We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Holiday Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Constantin Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Holiday Hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I came in half term for a weeks break with my 2 kids and partner. Check in was swift and taken to our room with a smile. We arrived at 11pm and they kindly had a little snack table for new arrivals which was a nice touch.
The hotel was clean in most areas, however the poolside toilets were smelly.
Room was spacious and included a fridge. The safe was small and wouldn't take an iPad2. Small cost for the week. Beds were comfortable. Balcony family sized, ideal for drying the beach towels!! Aircon is free. Views were good - pool one side, and the outdoor dining on the other.
Food was acceptable, we didn't go hungry, though it got a bit samey after a few days. Bowls of spices / condiments were there to added a kick to the food as needed. The outdoor dining area was lovely with well maintained plants. A few cats wondered around - fine if you don't mind them.
The bar was poor apart from soft drinks. The beer was fine, but all other drinks inc the cocktails were weak and tasted of chemicals. The bar staff were always pleasant.
The amenities included a gym (not used as on holiday!), pool, table tennis, pool table. My son loved the table tennis, but for some reason fell foul of one of the reception girls. He wasn't allowed the ball as there had "been complaint about the noise". The table was 10 yds from the animation team speakers playing music all day..you couldn't hear a ping pong ball. The attitude changed when an adult went and asked what the problem was...unnecessary by them and my son was upset by it.
The animation team were fine, but I think they struggled as most weren't up for exercise and games in 30 deg heat! lol
The hotel is 5mins walk from the beach and the sea was lovely. Beds and parasol were 6E for a set of 2. The village had two shops and a few bars / restaurants. More were about 15-20mins walk along the promenade. The cocktails were 5E and fabulous, at least 4 units per glass!

Overall we enjoyed out time here barring that one silly episode from the reception girl.

Its about 20-30mins from Heraklion.

Room Tip: We had a family room with separate bedroom, hence privacy from the kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    243
    125
    54
    42
See reviews for
320
344
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Another nice holiday spent at St Constantin Hotel . I have have had more than twenty
visits over the last 13 years and enjoyed myself every time...The lovely family atmosphere,
friendly staff and good food continue to tempt me back again and again.....
Most people make a return visit to St Constantin, not surprising as it offers families,couples
singles such a nice welcome, the accommodation is very clean,the choice of food excellent
and the bar staff.........The best. if you have any problems during your stay the reception
and management are always so caring and helpful...I have stayed in many hotels in many
countries, rose petals on the pillows,scented soap,shower caps etc but no atmosphere.....
I love the place and the people there......Haste ye back...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year with our 2 daughters (13 and 15 at the time) and had a fantastic holiday. The complex, pool and apartment were all clean we had no problems at all.Enjoyed every minute. It is located 3 minutes from the beach and also 3 minutes from the nearest shop. The hotel food was lovely and they catered for all nationalities even chips for the kids. Would recommend this hotel as we will be booking for this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My partner Martin, my son Luke & I have just returned from St Constantin....and we loved it! The hotel is located very close to the beach, so if you need a sea breeze and a break from the 2 lovely pools during the day, it's available in less than 5mins. Our very spacious room (with 2 balconies) was over looking the pool and was very clean. The staff were delightful and could not do enough for you. Three buffets a day including breakfast ensured there was plenty of food to choose from. Food was available during the day from one pool and drinks available from the other...would have been nice to have had drinks by the food, but I understand that this is only due to the season and in high season it is :-)
Overall, we had a fabulous time and it was everything we wanted our holiday to be.
Special thanks to Giorgos, his elegant Mother, Rados, Maria (reception), Benny, Ivan/Gabrielle/Julia/Eleanor.

Thank you to everyone at St Constantin you've made our trip to Crete very special, especially with our little gift upon leaving....It's the simple things that make us happy, thank you - Karen xxx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kazmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

'Words can not describe how much we enjoyed our stay'

We arrived on the 24th May (13) we was greeted with smiles, not a forcefully smile, but a smile of 'welcome'

We checked into our room to find it with an excellent standard, it ticked all our boxes! Spacies and very, very clean.

The pools was very clean and worthy of a good swim.

The food was fab! With a great daily selection.

The entertainment was fab! Traditional Greek ngt, with entertainment staff on hand to create a fab atmosphere. Aqua polo and many more games. A totally hard working team!!!

The bar staff greeting you with total joy and knowing your drink after the 1st night. Again total hard work!!

I met the manager (George) he greeted me and my family with a warm hand shake, this made us feel very welcome and relaxed.

Rados, Maria, Benny and the entertainment staff! Thank you!!

Thank you St Constantin for giving us a totally faboulus Holiday!!

We shall return! :)

Martin carlin

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martincarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I returned from this hotel on the 9 th may 2013. We arrived about 3pm. Checked in ok, Staff at reception very good. The room allicated overlooking pool was first class. The main buffet restraunt had closed at 2.30pm. There was a pool snacks available with food in trays , these were stone cold. On the first night visit to the main buffet restraunt ,The chose of food was good, but it was cold.That evening We spoke to the staff in reception to say the food was very cool. The receptionist said they would speak to the manager of the restraunt. This reques fell on deaf ears. I cannot fault any staff at the hotel everyboby helpfull. But the cool food is a main issue. Eddie

Room Tip: Facing the pool near the new water fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edmund s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Manager at St. Constantin Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Mr. edmund s,

We would like to thank you for preferring our Hotel for your recent visit to Crete.

In addition, thank you very much for your positive words about our rooms, the staff of our Hotel and the variety of food we have in our Main Restaurant. It is all our Guest remarks that help us get better every day.

We are sorry though, that we did not fulfill all your expectations. The Quality of our Food, Drinks and Services, which we offer to our guests, is the most important asset to us. That is why, all of our Meat, Vegetables and the Olive Oil we use are fresh, organic and local. The chef and the myself personally, taste every day all of the foods from the Buffes of the restaurant and the snack bar,so that we have from the first hand, the best opinion about the temperature and the food quality which is being served.

I assure you though, that we will take all the necessary actions, so that we solve your matter straight away with more frequent checks. Please feel free though, to contact me by e-mailing the Hotel in case there is also something else.

Once again, please accept our apologies and thank you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to offer you a genuine 5 Star Greek Hospitality, here at the St. Constantin.

Yours Sincerely,

Georgios K. Pagonakis
Manager of St. Constantin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and our 2 friends stayed for a fortnight from 3 May 2013 on an all inclusive basis. The food was great with loads of variety, definitely something for everyone. The waiters were lovely, especially Manolis and Rados. they were so friendly and helped make our visit very enjoyable. The rooms were really nice, kept clean, and fresh linen & towels provided regularly. The entertainment team work very hard to provide fun and games for all to enjoy, and they take time to chat to the guests. In particular Ivan and Gabrielle were exceptionally nice and very hard working. The hotel is situated in a quiet area with easy access to a beach at the foot of the road. There's a 10 minute walk to the bus stop where you can get a bus to Malia, Hersonnisos or Heraklion at very reasonable cost - only 1.60 euros per adult into Hersonnisos. If you like to read I'd advise you to take plenty with you, as it's difficult to find English books or magazines anywhere in Gouves or even in nearby areas. I have suggested a bookcase in the hotel where guests can leave books they have read for the use of other guests and the receptionist told me a bookcase was on order for this, so that will be good. The only down side to our holiday in this hotel was the charge of 3 euros per day for the hotel safe. It worked out at 42 euros for a fortnight which we felt was very expensive. Neither ourselves or our friends used the safe but we felt uneasy about leaving anything in our room. If the safe was less expensive, more people would use it and guests would benefit from peace of mind during their stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.0 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,875 reviews
4.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#8 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Constantin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Constantin Hotel

Property: St. Constantin Hotel
Address: Thermopillon Street, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#9 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Constantin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St.Constantin Hotel is set on the island of Crete in the peaceful area of Gouves Village,20 km from the airport and 25 km from Heraklion City Center.The atmosphere of St.Constantin Hotel will charm the visitor and the warm hospitality will embrace your every moment during your stay. St.Constantin Hotel consists of 134 rooms, which are divided in Double and Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Constantin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Constantin Village Hotel Gouves
St Constantin Village Heraklion
St. Constantin Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing