We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little over-rated but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Constantin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a little over-rated but nice”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

First impression was good. check in polite and quick, flight delayed so missed evening meal was offered a small cold selection and a soft drink.Booked superior rooms and they were in the new part overlooking the pool.
Rooms large and spacious with comfy beds and ample wardrobe space some had nice balconies. A strange feature was the locked fire door in each room!!.The rooms were cleaned to a satisfactory standard and done every couple of days to an ok standard. The cleaning staff were friendly and always said hello. My daughters room flooded when the shower or bath was used and did have a strange smell,They did come to repair this but it still happened and when the plug didnt work the maintenance staff just said dont use it and too it out!.
The restaurant was lovely and compliments to the chef. The choice was limited but cooked perfectly although we kept away from the burgers and chicken as they were european pink and we like food well done by choice.The staff were quite slow to tidy tables after you left and often you had to as for coffee cups or sugar.
The bar snacKs looked ok although we never tried them (pizza,chips,spaghetti) the ice cream was very nice. By one pool drink variety was limited but that suited me as i dont like to see drunks around the pool, so soft drinks and no spirits was good. The other bar did local spirits and a cocktail of the day ( you could only have this one as no other cocktail available and if you ased you got an abrupt no) The bar staff at both pools were friendly and gave good customer service but you felt it was just their job and there was that vavoom missing. There was only ever one bar staff serving so sometimes you queued but that wasnt a problem.
Entertainment was ok, quite amusing and typically european, the animation team tried hard but once again i feel they could have approached people more they did a stetch session but never ased you to join in just stood waiting for you to go to them and as it wasnt announced you never knew it was happening until you saw the team carrying a rolled up mat.
The reception staff were very informative and always eager to help.
The Pools were nice and not too busy and you had to reserve your beds, we did ask about this and were told it is always a problem and just to put a towel on to reserve a bed.The loungers were amazing really comfy and lots of people sat on them at night to use their laptops as there was free wi fi.
We went to spinalonga, 2 buses and a boat ride from plaka well worth a visit and half the price the reps are charging. The water park aquaplus is a good family day out.
I would possibly go again to this hotel but it may be a greek 5 star but i have stayed in alot better and would say this is probably just a 4 star ( this is a comparison of 5 star hotels i have stayed in on other greek islands and my own opinion)
To sum this review up. yes it is a lovely hotel, yes the food is good, location is a little out of the way but a 20 min walk and you get to shops and bars. A short bus ride takes you to other areas and it is cheap and easy to do. Pool was good for families as it wasnt too deep and the one near reception had a childrens pool. The staff didnt go out of their way to make you feel welcome but the few that did well done. We spoke to some staff who appeared to be homesick.

Room Tip: go for the superior rooms pool view and the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nansue12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    236
    119
    52
    42
See reviews for
309
332
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've stayed in St Constantine (2 adults and 3 children) for 2 weeks in July. The atmosphere was great, all the staff extremely helpful, My children loved whole animation team and the pools.
Food: delicious, fresh, great variety. Chilled white wine in the Dionysos bar was perfect for the afternoon and evening.
Rooms were spacious, the bathroom could be cleaned up better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula-no-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

positives - nice spacious room for the 4 of us with separate double bedroom. Good air con and 2 balconies. 2 pools, one with games and the other more peaceful. Comfy sunbeds. Restaurant good with fresh hot food and great salad bar. Very very helpful and friendly staff. Animation team worked hard to provide entertainment for all.
Negatives - No champagne brunch on Sunday as advertised ? Drain overflowed in bthroom after shower and disappointed that there were no shellfish (our favourite when we go to the med)

Thanks St Constantin for a fun week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonBx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed 12 days at this hotel with my wife and son (1 year).

Hotel is outstanding - i was in really spacious familly room with small kitchen, extra bed and baby bedstead. On my double bed was amazing bed mattress. Hotel is very clear.
Wifi internet is avaliable at public places and is free.

Food in restaurant was perfect with excellent selection.

It was really nice place for spend my family vacation. All was absolutely perfect and specially the staff was very helpful, friendly, courteous and knowledgeable with highly hospitality.
I had the great pleasure to experience quality services in this hotel. Starting with the restaurant service, hotel facilities and costumer care orientation everything was at the highest level. I would come back at this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here holiday it is a great place. I have been here many times and it always gets better. Great food with excellent choice. Great rooms very clean and spacious and had a lovely balcony. Lovely swimming pools with great entertainment. Can't wait to get back and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScouseToffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We've just had a lovely family holiday with our 4 and 6 year old. Spotless, child-friendly and relaxing. Great location for the beach-we only stayed a week, but wish we'd stayed 2. Would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from overall a great holiday, we are a family of 2 adults and 1 child, when you pull up outside the hotel it states 5 star but i would give it a 3+ in British terms, although we did book as a 4 star with Jet2 so was not expecting 5, we where greeted by very friendly reception staff and shown straight to our room, we had 305 which was right by the bottom pool and on 2 floors, the room was a little dated but all very clean, the main issue with the room at this end of the hotel is it can be very noisy on an evening as the entertainment is at this end and even when this has finished 4 nights out of the 10 they continued to play music until 1am which is not ideal when you have children. Food really nice and plenty of choice, pool area's all fine and plenty of sun bed's, my only comment on these would be the mattresses, these where never changed in the 10 nights we where there and I know a previous review stated this and the hotel advised these where changed and cleaned every few days but they definitely where not, I know you use towels on top but even so they should be changed, they could also do with more umbrellas at the bottom pool. There is only one bar tender so on an evening the queue got quite long and as soon as the time gets to 10.45pm they close the AI, ideally they need at least 2 serving. All the staff where very friendly and helpful and we had a good and relaxing holiday, the hotel only needs to improve a few small things to make this a good 4 star like have the kids drinks available for them to help themselves this then means they don't need to queue at the bar, have ice creams and snacks available at both bars, and maybe offer waiter drinks service at dinner to make it a bit more formal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top end of the hotel near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,835 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
382 reviews
4.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#74 of 171 in Hersonissos
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Constantin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Constantin Hotel

Property: St. Constantin Hotel
Address: Thermopillon Street, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#9 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Constantin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St.Constantin Hotel is set on the island of Crete in the peaceful area of Gouves Village,20 km from the airport and 25 km from Heraklion City Center.The atmosphere of St.Constantin Hotel will charm the visitor and the warm hospitality will embrace your every moment during your stay. St.Constantin Hotel consists of 134 rooms, which are divided in Double and Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Constantin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Constantin Village Hotel Gouves
St Constantin Village Heraklion
St. Constantin Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing