We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good entertainment & drinks”
Review of Island Restaurant

Island Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Kato Gouves
Price range: $3 - $168
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Island restaurant keeps high standards on quality of food and drinks. We only use the best, fresh and local materials for our dishes. Biological Vegetables from our Garden and extra virgin Cretan olive oil. Island staff members take their role in our industry very seriously and try to provide the quality in service that our customers expect.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good entertainment & drinks”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Although we did not eat here lots of people where & it smelt very good, We had good quality cocktails that were reasonable and a enjoyable evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank michelle31c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis T, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Island Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Dear Michelle,

we would like to thank you for your review and to apologize for the delay of our answer!
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visits to our restaurant!
We all hope to see you again, in order for you to try some of our dishes too.
Best wishes from Crete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    208
    94
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good sea view for a late meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had dinner twice here and enjoyed both of them.
Nice location near sea, avoid children section if couples, gets noisy with playground.
Lacks the greek appeal of the Mylos or Spyros, but food good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetR65321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis T, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Island Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Dear Janet,

First of all sorry for the delay of our answer.
We really appreciate all your comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your visits to our restaurant!
We do not see our place as a greek tavern, but as a restaurant, so there is no comparison with the places you mentioned.
We would be glad to see you again!
Best wishes from Crete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“brillIiant”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our favorite place, the food was always fantastic, the setting was beautiful and the service was fantastic - cant fault it. we'd also recommend the Greek night

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despoinazach, Ιδιοκτήτης at Island Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Friends
Firstly many thanks for your review .
We really appreciate all your good comments for our restaurant .
You encourage us to be better every day and improve our services and meet our customers demand .
Island restaurant will keep high standards on quality of food and drinks.
We use only the best fresh and local materials for our dishes
Biological Vegetables from our Garden and extra Cretan virgin olive oil only .
Island staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try to provide the quality customer service that our customers expect.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Gouves.
Best wishes from Crete
Island Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty food, big portions, great view!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The view over the sea is amazing, the food is tasty and fresh and the waiting staff are hospitable and friendly. The cocktails are a little over priced for the area but you are paying for the great location.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClareRBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despoinazach, Ιδιοκτήτης at Island Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Friends
Firstly many thanks for your review .
We really appreciate all your good comments for our restaurant .
You encourage us to be better every day and improve our services and meet our customers demand .
Island restaurant will keep high standards on quality of food and drinks.
We use only the best fresh and local materials for our dishes
Biological Vegetables from our Garden and extra Cretan virgin olive oil only .
Island staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try to provide the quality customer service that our customers expect.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Gouves.
Best wishes from Crete
Island Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rob1n”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Service through the day was excelent and so to was the food. We went on a Greek night although the entertainment was good the services was not so hot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis T, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Island Restaurant, responded to this review, March 22, 2016
Dear Robin,

thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and dinner in our restaurant.
Don't forget that we have 70 tables (almost 300 people) to serve and at the nights with live music we are full, that is why you may have not been as pleased as you would like.
We would be glad to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Restaurant also viewed

 
Kato Gouves, Gouves
Kato Gouves, Gouves
 

Been to Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing