We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic not 4 star more I star”
Review of Klio Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Klio Apart Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently would not go again pool clean sunbeds mostly broken lots of mosquito's in room had to buy fly killer spray toilet bin in bathroom not emptied food brought in from outside hours before meal times and always cold would rather have paid more for a better hotel our holiday was made by the people we met and made friends with by the way the neighborhood dogs were lovely and friendly made you want to take them all home

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmwq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I think my title sums it up for an all inclusive, 7 day holiday.
The room was basic but clean, cleaned every day except Sunday, clean sheets/pillow cases on arrival and then again on day three for rest of week, towels were changed if they on the floor.
We brits not used to their sewerage system by not putting toilet paper down the toilet, it is off putting and it was this that I insisted had to be removed each day,which it was, but unfortunately not on Sunday. Pool area was better than expected clean and it looked as it been given a face lift, enough sunbeds even counting the ones that were split and you couldn't sit on.
Yes we had the barking dog and some of us recorded it so we wouldn't get withdrawal symptoms on our return.
To think for your £20 you can drink like a fish from 10am to 10pm if you want too and it doesn't have to be alcoholic either.
The reason I put the overall as poor was the standard of the food, it was never hot! I know what your saying when in Greece etc and it seems the Russians and Greeks don't like there food hot, so you have to be first in the queue for every meal to get something that resembles hot but it doesn't always work. Hot chips were a speciality and didn't stay long in the their container!
But we survived and what we gained weight wise on the cruise before, we lost in this week to go back home level, which is no bad thing. If they read what we write on trip advisor about the food then they should have known that is what people want, at least the Brits anyway. The staff were amicable and friendly and you just needed to ask and they would have helped you.
Apart from the first full day when the weather was dreadful, it calmed down and the rest of the week was full sun for sunbathing and you forget the nasty bits when your enjoying yourself with like minded people who are in the boat. Overall the Hotel was BASIC but the weather and the company made up for any short falls.

Room Tip: Our room lead directly into the main entrance and where you eat, this keeps you inside if it is rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Crete is a lovely island, Gouves is a nice resort. This hotel however is neither!
The hotel has potential to be good, but unfortunately fails.
The food on an all inclusive or half board basis is disgraceful, no variety and choice, ALWAYS cold. It's delivered from outside caterers, and resembles school dinners- but worse.
I fail to see how they can class this hotel as all inclusive!
The rooms are basic, tatty and in need of a facelift. Supposed to have sea or garden view- you can't see the sea from the hotel, and the garden was a car park!
The bed sheets were NEVER changed the whole time we were there, they also had holes in. The shower was falling to bits, the rooms were never thoroughly cleaned, and sometimes even bins not emptied (including the toilet bin!)
The pool was filthy around the edges and I saw 2 cockroaches underneath the edge.
The staff (not all) were disinterested and not bothered about their customers. And we were even "told off" for taking an all inclusive drink to our room- even though we were "all inclusive"!! It felt like being on rations and having someone watching over us the whole time!
At around 9pm every night the bar would be swamped with dogs from the local area, Like something from 101 Dalmatians!
There were not many other happy faces in the hotel while we were there and when talking to other holiday makers staying there it was clear that everyone was very unhappy, we never even saw a rep to complain to. We were glad to get home!
I would recommend Crete, but certainly not this hotel.
If your looking for a traditional Greek experience then avoid this hotel- and if you do decide to go then take some pot noodles as even these would be better then the excuse for food we were given!

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank TheChiltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 7 nights after a cruise at this hotel it was very clean but the food needed to be more of a variety the breakfast was the same every morning and the evening meal had a few hot dishes and they also had salad but there was nothing like cold meat or cheese to go with this.The room were clean but no clean towels on Sunday as the staff do not work then, the pool was very nice and lots of sunbeds overall it was basic but clean

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heather966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The whole place is clean but had to ask for fresh towels after 4 days! Good location and friendly staff. Food not cooked on site so always Luke warm and neighbours dog constantly barked all day!! All inlcusive bar ends at 10 pm so then you have to pay for drinks. Not allowed to take drinks back to your apartment. Wouldn't come back .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westonandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I went with my boyfriend to Crete for a week and it was great. For the price we paid, the hotel was more than expected. Our room was huge and really pretty, but i think we had actually the best room in the hotel (dont know why): the balcony was huge and above the bar, so we had always good music :) . Breadfast was more than enough and it tasted really good. The best of all was the service: everybody smiles all the time and they were very helpfull!! The beach was 2 minutes walking and the street along the beach had a few nice little Greek restaurants. I really recommend to rent a car: it was a really fun experience and you get to see a lot of the island because the tours are crazily overpriced!! We visited for example: Knossos, Rethimon,Bali Beach, Malia Beach, Malia Historical sites, Iraklion, Agios Nikolaus, Arkadi monastery, Gortis historic place, Plaka, Agios Farangos, Hali Kokani Beach, etc... (all of them o more than 100 km!!!!) For a romantic get away it is absolutely perfect and we recommed it 100%.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IreneJ1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We traveled in August 2013, 2 young couples and we stayed at Klio. The first thing that you need to know is that Klio doesn't look like a 4 stars hotel. I would give it a maximum of 2 stars.
The pool is very nice and very clean, a plus is that the hotel has a supermerket just near, the beach is very close compared to other hotels in Gouves, and the hotel is close to the bus station - if you want to travel to other places. Also, the girls who are in charge of cleaning are very nice.
The girl from the reception is very nice and kind too, but the owner is not that nice. My friend asked her for a cup of coffee at 7AM because she was going for a trip for the day, and she didn't served her because she said the kitchen is not open yet!

After all, I think you get what you pay for, the prices are very affordable, I think this is not a hotel for those who seek luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Estera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
1 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
456 reviews
1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
#14 of 36 in Kato Gouves
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magda Hotel
Magda Hotel
#4 of 36 in Kato Gouves
623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Despina Apartments
Despina Apartments
#21 of 36 in Kato Gouves
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klio Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klio Apart Hotel

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $28 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Klio Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Klio Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klio Apartments Gouves
Klio Apartments Hotel Gouves
Klio Apart Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing