We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just had a lovely week at the Klio apartments.”
Review of Klio Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Klio Apart Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just had a lovely week at the Klio apartments. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Hello to Marinos, Yorgos and Leah!! The pool and apartments were clean. We enjoyed the food ( my 3 teenagers enjoyed all the meals). This is an ideal spot for a quiet family holiday, with trips out to Islands and local areas ( arranged by the local companies on the main road or ask at reception). If you want Benidorm, or rowdy parties this is not for you! The other guests during our stay were mainly Greek, I found this local vote of confidence reassuring.
Don't treat meals as an "eat all you can" buffet, there is a selection of salads, soups, 3 mains including a good vegetarian choice then fruits and a sweet. If you are likely to pile this onto one plate then complain there is no ketchup the Klio is not for you!!
The apartments are basic but clean with good A.C., put the shower curtain INSIDE the shower to avoid a wet floor that some have complained of. The hotel Super market is the same price as other local shops. The sea front has great sand and waves, a constant cooling sea breeze and a choice of Taverners.
We had a great holiday, thanks Klio!! xx

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Spent over 2 months travelling Greece. My first stop was Crete and Klio Apartments.
Received a very warm welcome. (which is vital when you're tired). The room was spacious - actually the whole complex was spacious. Never felt crammed in. The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. If I needed anything (within reason), it would be obliged. I was so comfortable, it felt like home. In fact I returned another two times as I roamed Crete. After experiencing other similarly priced accommodation throughout the Island, Klio Apartments had the most to offer. If I return I Crete, I will return to Klio Apartments. Period.

Room Tip: No matter where you stay, see if you can get a room without neighbours (if possible).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked all inclusive at this supposed 4* apartment. The food was absolutely disgusting! Cold, no choice. The "pool snacks available twice daily" did not exist. The Maid service consisted of clean towels and a new sheet for the bed every three days, bin emptying which was essential as we could not put loo roll down the toilet - plus a toilet roll! There was nothing in Gouves itself, very boring you need a car. No entertainment, a pool which was OK but we never saw it cleaned once in 10 days. The toilets could not take 'toilet paper'. All inclusive was the worst I have ever experienced - drinks very basic. I would never go back there or recommend these apartment to my worst enemy - be warned!

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartments outside the main building. The "Garden view" which we paid ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned from a 10 day all inclusive holiday at the klio aparthotel, very disappointed , rooms basic but clean, all staff very friendly, nice pool, no entertainment, no reception after 3pm. We arrived at 2.45 am, no one to greet us, had to sit in reception til 5am til someone came to show us our room. The food was awful, I lived on tomatoes and melon the whole time, only decent meals were breakfast, but just the same thing every day, all food brought in , not cooked on premises so it was always cold or Luke warm when served. The food was not suitable for the British taste. Must stress the few staff that were there were all very nice and friendly, but it is not a good all inclusive hotel, it's better suited to self catering.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at Klio. The staff and management are brilliant!!!! We travelled with a group of special needs clients, booked it through DIRECT HOLIDAYS (Terrible) The staff were told nothing about our group and were not expecting us... Nevertheless Marie, the owner, did everything possible to assist us.. She change our rooms for accessible rooms immediately, did everything in her power to ensure we had a good time.. thanks Marie it was a pleasure to meet you and your family.... Having said this, the resort is not ready to accept dissabled clients, I would not take them again, but I would certainly go there with my family..Its a very relaxing holiday, everyone is laid back and friendly, perfect place to chill. A special thanks to Marinos the barman,(extremely knowledgeable guy) and Costas, Marias' husband... They were amazing!! Keep up the good work boys!!! Thanks again....

Room Tip: choose an apartment, well worth the extra few pounds.. e.mail hotel before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazzybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks at the Klio without any problems. Had a 1 bed apt which was massive, decor was clean and in good condition. We travelled with a 22 month old and her cot was safe and in good condition too. We found the property quiet but we were quite happy at that as we were in bed by 10 most nights. I really liked the playroom next to reception, good place for littles ones to play out of the sun. 5 minute walk to be beach which is good for all age ranges.

Room Tip: If you book a 1 bed apt ask for one in number ranges 9 to 15 as they are massive and away from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nikfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Myself my wife and my 2 year old have just spent 10 days at Klio, it is a family run business and Maria who was the face of Klio was fantastic, she helped us with organising trips, hiring a car and couldn't have been more helpful, every member of her team were fantastic and i would recommend staying there to anyone.
The place was very clean, it was a perfect location to the beach and resturants and was quiet in the evening so was good for families.
Everyone was very warm and friendly

LOVED IT

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
#14 of 36 in Kato Gouves
221 reviews
1 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#8 of 36 in Kato Gouves
899 reviews
1.2 mi away
Despina Apartments
Despina Apartments
#21 of 36 in Kato Gouves
98 reviews
7.1 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#137 of 184 in Hersonissos
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klio Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klio Apart Hotel

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $29 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Klio Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Klio Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klio Apartments Gouves
Klio Apartments Hotel Gouves
Klio Apart Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing