We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Klio Review”
Review of Klio Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Klio Apart Hotel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Myself my wife and my 2 year old have just spent 10 days at Klio, it is a family run business and Maria who was the face of Klio was fantastic, she helped us with organising trips, hiring a car and couldn't have been more helpful, every member of her team were fantastic and i would recommend staying there to anyone.
The place was very clean, it was a perfect location to the beach and resturants and was quiet in the evening so was good for families.
Everyone was very warm and friendly

LOVED IT

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed a couple of days and really enjoyed it. The place was very clean and tidy, only a few minor niggles that can be overlooked for its price point. Great value for money, pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dave_the_Slushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Spent a week in Klio in September. I went with a friend and there was more then enough space for us in our room. I would say that the batroom could do with updating but it did the job. The room was cleaned every couple of days although new towels werent provided each time. We decided to get aircon for our room (at extra cost) as it got pretty hot in there in the evenings. I cant comment on the pool as we didnt go round the pool as we prefered to go to the beach.
The beach is about a 5 minute walk from the appts. There are restaurants/tavernas along the beach front - not too many to chose from so on a 2 week hol you might struggle to find different places to go but it was fine for one week.
The actualy area is pretty quiet - other then a few tavernas there isnt much going on so if you are looking for a lively holiday, this isnt the place for you. But if you want somewhere to chill out and not really do too much, its fine.

Room Tip: Go to Zorbas on the beach front - staff v friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frogmellaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Not long been back home from a 2 week break at Klio's. Have been going there for about 10 years now, normally twice a year, but due to the loss of my late wife, this was the first time on my own, but never the less, have made great friends at Klio's over the years, and the very warm welcome that I received when I arrived, was absolutely fantastic, as with all the staff there. If you're someone that goes by reviews on what other people say, and you do get people that seem to complain with just about anything ( sad people, never satisfied ), then I will say this, over the years I/ we have been going there, many changes have taken place, all for the better, yes the rooms are basic, but they are very clean and tidy, not only that, if you just want to relax by the pool, which I will add, is always kept very clean, enjoying a nice cool drink and a snack through the day, what more could you ask for, or if your a beach person, then it's about a 5 minute walk from the apartments. So, to sum this all up, if you want a relaxing, self catering holiday, with very nice friendly staff, then give Klio apartments a try, I know that I will be going back there for year to come, as for the whinger's, get a life !

Room Tip: phone Klio direct for room options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bigmick50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

have just got back from a 2week stay at the klio apartments pool is an okay size not too big not too small rooms are good size you get what you pay for,stafff are really nice to talk too eg The bar man at the klio bar made are holiday he,s a goood bar man defoo coming back next yeah thanks for a goood holidayy

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sexgods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Just arrived home from our holiday at the kilo apartments, gouves, crete.
After reading some of the reviews on here I was a little bit worried we had made a mistake, but I'm pleased to say lots of these reviews are utter nonsense.
Myself, my partner my 13 & 3 year old shared a 1 bed apartment, which was huge, clean, lovely balcony. It was basic, but if you want a self catering just somewhere to wash & sleep then this is ideal.
The pool was quiet & clean, no need to put a towel on a sun bed as there were plenty empty all day. Our room was cleaned every other and clean towels provided.

Stunning beach 200 yards away & the main shopping strip was buzzing with plenty of lovely tavernas & bars.
If you want something more lively then only a 15 minute bus ride away.

Food & drinks were expensive, like anywhere in the eu right now, so if your looking for cheap dining then not happening.
On the whole, a very enjoyable holiday. The locals were friendly as were hotel owner & staff. We were very much left to our own devices, which is great, as I can't stand Being hassled into bars & restaurants.

If I was going to return to Crete, then I would return to the kilo apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loopylous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Disappointed with room as studio is not what the pictures advertise. However, the maid was great, cleaned everyother day and towels too, more if you needed them. Be prepared for a few uncomfortable nights as mattress very hard so not great on the back.
pool are was lovely and quiet bar one day of screaming child whose parent eventually turned up and hauled her off. Need some more of the comfortable sunbeds as they were a premium as were the umbrellas. Needed to be up early, not every day, but unfortunately some people would put towels on beds and not use them for hours, sometimes even turning up at 5pm after day out to use them!! Met some great people round pool area and had a laugh, both day and evening.
Shame the management do not encourage visitors to partake in activities like the barbq, need mimimum of 15 people so did not happen at all whilst we were there!! Could be a much more socialble place if they did.
Klio supermarket very friendly and sufficient as was Magda supermarket down the road.
Rep........mmmmmmmmmmmmmm??? My husband knew more about the area than she did. yes, she was new but that is her job to know the place. She even gave wrong info about the resort which the lovely receptionist corrected for me after the welcome meeting! She was also not forthcoming with info that we asked for.
Dave and Stalios, barmen were very helpful despite management.
You need 100 euros up front for AC and safe with no returns for a 2 week period.
Good and local place to eat is Divinas, turn left at the beach, Kleftiko to die for......

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikki66Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
1 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
456 reviews
1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
#14 of 36 in Kato Gouves
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magda Hotel
Magda Hotel
#4 of 36 in Kato Gouves
623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Despina Apartments
Despina Apartments
#21 of 36 in Kato Gouves
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klio Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klio Apart Hotel

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $28 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Klio Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Klio Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klio Apartments Gouves
Klio Apartments Hotel Gouves
Klio Apart Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing