We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definately go again....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ourania Apartments & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definately go again....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently returned from a 10 night stay at the Ourania & they definitely lived up to our expectations. Nothing was too much trouble for Kostas & the rest of the staff. The apartments were spotlessly clean & laid out like a miniature village. The breakfasts & snacks were good value & the fried eggs were the best we'd ever had! It's a pity they don't do evening meals. A 5-10 minute walk will take you to the nearest supermarkets, beach & restaurants. Our favourite restaurants were Spyros (ask Bob behind the bar to ask them to pick you up), Mylos (fun Greek night on a Monday) & Ilios. We took the bus to Hersonissos for more choice of shopping & found a good choice of beachfront tavernas, in particular the Med. We also did the Thomson excursion to Spinalonga, which was an interesting day out. All in all a great, relaxing holiday. Thanks Ourania!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    78
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
148
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent a week staying at the Ourania apartments. We found the apartments basic but all you needed for a holiday. We did arrive during an unusual spell of cooler weather and we found the apartment was not that comfy for taking respite from the cold winds, but it was fine when the sun came out and we could use the balcony. However we did take the opportunity of the cooler weather allowing us to explore a bit more beyond Gouves.

The staff at the apartments were really friendly, we could not fault the service. We decided to take bed and breakfast and was told on our first morning we could have breakfast whenever we liked between 9am and 4pm so there was no pressure to get up early. The breakfast was relatively basic, you could either have a full English or a continental which was basically just toast and a choice of jam/butter/nutella. We also had a snack at the pool bar on one day when it was quite hot and we couldn't be bothered going to the shops, the food was all really good value.

The staff were also really helpful on our last day as the bus to collect us for the airport could not come to the usual pick up point due to roadworks near the apartments so Kostas drove all our suitcases in his Jeep to the new pick up point as it was further away.

There are a lot of stray cats wondering about at the apartments which we did not mind at all as they are all very tame and friendly, quite a few befriended us. The cats are fed by the owners as they have a box of crunchies under the stairs of one of the apartments though they do of course try their luck trying to get food off visitors, but they all look very well looked after for strays.

We didn't get out from the apartments much in all honesty as we mainly came for a relaxing time away and we spent most of our time by the pool when it was sunny. The buses were really good though, we used them to get to Heraklion (which was 1 euro 10 cents for an adult each way) and Hersonissos (which was 1 euro 60 cents) each way. They were really frequent, about every 15 minutes which means its easy to get about. Overall the buses were good value and better service than what you would find in England!

There are quite a few supermarkets scattered about around Gouves most of which are a 10-20 min walk away, however be aware that most are more like a corner shop, a lot of them we found more touristy stuff in than food. If you want bigger supermarkets like Lidl and Spar then a bus trip to Hersonissos or Heraklion is required. They had the basics we needed in Gouves though like water, bread, cheese, milk, pasta. And the nearer the beach the supermarket then it is generally more expensive.

The apartments are close to a few local tavernas and a beach is within 10 minutes walk, although we never went down to the local beaches really as there was a lot of seaweed and they were crowded by 10am. We found the area was quite quiet and none of the staff at local tavernas really tried to get you to come into their restaurants which we found a bit unusual especially as you can tell a lot of restaurants have had to close around the area due to the recession. But for us that would be all the more reason to encourage people to eat at a restaurant... If you want a friendly and lively atmosphere when eating out we would recommend asking the staff at the apartments to book a table at Spyros, that was by far the best service we received of all the restaurants we ate at.

Quite a few comments on trip advisor complain about aircraft noise, we personally thought it was not really an issue, the planes were not that loud, they were only flights coming in to land but they were not flying that low over Gouves. On most days there were not that many flights, on the busiest days there were perhaps 3 planes an hour during the afternoon, and there were few flights coming in to land overnight. I have stayed in places where aircraft noise is a lot louder. Also complaints about the crickets at night, really we did not find them a problem, they were no noisier than the fridge in our apartment. Theres always ear plugs if you are a light sleeper...

Room Tip: We were in apartment 202, it had a great view from the balcony and there was plenty of space in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayles42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Ourania apts exceeded our expectations. We love apartments which are typically Greek and away from noisey bars and hotels. Kostas and his staff deserve the Thomson Gold Award that they have on show. The room was always clean and linen changed every couple of days.
Within minutes we could walk to loads of tavernas all of which served great food and to lively or quiet beaches.
We hope that they continue to be survive against the un Greek fully inclusive big hotels which are killing resorts and local tavernas all over Greece and the Greek Islands. They deserve to.
See you again.

Room Tip: Room 218. Quiet, private and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

the apartments are typical Greek self catering but they were very clean and a lovely setting with lots of olive and hibiscus trees. the apartments are laid out and look a little like a Greek village.

the pool although not huge never really got too busy. the bar staff were very friendly.

its perfectly located to explore the island and only a short transfer from Iraklion airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maewest1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrived from the UK quite late in the evening. We were efficiently shown to our 2 bed apartment. Although basic it was spotless, very roomy and airy.

Without unpacking thought we would have some refreshment in the bar....local house white wine not that good. A short walk down a rough path led to one of the beaches and a small number of eating places.
Dined at a different restaurant each evening mainly because food at Ourania finished at 4 pm every day. Snacks we did have were excellent and very good value.

I agree with other reviews the crickets/beetles were very annoying, the noise was horrendous when sitting near the pool.

Found the beaches nearby crowded even though our stay was at the end of the season. Too many sunbeds and umbrellas crammed in for the size of the beaches!!

All the staff at the Ourania worked very hard making sure everyone enjoyed their stay.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend these apartments to anyone looking for a quiet peaceful holiday.

Used the bus services to visit Rethimnon, Heraklion, Ag Nikolaos, Elouda and the boat to Spinalonga.
Would not return to Gouves as found there was not enough going on in the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room as (we were able to open the French doors leading off the bedrooms onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Distin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

These apartments are first class, all the reviews you read are true. Nice and clean, pool area with lots of sunbeds and only 10 mins slow stroll to supermarkets , cafes and restaurants. The only drawback is aircraft noise being on the flight path to the airport. If your a plane spotter it's great. If you can get over the noise it's great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidthewelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had reviewed these apartments too much and was getting a little worried when I saw a few iffy reports!! I needn't have worried. Although we did arrive late at night and got dropped off the wrong turning, we soon found our way. (The coach cannot get down the lane - so that is why, Tip - find the wooden bus stop and go down that lane). I would book a taxi as the airport is only about 20 minutes away. I went with my 2 children, who are quite seasoned travellers, having stayed in Kefalonia 4 times in the past, it was time for a change.
The chaps who run the hotel are really friendly and we soon settled in and became lazy, not really venturing out much.
The Restaurants are found by going out of the front of the hotel and turning left or going out of the back of the hotel and turning right. The first night we went the wrong way and wondered what sort of place we had landed at. We tried a different one every night. Mylos, The Island, Ilios and the best place George's Tavern. George who shares his name with my son, made such a fuss of us and gave my children a hat each on the last night. Also, a great night, was had at "Spiros". Ask Kostos or Bob to ring for Maria to pick you up. It's literally only 5 mins away. It was a tiny restaurant, but Spiros made us very welcome and the food was delicious.

The Apartments themselves, which are set up like a little village, are basic, but better than any we've stayed at in Kefalonia. We emailed and requested a top floor one, and had the windows open all the time so avoided the cost of air conditioning. (This is about £150 for 2 units for 2 weeks). You do need to pay for the safe in your room also. I can't understand why people moan about petty things like the towels!! If you want big fluffy ones, stay at a 5 * hotel or take your own. As long as I have a bed, a shower, albeit without a curtain, a bathroom etc, I'm happy. The cleaners were in quite often to provide fresh towels and to change the bed linen. I never cook on holiday, but it's hand to have a fridge, a toaster, and basic crockery and knives and forks. The bar provided cooked and continental breakfasts and snacks until 4pm.
There are a few cats that seem to live at the apartments, my children adored them. They are quite tame.
We had a brilliant holiday and I never felt odd being a Mum on my own. The children made lots of friends, usually breaking the ice with a game of pool. The bar stayed open for after dinner drinks and had a singer on Saturday nights. It would have been nice to have had a quiz night maybe? As it was really safe, I quite often went to bed before the children and they stayed happily playing pool until late.
The planes, - you do hear them, but you got used to it, I found the crickets/beetles more annoying to be honest!!
I didn't feel we missed out on anything by going independently as we always find the Thomson trips really expensive. You can do them yourselves, just ask the staff for advise.
Anyway, we hope to go back next year, should funds permit!!! Everything was fine and I wished I hadn't worried. Lots of families go year after year.............

Room Tip: Room 208 - a high room, double aspect so that you can open your windows at night!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dejunkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.3 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marie Kelly
Villa Marie Kelly
#4 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ourania Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ourania Apartments & Hotel

Property: Ourania Apartments & Hotel
Address: Epidavrou | Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ourania Apartments & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a lot to be said for a small, peaceful hotel. If you’re looking to really chill out, you won’t get much peace at a bustling mega hotel. So that’s where the Ourania Apartments come in.You won’t find a huge resort packed with guests, but that’s its charm. What you do get is pin-drop peace and quiet, along with a bit of good old fashioned Greek hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ourania Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ourania Apartments & Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing