We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely apartment...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ourania Apartments & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently returned from a great week staying at the Ourania apartments in Gouves. The one bedroom apartment was very clean, the bed linen was exceptionally well laundered and the towels were lovely and fluffy. The apartment was well equipped and the bathroom was great - not like some we have experienced in Greece. The pool and bar area were very well appointed and the staff were excellent - nothing too much trouble. Mylos restaurant, a very short walk away, was a great find. We took the local bus to Aghios Nikolaos - very easy to find your way around.
Well done to Kostas and his team - we would certainly recommend this to our friends and family. Thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stilton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    78
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
95
148
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a little gem of a place! We have holidayed on most of the Greek Islands and these apartments are by far the best, well equiped, spotless clean and the bathroom was not l the typical bathroom you normally get in Greece, it had a proper shower and no funny smells! We had a two bedroom and it was huge! We paid extra for the air con (80 euros for 2 bedrooms) money well spent! Lovely pool area, plenty of sun beds, no silly reserving. Bar area was lovely, good choice of snacks availabe, very reasonably priced. Large beer 2.50 euro. Kostas and his staff were amazing, nothing was any trouble. Lovely tavernas, 5 minute walk away, our favourite was Mylos and The Island, both had Greek nights which were great. Beaches were lovely, very clean. Very easy to access the other towns by the the local bus services which was cheap and very reliable. We took the bus to Hersonissis which is about 10 minutes away. Overall had a fantastic week and would love to return to these excellent apartments, we fell in love Crete!

Room Tip: We were one floor up and it gave us fab views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

So said my hard to impress twin 15 year old sons. They liked to hang out by the pool and run up my cafe bill, while the rest of the family headed for the the hills (or the beach, or the town, or the history, or any other of the easily accessible benefits of a Cretan holiday). This was the friendliest place I have ever stayed (and the cats were a big plus for us). I recommend it unreservedly for anyone after a relaxing holiday in a convenient location on a fascinating island. The facilities are excellent, tthe standards of cleanliness are impressive, and milk shakes are excellent.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedfordSputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our fourth trip to Crete but first time in Kato Gouves/Ourania and I would say how pleased we have been with our holiday. A great welcome from staff and the one bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean, reasonably equipped and spacious. Air con is in the bedroom and is an extra (around £37.00 for the week) however it does not circulate in the lounge/kitchen area and this could be an issue for children if they are sleeping in the lounge as it does get very hot. The pool area is clean but for some reason many of the other guests (mainly English) did not seem to feel the need to use the well placed showers before going into the pool, a bit of a put off!
Our holiday company charges £50.00 for transfers but we picked up a hire car from the airport and it is a straight forward 15 minute drive to Ourania (we emailed the Ourania prior to leaving the UK and Kostas very kindly sent very good directions) so it is worth considering putting the £50.00 towards the car hire cost £170.00 including a no excess insurance if you shop around. Excellent free wifi in the bar area and a very good selection of books in the library
There are some good/excellent restaurants close by, in particular Milos, well worth a visit if you enjoy authentic Greek food and they also do a great home made pizza. The bars on the seafront are good and the sunsets from them are amazing. Large beer normally 2.50 euro to 3.50 euro. Worth exploring the rest of Kato Gouves as there are some nice shops approx 1000m from the Ourania.

Room Tip: Just ask if the room you are allocated does not suit, Kostas will do his best to accommodate your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madgescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I've visited Greece almost a dozen times and the Ourania apartments have to be some of the best accommodation we have ever stayed in.

First and foremost it was very clean and the bathroom did not have that funny smell you so often find in Greece. The apartments (we had a studio and a one bed) were very clean and well equipped for our needs, as was the complex itself. There were certainly no complaints on this front.

The staff were also both extremely friendly and professional. We initially booked two one bedroom apartments but we had to swap one for the studio because they were overbooked. The man who greeted us (I assume the manager) apologised immediately and offered us free air con for both apartments for the week and the safe deposit keys for free, which we were more than happy to take. The snack bar at the pool was lovely and again the woman behind the bar could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Overall, I was extremely impressed by the Ourania, from the second we checked in to the hotel to when we checked out and picked up our very thoughtful free gift. Could not recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_M_Clark25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our second trip to Ourania and just as good this time as before. Nice clean apartments with a good pool and plenty of sun loungers. The apartments have a really good relaxed feel and the staff are always friendly and helpful. We'll certainly be going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Ourania was an ideal choice to have quite, clean and quality time during our 7-day stay in Crete! Rooms are really really clean, food was perfect and bar had everything we needed while all staff were friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeGreece35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouves
0.3 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 38 in Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 38 in Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marie Kelly
Villa Marie Kelly
#4 of 38 in Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ourania Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ourania Apartments & Hotel

Property: Ourania Apartments & Hotel
Address: Epidavrou | Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ourania Apartments & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a lot to be said for a small, peaceful hotel. If you’re looking to really chill out, you won’t get much peace at a bustling mega hotel. So that’s where the Ourania Apartments come in.You won’t find a huge resort packed with guests, but that’s its charm. What you do get is pin-drop peace and quiet, along with a bit of good old fashioned Greek hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ourania Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ourania Apartments & Hotel Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing