We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean place”
Review of Despo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Despo
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just got back. The hotel is fine-reception area lovely and pool clean and big enough to cater for guests. Dining area is delightful. Bedrooms are very small and basic. Not much storage space. Bathroom the same but toilets flush well and no issue with shower pressure. It us mire of a wet room. You get what you pay for. Air con payable there. The hotel is over a busy road but no real issues with noise just have to be careful when crossing. Bit out of the way if you want nightlife as no entertainment in hotel. Suited us! My older teenage kids were on wifi in the evening catching up! Lol. Short walk to supermarket and beach. Food was great for us. 6 or 7 hot choices that are served and help yourself to salad bread etc. Very tasty I felt and veggie option too. If you are fussy and expect caviar then guess you could feel it was inadequate. Soups are brill! Chief Mick was ace! George at the bar was great too! Drinks on the all inclusive were all soft drinks raki oozo beer and wine. Pay for all others..again this did not affect us! Ice cream from 3.00-lovely! Staff are so friendly. Many folks asked for room change into newer block behind the main building. We were in old block but didnt mind. The so called dungeon basement rooms did look a bit dark but nice space outside. I would have been ok in them...but then I don't spend hours in my room. I went to Crete for the sun and trips! We had a lovely time as 3 adults with 3 teenage children. You get to know people round the pool so it felt friendly. Be disappointed if you want a hotel that is in the thick of it with beach across the road. If you want a quiet friendly base with lovely pool and tasty food but small rooms this is fine. The waiter realised we liked butter with our bread for evening meal and put plate on table ready for us every day! Breakfast is continental with boiled eggs or scrambled most days. Bacon and egg twice in two weeks. Again us suited us. Good value I feel. Packed lunches and early breakfast done if asked when on trips. Close to airport so quick transfer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay68680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 607 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just came back from a lovely holiday at the Despo Hotel. We were lucky enough not to get a dungeon room. The room we had was clean and sufficient, it had a fridge and overlooked the fields/mountain so lovely scenery. We did notice that if you had the shower on and used the sink it flooded the bathroom so beware. The food was lovely but minimal in that there was only 3-4 options for dinner and with a picky eater this was very limited. The chef was lovely and even offered to cook my husband something different if there was nothing he liked although we never did this. Breakfast was only toast or cereal, juice or tea and coffee but the tea was horrible. The pool is lovely but we only managed to get a sunbed twice in a week, unless you were willing to get up at 7 to be a towel out. Apparently the hotel's policy is to remove towels left on sunbeds but we never saw this happen once, It also very crowded. The staff at the Despo were lovely especially the reception staff/Maria. The major let down for us was the lack of drinks included in the all inclusive. It is literally brandy, ouzo, raki, beer and wine which always seems to be warm. The soft drinks are rubbish and they don't even have any diet coke!! The bar doesn't open until 11am and the AI finishes at 10.30pm. The free wifi is also very intermittent. For the money we paid we had a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be placed not in the dungeon room. We had room 505 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My partner, myself and our 7 year old were booked in to the Despo for a 2 week holiday. On arrival at around 10-30pm we made our way to reception and noticed that everyone was sitting outside around the pool/ bar area in the dark. We were given our keys to our room and immediately told that the all inclusive was finished for the day and if we needed anything we would have to pay. Fair enough, we knew this so it didn't come as a surprise. On leaving reception we made our way to our room. Again in the dark. To be fair our room appeared basic but adequate for our needs. After dumping our stuff, we ventured back to the bar for a drink before bed and sat in the dark with the other holiday makers. In the morning we ventured across to the dining room ready for breakfast. We had read that the food was basic. This was true, very true!!! Anyway, we made do with toast and a coffee ( the tea was just indescribable) and our little one had a glas of water. We looked forward to lunch. Oh joy! Lunch was some sort of pork stew with green beans and homemade crisps( these were said to be chips). This was served to us by the very grubby looking chef. Our little one settled for fish fingers which turned out to taste so vile that the numerous cats even turned their noses up at them. However thankfully there was salad and bread so we had that instead and a very small piece of cake. I'm afraid to say that dinner was very much the same so we were not only disappointed but hungry too, as again we ended up with salad. I'm sorry to say that every day turned out to be the same scenario with the food. We had pork served up 7 times in 4 days! That's a lot of pork! I was of the understanding that lamb was a favourite of the Greek nation but I must have been mistaken.
The pool area was very crowded and not enough beds to cater for all the sun seakers and their children. Space was also very limited around the pool and on estimate I would say there was about a foot between the beds and pool edge for people to get past to the bar. This neary ended up in disaster on a few occasions when excited kids ran into adults carrying drinks. We ventured out to the beach a couple of times but the walk in to town is also much longer than stated and you take your life into your hands crossing the road.
Staff were rude and got very angry if they ran out of glasses or if people did not return them to the bar quick enough. My partner mentioned to George the barman that his temper was upsetting people and he responded by shouting at her that he worked hard from 4pm till 2am and didn't have time to collect glasses and we were lazy. I would like to respond by saying we all work hard and save all year to be able to come on holiday to places were we should receive a little more respect and curtesy.
After 5 days we could not bare this any longer and booked a flight home. Not that we were offered this but we figured that the reviews on the sister hotel were just as bad and we were not prepared to risk jumping from frying pan to fire. Needless to say, we were and still are very disappointed by our holiday not to mention being out of pocket for our flight home. People talk of a holiday to remember. Well, in this case we got one but not in the way that we should be remembering it. It was more like a nightmare experience and I'm sure we will never forget it.
Please think very carefully when considering this hotel and spending your hard earned cash on staying at this terrible place. One good thing, it did wonders for our waist line but there again, we would have booked in at a boot camp if this was the aim.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Earyflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

just got back from a nice 10 day break in crete the hotel despo ... one off the first things i would say is when you book this place make sure u book a superior room have it on the paperwork and insist on it !! The poor girls on reception have there work cut out moving everyone day in day out!! its the same story as all the reviews about this place .... however we stayed in our room as all we need is a shower and a bed .. the things i requested were sorted that day .. more pillows and coat hangers and fridge .... thing the girls were just pleased they didnt have to move us lol!!!


the food

its not your normal buffet style all inclusive .... you get a choice off 3 or 4 dishes and the chef dishes it up u can have as much as you like and believe me its all good we all ate really well !!!

the pool

the pool is nice the crickets are a bloody pain and very noisy....

the beach

what a great beach .... it takes about 15 mins to walk too a few bars and restaurants on the way ... the road to cross is very busy but you just need to be careful ...and i mean careful ... the waves at the beach are huge great fun and the lifeguard is on the ball ... with his whistle when its to rough

george behind the bar is a friendly bloke even showed my 12 year old how to pour a pint !!

all in all we had a nice time but i would not choose to go there again ....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelybarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arrived just before midnight and the night porters first words to us was you can not have a drink all inclusive finished at ten thirty. All we wanted was our bed so i thought his attitude was very rude we had read that the lower rooms were regarded as the dungeons so my travel agent had e mailed to request a different room. This we did get room 202 but their was no towels i went to request some and the porter suggested i asked in reception next morning i refused as we wanted a wash after a long day traveling. He was not happy but i stood my ground and he finally brought us some grubby grey ones. I was tired and upset and told my husband not to unpack any thing.Next day i asked at reception about upgrading Marie the receptionist said it was not possible for two days then it would cost us 90 euros. We decided as we were here for ten days we would make the best of the room we had if they sent the handy man in to repair the wall plug which was hanging off the wall. This they did but it was off the wall again next day We paid 20 euros for a safe 70 euros for air con i asked about the fridge as advertised Maria said she could try find one for us but it would cost extra so i said dont bother i found out later in the week that other people staying in room 203 and 206 had fridges but no charge. I honestly think that they put you in bad rooms to try get you to upgrade Out of six couples we spoke to four had felt the need to upgrade Now on to all inclusive its a joke all the drinks are served in plastic glasses which come in different sizes and depending on how much the bar man likes you as to which size you get . The choice of drinks is poor no vodka no gin no malibue unless you pay extra You can have brandy or wine and the wine is not nice unless you added lemonade and the lager well even that takes some getting used to. Its no suprise that most folk head over to the Rainbow bar on a evening.The bar shuts at ten thirty on the dot you can purchase a drink after that time but by then the bar is empty. Food breakfast its scrambled egg or boiled egg and its cold you may get bacon but its fatty and cold we ended up with toast most days their is some cereals and yoghurt and a type of ham lunch is a meat dish and a fish dish one veg and chips like you have never seen think cut like crisps and deep fried if that does not appeal their is lots of salad and feta cheese. Dinner is one meat one fish one veg odd night you may get a soup and yes plenty of salad and to finish off water melon and a type of cake occasionaly they may give you some grapes. I dont consider myself a fussy eater but we ate out alot considering we were all inclusive I felt sorry for familys as the food is not suited for children and some people could not afford to eat out. Their is a mini bus to the beach but you are not made aware of this and if you do find out you have to book before half past eight the day before it leaves at 10am and brings you back at 1pm in time for lunch. We spend most days well all but one on the beach as unless you got up at 7am you had no chance of a sun bed and the hotel do not stop people from putting towels on and not using beds till afternoon. We did not like crossing the road but we had to if we wanted to go to the beach its not a bad walk but i should imagine its difficult with children. We did get our towels taken if we left them in the shower tray after two days but they never left us any clean ones i had to go every time to reception. The cleaning well its a case of empty your bins they dont wipe the sink round or run a mop round the bathroom. The drains smell awfull i complained and Maria put us some bleach down. We met a few nice people but its not a friendly hotel by any means and certainly not worth what you pay from talking to people in the resort if you want all inclusive you need to go five star in Greece I was just counting the days down to going home.And i know of one lady who paid 5oo pound to take her daughter and a friend back to England a week early as she could not stand staying their any longer So you have been warned save your money go to Spain where their all inclusive does work and you get entertainment.

Room Tip: Just dont waste your money getting a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parisyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Before going on holiday I read the reviews, and couldn't see a reason for the quite different reports of the Despo. It was either loved or hated. Having been on our holiday, I think I have found the reason! Children! Very simply this is not a hotel which, in every aspect, is suitable for children!!!

It is a 3* Greek Hotel, run by Greeks, with a chef who is proud in producing Greek food, and very tasty it is. Assuming of course you like Greek food, and whilst many adults do, it isn't really the first choice for the average British 8 year old! So if you are expectng the youg 'uns favourite cereal to be available, then sorry!

Then there are the hotel facilities for children. Very simply there aren't any! No entertainment and although there is a 'splash' pool, the main pool is far more suited to adults than children. There is a beach, but it is a fair distance away, and to get to it you have to cross a road which was rather like walking across the M25 during the rush hour!!!

People have commented about the rooms, and that as they are only too sleep in what was their problem? Well simply, when you have children an unbelieveable amount of time is spent in the room and many of the rooms at the Despo simply are not "child friendly"

Very possibly there are families who have stayed at the Despo and thought it brilliant, but, given the reviews, and also discussions with others staying at the hotel, I really do feel they are in the minority!

If you are a family with younger children looking for a holiday in Crete, then by all means consider the Despo, but I think you can do better elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have just arrived back from a week spent at this hotel and would like to clarify a few things. The hotel does not run a courtesy bus to the beach and if you are elderly or have mobility problems it could prove difficult as you have to cross a very busy main road and then it`s a half hour walk downhill to get to it but in any event it isn't that good mostly rock and rough sand.
If you have a cat allergy watch out as there are at least 6 or 7 little cats roaming the dining room.
We went all inclusive and I do not recommend this as it`s very poor as these things go the choices being very limited especially at breakfast.
The air conditioning will cost you seven euros a night if you opt for that.
The room was not cleaned but we did get fresh towels and a clean sheet was left on the bed for us to change it.
There is no entertainment whatsoever in the hotel and the resort itself is very poorly off for this.
On the plus side the bus service to Heraklion and the other resorts is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
1.0 mi away
Kalia Beach Hotel
Kalia Beach Hotel
#28 of 36 in Kato Gouves
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#12 of 36 in Kato Gouves
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Klio Apart Hotel
Klio Apart Hotel
#15 of 36 in Kato Gouves
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Marie Kelly
Villa Marie Kelly
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Despo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despo

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $39 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Despo 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Despo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Despo Hotel Gouves
Despo Hotel Crete
Hotel Despo
Despo Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing