We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Constantin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Lavris Hotels & Spa(Kato Gouves)
$86
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Your Memories Hotel(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$66
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kaissa Beach Hotel(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pallatium Apartments(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$29
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sweet Memory Apartments(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hara Ilios Hotel(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$98
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$290
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Island Hotel(Kato Gouves)
$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveler rating
399
265
140
59
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
265
140
59
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantanimation teambar staffgreat holidaywater poloice creampool barmain barsaladevening entertainmentcold meatspools were cleandifferent nationalitiesnegative reviewsspecial thankswelcome drinkcleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 911 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We booked a last minute all inclusive deal and after reading such mixed reviews was not quite sure what to expect. We looked at self catering elsewhere but for the extra 13 euros each per day to stay at this hotel as all inclusive we thought this was a good deal.

Overall our stay was average - the hotel was OK, very clean with good staff. The pool area was nice but pool was cold as the weather was mixed but people were going in but they were braver than I ! There were plenty of sunbeds available but I would imagine if the hotel was full then there wouldn't be enough. There were pool towels available at a cost of 3euros a time.
The food was mixed with some meals better than others. There wasn't as much greek food as I would have liked and there were obviously dishes there to appeal all the Russians that were there (they kept themselves to themselves). We did get fed up with the luke warm food on offer in the evening and went to a local tavern a couple of nights which was wonderful.

It is a little tavern called O Munos and located around the back of the hotel - turn left out of the main gates and follow road around to left, go past rear/kitchen area of hotel and its just there. We had garlic pizza bread to start, main each (some of the mains come with veg, rice and little roasted potatoes) and half a litre of wine each, a beer and fizzy water and this all came in at around 30 euros. Lovely ambiance and great english speaking hosts.

Don't expect much from the surrounding area either, a walk into the local town took about 15 mins but wasn't worth it really. A few open shops and bars but the majority were closed up. Maybe the resort was buzzing 10 years ago but is severely neglected. We did go into town to watch football (note that only BBC News and CCN channels available in English speaking) and went to Anfield Bar where pint of local beer was 3euro but a pint of Magners was 5euros. Gouves is certainly not the image that you have in your head from Mama Mia so don't book this resort if that is what you're looking for.

We hired a car (getz) thro reception for a cost of 26 euro for just one day and we had a drive up to Chania about 2 and a half hours away which was a pretty place to visit. Also got buses to Hereklion and then another local bus to Knossos to see the ruins there which was easy and not as daunting as it sounds, English is spoken by everyone ! Got bus the other way to next village to have a look around.

I would say that if this is your main holiday then budget to go out to dinner each night and just use the hotel for breakfast and lunches and of course all your drinks. Talking of drinks, there was a good choice and cocktails available. I did find that the mixers abit rough and in the end was buying coke and taking it down to the bar to mix with bacardi which they were fine with.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mantelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We have just returned from 11 nights staying at the St Constantin hotel and both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We knew when we booked not to expect 5* as in England and I think this is where people have gone wrong, we had mixed thoughts about what to expect having read some of the reviews.
The hotel is absolutely fine, clean and comfortable, reception staff very helpful when required.
The staff in the bar and the restaurant were extremely helpful, friendly and keen to look after us both. The hotel was very quiet but it was only the very strat of the holiday season and we expected this. The all inclusive deal was well worth the money with a very good choice of drinks, both alcoholic and non but the real surprise was the food. Absolutley beautiful with a very good choice at all meal times. We really did enjoy all meals and there wasn't one meal that was repeated during our stay, I have to congratulate the chef. In the bar Dimos and Benny were really good fun and again they looked after us well.
Both pools were very clean and all facilities were well maintained. We met some lovely people and had a good time.
I know there were some people who weren't as happy as us but we cannot complain about the hotel or the facilities.
3 very small points, the food was not always piping hot but this did not spoil the taste and the situation of the hotel is extremely quiet with the town looking a little "tired". We had 2 days of cloud and rain but the rest of the time the sun shone and was very warm, this is good for this time of year in Crete.We didn't really venture away from the complex so it didn't matter to us.
Overall, don't be put off by some of the reviews, we've returned feeling relaxed after a good holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank daphnebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Fantastic Hotel !!!! Hotel Staff were very very good .
This location was perferct for a great family holiday in crete. The beach is only 1 min away from the hotel very ideal. There were great places to eat right on your door step.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4321lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Arrived in St.Constantin Hotel in the 1st of October with my boyfriend,bout twenty minutes after midnight.Mr Stelos welcomed us with a big smile and gave us all the directions bout the hotel and took us to our room.We stayed for a week in the new buildings and our room was really big and spacious.We booked an All-Inclusive package and we were quite worried as it was our first time being All-inclusive.Thank God besides our worries and that it was the end of summer season in Crete besides the rest,the food in the restaurant was really nice and fresh.Big buffets and show cooking bbq was big prons.In our room we had a double bed with a big balcony,facing the chapel of the hotel and a small part of the sea,free air-con(big pron),a nice kitchenette with a small fridge,big modern bath,a hairdryer and a telly with satellite channels.These were all standard in all rooms as we found out the next days of our holiday.Rooms were cleaned daily and towels and linen were changed every two days.The pool-bar was serving free drinks all day till bout eleven o'clock the night.The staff of the hotel were very polite and friendly.They never refused us anything and they were always there in case we needed sth.Really dissapointed from the people who wrote negative reviews bout this beautiful place.I read what they wrote and its totally opposite.It was just a beautiful and quite holiday and we are really looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank christin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks wonderful holiday at the St. Constantin’s apartments in Gouves, Crete & can only reiterate the positive comments of previous reviewers. This accommodation is something special - the standard far above normal Greek apartments with beautiful interior and exterior.
After reading a few poor reviews about this hotel we were a bit worried about what the hotel would be like, but don't believe everything you read. I and my daughter could not fault this hotel in any way at all, all staff was very helpful and friendly, special mentions to our house keeper Irene, she was exceptionally helpful, polite and we got everything we asked for, nothing ever was too much trouble. The hotel is kept exceptionally clean. Rooms are large & have plenty of storage space, also the bathrooms are big, modern and immaculate clean and a free air-con is a big added bonus. The two pools were very well looked after and always clean and inviting, there was never a problem of getting a sun bed. Standard and the variety of food in the restaurant can only be described as excellent, always fresh and plenty to chose from.
We had a fantastic time at the St Constantin’s Apartments; We found it a great place for peace and quiet whilst still being able to travel to the larger places on the island for the nightlife or shopping experience. St. Constantin’s apartments cater for everyone including families, young and older.
Gouves is the perfect getaway place for people who want a real feel for the life of a Cretan citizen with its lovely tavernas (especially Milos taverna – best food and great service), supermarkets and charming sandy beaches.
Overall, I recommend this hotel highly and we had a really amazing holiday. I only wish we had a few more days there as we didn't get the chance to do as much outside the resort as we would have like to.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ReginaLithuania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews