We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday - would return!”
Review of Despo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Despo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Kato Gouves
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday - would return!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Me and my partner returned from our week away at Despo Hotel on the 1st July 2014. Before we went away we read the reviews, after booking, and was worried about what we might of been staying at! When we got to the hotel, we were told where to go by a man who works the night shifts (forgotten his name!). He didn't really say much and asked us to fill in a form and gave us our key for our room. He didn't show us where to go, didn't offer any help and was blunt. This was probably the only downfall of the holiday and the only member of staff which wasn't lovely so don't let the bad reviews put you off!!

Our room was small we had room 302, with a balcony which faced over the swimming pool, but you don't tend to spend much time in your hotel room when you are on holiday anyway. We had a safe for the week which was 3 Euros per night. We got told that air con was 7 Euros per night. Breakfast had a variety of foods, which are all Greek so don't visit this hotel if you want British foods, from toast/bread, fruits and the most amazing cake. Dinner was always great at the hotel and the chef was always lovely, very chatty and wasn't tight with the portions of food he gave you. The man who works in the restaurant was also a lovely man, he always remembered everyone's drinks and chances were as soon as he saw you walk in the restaurant he would have made your drinks and have them on the table waiting for you. I got very burnt on the first day and all the Greek people were very helpful, the man in the restaurant gave me some Greek yogurt to help me heal.

The pool was always clean and there are quite a few sun loungers however we found that if you want one you must get up early and put your towel down. The man behind the bar called George was lovely and easy to get along with, made jokes with all the guests. The gardens of the Despo Hotel are well kept. If you choose to stay in Greece I recommend a plug in the wall insect repellent as otherwise you will get burnt.

Some of the other holiday tourists in Greece and at Despo Hotel was some what rude, no fault to the hotel. The roads are crazy - especially the mopeds - so be careful if you choose to go to Greece!

Our holiday rep (Olympic holidays) was absolutely lovely, very friendly women and always helpful. If you are planning on booking any trips then the Nemo glass bottom boat trip is excellent, you get to jump off the boat and swim to a cave so its great if you like swimming. We also went on the aqua plus water park trip which is fab, especially if you have children! The last trip we went on was the Chrissi island trip, although this island is beautiful and very much like a Caribbean island, there is nothing to do there so unless you want to sunbathe for four hours, I wouldn't recommend it. We also went to the local aquarium which is a half an hour walk or you can get a bus there which isn't much money and its not expensive admission. It is very good if you have children.

The hotel is around a 10 minute walk from the beach, you have to walk across a quite busy road to get to it (dual carriageway). Once you are down by the beach there are many lovely cafe's and lots of supermarkets which sell everything you could think of. We came across two lovely resturants along this road; Limanki and The island.

All in all, The Despo Hotel is a great 3* Hotel to stay in, you have to expect what you are paying. I would definitely return as a cheap and cheerful holiday again! Don't believe the bad reviews.

Room Tip: We had the rooms facing the pool and road and we had a little bit of noise however it was sleep thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    196
    119
    65
    44
See reviews for
133
290
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have just returned after a 2 week holiday in despo with my fiancé. Lots of positives, the food was delicious, breakfast consisted of a continetal style and lunch and dinner had a good section of hot and old food, the feta cheese and salad was very tastey and always fresh.
The staff were very friendly and made time for you. The guy in the restaurant was amazing, he memorised all the customers drinks so as soon as you walk in the restaurant he gets your drink and it awaits on the table for you. Maria on reception is a great character and always making us smile.
The bar is open 11am until 10.30pm, after this the bar was still open but the all inclusive stopped and you had t buy drinks. The all inclusive drinks consisted of beer, red white and rose wine, raki and ouzo, coffee and a wide selection of soft drinks. The cocktails very very nice.
The rooms are ok, we stayed in the main building. The room was small and basic but acceptable. We move rooms twice as the first time we were put in a room with twin beds when booked a double and it was tiny, anyway the next day we moved room with no questions asked to a nice family room, we decided in the second week when the temperature begin to rise that we wanted air conditioning (7euros a day) upon paying for this the air con in our room didn't work hence the final move. Very apologetic.
Plenty of sun beds around the pool and the pool was always clean and tidy. Plenty of tables and chairs in the shade around the pool an next to the bar if required.
A short walk to the local supermarket which sold everything you could want. A 15 mins walk to the beach which was lovely with lots of beautiful shops, cafes and bars.
A mixture of aged people and families staying at the resort, lots of polish and German, some friendly some not (no fault of the hotel).
Beautiful flowers around the hotel and very well kept. A small and perfect quiet hotel for us.

We would definitely return here again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Going to start this off by saying you get what you pay for, therefore arriving here we weren't expecting anything special. Also I am writing this waiting to leave.

Arrived late at night, got told we could purchase drinks from the bar as the AI finishes at 22.30 but we didn't bother. Check in was easy enough. Purchased air con which was 7€ per day.

Our room was room 502, we didn't see any of the other rooms as we paid for a superior room which I'd recommend as ours was pretty big with a double and a single bed, bath/shower and a balcony with excellent views.

First morning we went down for breakfast which consists of fruit juice, coffee, ham, cheese fruits and cereals. Oh and bread for toast. I only had toast but the rest looked alright. The coffee was good though.

Lunch times you get given an assigned table which you end up sitting at for all meals which was great. We ended up sittting next to a lovely older English couple. The food at lunch and dinner was always great and as we're not fussy we always found something we liked. Lots and lots of salad to choose from too. Be warned though you are in Greece, expect Greek food. There was burgers a couple of times but Greek burgers. The waiter was brilliant and he always remembered what you had to drink and 9 times out of 10 it was on your table before you had Sat down with your food. Mike the chef was great and you can tell he takes a lot of pride in what he serves.

The staff on reception where really helpful and the one day I was pretty ill they where very helpful and did all they could to make sure I was comfortable and offered to get a doctor if I needed one etc.
Maria is absolutely off her rocker but she's such a lovely lady.

The hotel grounds where very clean especially the pool which was good to see. We always managed to get a Sun lounger too.

All in all the holiday was brilliant and we met some great people (hi Lisa and Stuart). Don't let the bad reviews put you off. If you're not fussy you'll love it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank chrisdm2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

very sad to leave, had an amazing 2 weeks, staff were brilliant, couldnt do enough to make your holiday special, Maria on reception was always there to help with a smile, George the barman what a Character.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woolleyjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned from a week here . Lots of positive and some not so positive. Food is delicious not loads of choice but fresh and tasty and very Greek - which is great . Pool lovely and clean , plenty of beds , George the bar man is a real character and all the staff are friendly and so helpful.The Rainbow bar just across the road is great too.

Not so positive , our room was very small , the bathroom was not really very nice and could have been cleaned more and towels should have been changed more too , The hotel is full of Russians - not the Hotel's fault of course - but they are very rude and arrogant and very noisy at night and woke us up a few times in the early hrs- though I know this can happen wherever you go .

I would not recommend taking children as its so quiet .

Would I go back ? Yes for the food and the staff , but otherwise no.

Room Tip: Do not take the basement/dungeon rooms they are terrible and if you can get an upgrade to a superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helsbelsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful week long break at hotel Despo, I travelled there with my partner, I was very nervous about going there as it has some bad reviews, Well dont believe what you read, The hotel was spotlessley clean throughout, The staff were very friendly George on the bar was so funny and spoke to all of us guests making jokes and entertaining us, Maria on reception was lovely and always helped if there was any problems,
The pool was one of the best ive ever been to, its in direct sunlight all day so its very warm,The seating area around the pool was very clean,
The gardens were very pretty with lots of flowers,
The food was basic but tasted fine, lots of beautiful salads and always feta cheese, Breakfast is continental with breads toast, cheese ham jams ,salad, usually hot scrambled eggs as well,
The all inclusive drinks only included local brandy ouzo racki beers and wines, also after 1030 you have to pay for your drinks, Lots of soft drinks availiable, ice cream to die for between 3pm and 6pm.
The rooms are basic but clean towels and linen changed twice a week,There are some dungeon rooms in basement which we were told about they were not nice,Our room 305 was lovely it was on the first floor ,
We hired a safe which was 3 euros a day and the aircon was 7 euros a day when the tempreture reached 37c you need it,
The only problem i would say is the sunbeds get filled quick so u need to be up early.
You have a busy road to cross outside the hotel to reach the beach which is a 15 min walk away, The beach is lovely and
the sea idylic .
I f you fancy a nice relaxing meal away from hotel Rainbow bar directly across the road is highly recommended
We would have no problem returning to this hotel we had a lovely week relaxing around the pool,
If you expect British food dont come here, rember this is Greece and its Greek food,

Room Tip: On the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dianewhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I went to Hotel Despo with a friend for a girly holiday last October. We had just missed lunch when we arrived off the plane and without even having to ask the staff went to get us some food out. Our room was small and basic (you get what you pay for), but we didn't need anything fancy. It was cleaned regularly and had all that we needed for our week away.

The inclusive food was mixed - some days it was delicious, others we were less sure, but there were gorgeous cheap little bistros round the corner for those days(!) The area was fairly nondescript to be honest, with some nice beaches a little walk away and close to many areas to visit and explore by car. For October the weather was lovely and we were on the beach every day. For what we paid there are absolutely no complaints there!!!

The only thing I can say to be aware of is the noise - there is really NO sound proofing in the hotel so if you stay up past 12am you'll be woken when the first child emerges at 6am and squeals down the hall (which we found difficult), and if you want an early night and early start you'll be woken when people are leaving the bar late (which I know others have complained about on TripAdvisor).

As for the staff - they ABSOUTELY made our holiday. Whoever complained about George is clearly ridiculous. Treat him properly and he'll treat you properly. It's the Greek way. He looked after us for our entire holiday - knowing what we would order when he saw us approaching (including the daily ice cream), recommending DELICIOUS alternatives when we fancied a change (such as lager with pomegranate juice...who'd have thought?!) , telling us numerous stories and making sure that we were happy at all times. The staff knew every language (that we saw anyway) which for such a little place was really impressive, and we even got most of them (and several fellow-holiday makers) playing a mass game of Uno one night. Fab.

...so if you want a super cheap holiday with lots of smiles then this is your place...if you're picky and demand high quality and tranquility, then I'd recommend it less.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rozana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.2 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#17 of 37 in Kato Gouves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
17.6 mi away
Panorama Village & Hotel
Panorama Village & Hotel
#13 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
8.3 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#42 of 90 in Malia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 mi away
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
1.0 mi away
Kalia Beach Hotel
Kalia Beach Hotel
#25 of 37 in Kato Gouves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Klio Apart Hotel
Klio Apart Hotel
#19 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Despo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despo Hotel

Property: Despo Hotel
Address: Gouves Pediados, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Despo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Despo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Despo Hotel Gouves
Despo Hotel Crete
Hotel Despo
Despo Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing