...that's when the party should be in full swing ...luckily met a fantastic group of new friends AKA the Naughty club and we brought our own drinks in from supermarket and drank that till the early hours ...better option as tastes better than the watered down lager,brandy and ouzo!!!!!
If it hadn't been for the friends we met there we would of had enough in a couple days .
Any good points ...... The Anfield bar ... and rock night at baraki bar great night that was :-) and be warned they serve large measures of voddy ect so be prepared to be a little tipsy lol.
Would I go back ....not in a million years ...believe the reviews as it really is that bad ..
oh and when I said girly hol im 39 my friend was in her 40s so not wanting a 18/30 type holiday just some relaxation in the sun.
Jet 2 need to take a serious look at this hotel ...perhaps flatten it and start again !!!

Room Tip: try get a room above reception a lot better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizziebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

all right my t/a freinds ...for those of you that know me .i have travelled to and stayed in some of the best and worst hotels...or so i thought .......my wife and i stayed at the kalia beach hotel for two weeks from the 24th sept onwards .....so here's how it went ....we arrived at heraklion airport....i was well oiled by the time we arrived so did'nt really care about the waiting around..cleared customs ..got our bags AND onwards to collect our hire car ...one slight problem .....they were'nt there...(just as well we did'nt tell the rep just yet that we'de got one )...any way by the time it came for the coach to leave ..still no hire car ...so off we pop on the coach ...now for the hotel...on arrival ..it was clean ..the receptonist was friendly enough and so to our room....which to all intents and purposes was clean tidy and rather spacious ....so far so good .....off we pop to the ALL INCLUSIVE BAR...one slight problem...it is'nt all inclusive .....no diet coke for the wife .....certain spirits not available ...so ..the choices were ...brandy (well they claimed it was )..ouzo...watered down beer or raki ...oh and the rather nasty tasting wine........as i'm sat there the first thought s are ..."please"someone get me out of this fleabitten s**thole of a shanty town ......the jeep turned up ..looked nothing like it did in the photo ...the wife drove it once ..then it was parked up.(that was more of a learning curb on my part not to book for the wife to drive again as she did'nt feel comftable driving...)....now for the food ....all i can say without dronning on and on is that the majority of the reveiws about the food is spot on ....bland ,not very appealing ...just thrown onto the plate ..and to be honest this is alien to me where everything is served to you more or less ...we ate out more times than we ate at the hotel.....the saving grace for this holiday which made it a fantastic time was the people we met .....a fantastic crowd ..and believe me ...if it was'nt for the naughty club ...the holiday would have been a disaster ...so a BIG,BIG thanks to every one in the naughty club at the kalia beach hotel ..it made our holiday ......would i return..........definetly not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zippy598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouves
0.0 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#15 of 38 in Gouves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Despo Hotel
Despo Hotel
#14 of 38 in Gouves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Klio Apart Hotel
Klio Apart Hotel
#18 of 38 in Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Gouves Maya Resort
Gouves Maya Resort
#22 of 38 in Gouves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalia Beach Hotel

Property: Kalia Beach Hotel
Address: Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalia Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kalia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalia Beach Crete
Kalia Beach Hotel Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing