We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Constantin Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Masera di Padova, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Holiday”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I went to Greece for the fisrt time and visited Crete for two weeks with my friends. We had already booked a car waiting for us at the airport. We stayed at St.Constantin which is about 15 to 20 minutes by car from heraklion airport. The hotel was very clean and it had spacious rooms with Sat TV and large areas. The front desk was very helpful and generally all the staff were very nice people. We really liked the place beacause it was very quite despite the fact that it is close to the beach and to the village. The food was very good with a lot of choices to make from the buffet. Our rooms were fabulus and very relaxing with great space. Because of the summer heat in crete we spent most of the time at the pools and the beach. My friends and I had a great time during our stay there.I do recommend St.Constantin and I would definitely like to go back in my next visit to Crete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    230
    115
    50
    42
See reviews for
291
319
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It was our second time in Greece, but our first in Crete in 2012. Me and my wife stayed at St. Constantin Hote for 2 weeks in September. It was a beautiful, really excellent place to stay. Very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We liked the fact that the room was large and very relaxing with comfy sofa, television, air condition, fridge and a large bedroom. The food was delicious and there was a great variety of dishes to choose from. I think the chef desrves a credit for this. The location is fantastic as it was about 100 meters away from the beach and about 15 minutes walking from Gouvs village which is pretty nice with lots of bars and restaurants. My first impression from Crete was amazing. We do recommend this place and we look forward to going back this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 447chrisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

will be back at the st constantin in may for the fourth time absolutely loveit there the staff are lovely and friendly chef yannis is lovely rooms always clean food great and staying for three weeks this time ken browne and toni smith

Room Tip: been in three different rooms and all have been fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent at this hotel 7 nights- the hotel comlexe was great, with very delicious food and friendly staff. Very important thing is to know, that the older part of the hotel is not 5 stars, but the newone looks really great. Our room was at the older part. We don't have any complains, just the rooms and especially the bath need renovation. We were given an appartment /2 adults with 2years old twins/- two rooms with a balcony. Nice comfortable beds, with two babycots. Really very clean! Close to the beach-not more than 10 minutes with the kids. Beautiful garden with 2 swimming pools amd 2 pool bars, nice kids playard. Peace and quiet place. We had great time there. Yes, I would reccommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rumyana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We haven't had such a wonderful holiday since 10 years. For this it was not only the hotel as a facility that contributed, but it was mainly thanks to the excellent staff - special thanks to Rado, and the service they provide. Not to mention the food, which was a variety of all kind of healthy and delicious food one can imagine. The chef Yanis is cooking the best fish and revane, we have ever tried. Those, who expect a luxury 5-star hotel will be disappointed, however people with positive thinking and attitude will find luxury, measured with more than 5 stars when it comes to atmosphere, calmness, simplicity and peace. Another great thing there are the flowers, green gardens and wonderful palm trees, all kept in perfect condition and arranged with a sense of harmony. To mention also that you are treated as guest of the hotel till departure time, no matter at what time it is, you are welcome to the restaurant and the bar. The only minor bad experience there was after the arrival of a group of noisy and bad-mannered people from Poland, who broke this peace for 3 days.
The sea is just 3 minutes walk from the hotel and if you like walking, there are better beaches with fine sand around 2 km. westbound.
I would recommend that hotel to people, who need a silent and relaxing holiday, not to those, seeking adventures or sightseeing.
Special thanks to Management, who succeeded to make such kind of atmosphere, where you feel special and attended all the time by every single member of the staff. Keep it like that please, we'll come again next year!
Yankov family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irena T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

CI agree with the reviews on here,the main point is that this not a 5 star hotel and this causes most of the problems, to me it is a very good 4 star hotel by greeks standard,With any problem i had i went straight to the Manager George who done his up most to make us happy. which made the holiday and would be willing to go back.We spent the last week of the season there and with NO entertainment really MADE our holiday and only six people around the pool and the choice of sunbeds what a luxury!!So if you like a smaller all inclusive hotel a bit out of the way with good staff and a cool pool ha ha.Our last day the hotel was closing but they still made us welcome, We had a late flight but still gave us a full evening meal it was a bit lonely in the restaurant being the only 2 guests but this how far George and his team are willing to go to make sure we enjoy the holiday to the very end. Thank You. Please get a toaster for our next stay please.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank briansandjulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

1 Weeks stay in mid October 2012...weather brilliant...hotel? Read on...

First the apartment - very spacious with air comditioniong that worked well with 3 units in the 3 rooms we had between the family with two balconies, and a fridge in the kitchenette which was very useful for chilling water and fruit. The beds were quite firm, in some cases hard and a few people complained of backache after a few days (though not in our party).

Cleanliness - apartment cleaned daily and new towels and sheets every two days.

Bathroom - let the overall apartment down a little, needs a refurbishment to bring it inline with the rest of the rooms, holes in walls not covered by fixtures and fittings should not be a feature of a 5 star hotel.

Food experience was mixed, whilst it was tasty of decent quality and there was always a selection, it was repetitive and hence limited over the weeks stay.

Drinks & bar - I am not sure about the high season, but we had a single bar which all guests had to use, I like a bit of choice and would prefer to be able to avoid the 'entertainment' if I so choose. The drinks were very limited, beer or local drinks of which the selection was fairly poor if you have a taste for what seem fairly common liqueurs - not even copies as you find in Turkey etc. The closing of the "All Inclusive" facility at 22:45 seemed odd - usually this is 11:30 or midnight - seemed a little restrictive to me.

Entertainment - the 'team' tried very hard but with a makeshift stage and limited material (and to be fair audience) it was fairly primitive and more suited to the young than the adults.

Staff - could not fault them, very helpful with special mention to the reception crew and the bar and restaraunt folk, fast and positive response to the couple of points we raised that needed attention.

Location - a bit remote from anything resembling a centre (about a miles walk, but access to beach is only 150 yards away.

Pools - a bit cold but then this was the seasons close for many hotels, the pools were very clean and the area kept tidy and rubish cleared away at regular intervals.

Childrens facilities - no water slides, though a childs pool and a small play area which had plastc houses and slides etc.

Overall - I think this is a nice hotel for those with slightly older children and who are inclined to remain fairly local and not looking for 'nightlife'. It tries hard to accomodate people but is perhaps a little let down by the standard of some of the rooms which need to be of a consistent high standard if they wish to estabish and maintain a reputation as a destination. The food and drinks need more variation to avoid an element of staleness creeping in over a stay. I would say this is a decent 4 star hotel that has aspirations, but with a lot of room for improvement if it wishes to make the transition to the 5 star elite.

Room Tip: Block with 911-930'ish was the best from reports
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ciscomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
17.8 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
43.6 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Constantin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Constantin Hotel

Property: St. Constantin Hotel
Address: Thermopillon Street, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#9 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Constantin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St.Constantin Hotel is set on the island of Crete in the peaceful area of Gouves Village,20 km from the airport and 25 km from Heraklion City Center.The atmosphere of St.Constantin Hotel will charm the visitor and the warm hospitality will embrace your every moment during your stay. St.Constantin Hotel consists of 134 rooms, which are divided in Double and Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Constantin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Constantin Village Hotel Gouves
St Constantin Village Heraklion
St. Constantin Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing