We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place,with Beautiful people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Constantin Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place,with Beautiful people!”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Arrived in beautiful Crete and in St.Constantine Village Hotel,the 1st of July with my wife and my two daughters.We were quite unsure of what we should expect from the hotel,coz we read many reviews,good and bad ones.
Thank God everything turned out to be really nice and beautiful.
The first day we were really tired from the journey and luckily it took us from the airport not more than 20 min.to the hotel.
It is the 2nd time we book All-Inclusive and i really dont regret it.You really save a lot of money.
Maria a very polite lady,who works in the reception of the hotel welcomed us and helped us out with everything we needed troughout our time there.
The hotel itself is a quite,relaxing place,with modern design combining the traditional colours of Crete and it is mostly for families and couples.
The restaurant was really beautiful,with big buffets for Lunch and Dinner.Randos is the head-waiter guy and made us feel very welcome the time we spent in the reastaurant.The food which was from international and local cuisine,was really tasty and for all tastes.It is not the same everyday,as i read in an older review and i ensure that coz 7 days we spent there,7 days was different.I really loved also the fruits which were really fresh,especially that watermelon,i could eat it all day.My wife really loved Musaka and she is gonna try and make it at home one day.
Breakfast was very nice too,but with less variety than lunch and dinner.
Our room was a standard family room but had everything inside we needed and was really spacious and clean.Free air-con is a big plus,sattelite english speaking channels,a small fridgerator,a nice kitchenette which we never used and a big balcony.
My two daughters most of the time were spending their time in the pools.Me and my wife,we were going to the beach quite often,which is only a couple of minutes away.
The big pool bar provided almost all the drinks we asked for and also a cocktail of the day.
The greek night was really amazing,but cant really say the same for the belly dancing show.The latin show and the magic show were quite good though.
Well i will finish by saying that i recommend this nice resort to everyone and especially families.I really dont regret that i didnt take notice the bad reviews.Most probably,we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scott9571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    248
    130
    54
    45
See reviews for
334
352
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I can only agree with the last 2 postings, I actually ate one of the raw chicken nuggets I thought it was fish. This hotel is not 5 star using the greek standard i would say based on the room we had and the pool area i would rate it a low 2star Based on the food, which was cold, repetitive and tasteless.Lots of dry pork or pork in a congealed "gravy" fish so overcooked it was hard The greek section was often grilled tomato with cheese sprinkled on top, the soup usually with scum on top was variation of grey.The daily selection of glow in the dark jellies - a wonder to behold both in their lurid colour and tasting of absolutley nothing The food at this hotel was minus stars. I saw "Chefs" using their hands to put raw chicken on the grill , turn the chicken using their hands until it became too hot and then used tongs, that and the raw chicken nuggets, which incidently staff didn't tell people about was the final straw for us. We made do with some same old salad at lunch and ate out every evening at the lovely Milos Taverna.The all inclusive policy was a joke We found the disco too loud so wanted to take a couple of drinks to sit out on our balcony-not allowed the waitress said i had knock back my drink before she would bring another one or she would have to take away the one I hadn't quite finished.Our room was ok but it had a little kitchen area which was of little use to us, the bedroom was small with just enough space either side of the bed ,no lamps just a glaring central light. The bathroom looked like it had a recent makeover, however you couldn't open the door fully as it banged on to the side of the toilet.!! This hotel is not really set up for toddlers there very steep steps or ramps the childrens pool is dangerously deep and families had to compete for the 3 high chairs.The owners of this hotel should stop advertising themselves as 5 star, sack the chef and rude restaurant manager and train the kitchen on safe basic food food prep. Oh! and put back on reception the guests comment book which disapeared after getting 5 negative comments in one day.This was an awful holiday . We are very experienced travellers so didn't go expecting UK 5 stars.What can i say that is positive about this hotel ? -for the most part the staff are a credit to the hotel, the hotel is kept very clean and tidy and thank goodness it is in close proximity to a very good taverna

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank maggiedanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Chose this hotel after trawling through Trip Advisors reviews looking for somewhere with good food as this was our first time all inclusive. What a dissapointment, how anyone can say the food is any better than 2 star beats me, pork ,pork pork and more pork, undercooked potatoes, raw chicken nuggets,undrinkable drinks, really not being unkind, just saying it as it is. We arrived and were shown an awful 3 star rated room which we werent prepared to use so paid 70 euro for an upgrade to a quite nice room. We then went down to the bar as we were quite thirsty after the journey and asked for a beer. Was dissapointed at been given a half pint but after a taste was pleased it was only a half, yellow andrews liversalts is what comes to mind. The rest of the drinks were very much the same. The majority of the clientel are Eastern European who seem to be in large groups and take the place over in the bar. Most of the staff were very nice and helpful but one skinny guy who seemed to be the restaraunt manager could be very blunt and discourteous and saw the hotel manager being very nasty to a young swiss couple who had been caught eating their lunch outside after they had filled their plates and could not get a table.Good points though, near to beach, hotel is nicely laid out and clean, plenty sunbeds, nice pools....BUT NOT 5 STAR

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

When we first arrived a family were complaining at receprion about their room only to offered an expensive upgrade. We were allocated a room that was dark, shoddy and in the bathroom there were cracked tiles, ugly grey mastik around a grubby bath and a bare lightbuld hanging from exposed electrical wiring. There was no plug for the bath. We also asked for another room but were only offered an upgrade at 70 Euros. The room and Hotel were clean but no 5 star standard.
Tea and coffee were undrinkable and the all inclusive drinks at the bar were of a poor standard. The food was also poor. The salad bar had no variety or taste and soup had a scum on top of it. The desserts were particularly un appetising and the chocolate sauce had a crust. Cheap ham was added to pizza, mushroom sauce, russian salad and scrambled eggs, which were also mixed with chips. One day the Children's section served up uncooked chicken nuggets which one of the diners brought to the attention of the Restaraunt Manager. He took that plate away without apology and did not inform any of the other diners who had made the same selection.
We ordered lunch boxes one day but they contained 2 apples, 2 oranges, bottled water and a carton of orange juice. There was also a plastic box containing a gerkin and a tomato!!!!
There is a snack bar which is an upright drinks fridge containing the same salad ingredients that were served morning, noon and evening. It was situated next to an outdoor swimming pool in full sunlight with a sandwich toaster on a table next to it.
There is only one bar open after 1745 which was noisy. If you wanted a quiet drink you would have to order drinks at the bar and take them up to your room.
Overall the hotel is clean and my meat eating boyfriend enjoyed the food more than i did as a vegetarian.
The staff were pleasant and friendly, particularly Maria at reception. She made numerous phone calls to assist us find out our pick up time.
This is not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

In general very nice and quite hotel, close to beach (rather narrow, only public - but loungers were available).
Cons:
Salt or not so clean tap water - their tea and coffee were awful.

All inclusive (till 10 pm) included:
Bar:
- local alcohols (beer, dry wine, ouzo, rakija)
- alcohol drinks (sex on the beach, blue lagoon etc.)
- snacks
- soft drinks (local brands)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafalmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Where can i begin? Well first impressions wasnt too bad. Looked clean and quite modern from the outside, when having a good look around it was very dated, rooms were very spacious but as quoted a 5 STAR we would rate it a 3 STAR so be aware. You dont have mould on the bathroom tiles at a 5 STAR hotel. The beds are very uncomfortable alot of guests were complaining.

All inclusive is quite poor, this lasted until 10 45pm and if you had a small amount left in your glass you were not aloud to purchase another drink.

Food was very bland sometimes cold and very repetitive, by 14 nights you were sick of the same meals. Loads of cats running round the restaurent as this was outside. We ate out quite a few times which made the holiday expensive as we had paid for All inclusive.

Entertainement was very poor, only every 2-3 nights, out the the two weeks only 1 good night which were the Greek dancers.

Grinding and Welding was being carried out at 11am over the pool bridge when people were in the pool and sunbathing (no health and safety what so ever). Electric tools were left when children were running about.

A stray dog that lived at the hotel had 5 pups while were there. 1 died and when we were sitting at the pool bar she trotted around us with a dead puppy in her mouth. My husband notified reception, it took 15 minutes before anybody came to remove it from 1 of the sunbeds where she had placed it. (Disgraceful). Every body was taking water and food to the dog as it was at the back wall of the bottom pool where she had had her pups. I checked her 1 day as we have had pups off our dog and was quite concerned about her. Another pup had died so i ended up disposing of it as none of the staff seemed to bother with her.

The one plus point about this holiday was the fantastic weather we had for 2 weeks.
Please be aware this is not a 5 STAR Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthnevison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

GOOD POINTS -
The staff were really helpful and friendly
When we went there was no fight for the sun beds in the morning
It was really close to the beach
It was very clean
The rooms were huge

BAD POINTS -
The food was awful we spent most of our spending money on eating out.
The beds we rock solid and the pillows were hard
You are on a flight path
It is mainly Russians at this hotel
Hardly any entertainment and no games to play in the day like water polo etc

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.0 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
410 reviews
4.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lavris Paradise Hotel
Lavris Paradise Hotel
#30 of 36 in Kato Gouves
92 reviews
7.3 mi away
Aktia Lounge Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Constantin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Constantin Hotel

Property: St. Constantin Hotel
Address: Thermopillon Street, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#9 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Constantin Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St.Constantin Hotel is set on the island of Crete in the peaceful area of Gouves Village,20 km from the airport and 25 km from Heraklion City Center.The atmosphere of St.Constantin Hotel will charm the visitor and the warm hospitality will embrace your every moment during your stay. St.Constantin Hotel consists of 134 rooms, which are divided in Double and Family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your St. Constantin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Constantin Village Hotel Gouves
St Constantin Village Heraklion
St. Constantin Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing