We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hara Ilios Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$190
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lavris Hotels & Spa(Kato Gouves)
$123
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Your Memories Hotel(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$88
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Lyda Hotel(Kato Gouves)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kaissa Beach Hotel(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kleanthi Studios & Apartments(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sweet Memory Apartments(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$419
$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $450/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$294
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
285
231
18
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
231
18
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelwellness spabreakfast and evening mealshower gelcomfortable roomsperfect basecleaned dailyeach morningwonderful staylovely poollovely familyrelaxing breakbar staffsaladcleaned every dayswimming poolfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 541 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here from 5th till 12th June inclusive, based on previous TA reviews, and we didn't regret it. It's in a quiet village (Gouves) between Heraklion and Malia, set about 500m back from the coast - so it's relatively peaceful. That said, it is on the flight path for planes coming into Heraklion, by day, which didn't bother us, but it's worth mentioning. We found our room and the hotel generally to be very clean and efficient. The staff were all superb - so friendly and service-oriented. One of us is on a gluten free diet and they did all they could to accommodate that request. WiFi is free throughout, as is the A/C. The food was good and quite varied, though we'd have enjoyed better quality coffee and tea! But overall it's ace and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to stay. Such good value. The place is spotless, staff are incredibly friendly. Rooms lovely with nice balconies. Mythos served in frozen glasses at the pool bar. Really close to seafront. Only issue is that the beds are very hard.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank morrisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Where to start?
My boyfriend booked this holiday as a surprise three months ago and we came to Hara on the 1st October 2013 for 1 week. Before we even arrived the customer service of the hotel as outstanding, answering questions and becoming friendly with us before our stay.
On arrival we were greeting with a smile and a free cocktail. Our luggage was taken to our room and we were left to our own devices.
The room was spacious and clean with magnificent views of the beautiful gardens. Each day our room was cleaned and towels were make into figures on the bed. Very nice touch!
Each morning there was a huge selection of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, cereals, bread and the list goes on. All was delicious!.
We went full board so each afternoon we were given a seat outside by the pool and bar for another feast of lovely Greek food served with a laugh and a joke with the bar staff.
Again at night a huge selection of European and Greek dishes along with salad and bread was served at the buffet.
Drinks were at the same standard, a big selection of cocktails and good prices and fantastic quality.
The hotel was spotless and gave entertainment one night with Greek dancing and music. There is a pool table, TV and computers in the lounge area of the hotel and ping-pong in the outside bar area.
Transfer from Iraklin airport was 15 minuets and it was lovely being able to watch the flight paths from outside. It could not be heard from the apartments though which was great!
The staff were so helpful and could not have done more to make our first abroad holiday together any more special than it was.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed there since 26.08.11 to 09.09.2011.
Overall impression: the hotel is clean and cosy. It consists of 5-6 two-storeyed dwellings, which are located in the nice garden. The hotel has a view at the sea. The majority of guests are from France. The guests are people of a middle age, however you can meet there young couples and old ones.
The rooms are clean, bathroom equipment is new and works in proper way. The hotels looks to be tidy. There are climate control, TV, safebox (extra payment), fridge and hairdryer. The gv rooms all these facilities are given for extra payment. What is more, the gv rooms have instead of bathrooms only the showers. The rooms have also large balconies. To upgrade gv room to superior room is about 168 euro for 2 weeks.
About 6 warm dishes are offered at the dinner (they are changed each day). Also there are 5 salads (are not changed), desserts (cakes, watermelons, melons and apricot). To have a drink you have to pay. The breakfast dishes are not just changed (fried eggs, cheese, sausage, jam, honey, muesli, flakes, cakes, yoghurt and other common things). Take into account peculiarity that the majority of guests prefer to have a dinner after 1.5 hour after its beginning, while at the beginning the restaurant is just empty. That’s why about at 8 o’clock it is overcrowded, therefore some guests need to wait a bit in the hall.
The rooms are cleaned every day. The tips are taken by chambermaid only if they are put on the pillow. The staff is friendly and polite. They can speak English, French and Italian (not Russian at all).
To reach the sea you need less than 5 minutes, the way to the closest beach takes about 12 minutes. If you want to go the “main shop street”, you need 15 minutes. The nearest supermarket is located in 10 minutes.
Gouves (this is the village where Hara Ilios is situated) is located in 12 km to Heraklion and its airport (15 minutes to drive the National Road). It takes a place about 4 km along the sea. There are 3 beaches. Tow of them are close to each other. Although they are located in small bays, the waves are big anyway. The third one is about in 1 km. There are beach beds (2 beds + umbrella = 6-7.5 euros). The beaches are not very clean. The sea is not deep. There are safeguard who don’t allow you to be farer than buoys while there is a storm. There are showers, and no WC. Along the sea there is quay. Sometimes there are the rocks and there are no barriers. The quay is not crowded at all and is not much illuminated. There are cafés and restaurants. In Gouves there are a lot of 4-5-stars hotels. However, you can meet there a lot of areas which are not built, even they have view at the sea. To walk in Gouves by step is not comfortable, as the streets that run from the sea are not connected with each other. Never the less, there are lot of rental agencies.
There was a strong cold wind from the sea for 12 days (I was there for 14 days). The natives insist that this is the first time. In that days sea was either choppy, or stormed. In spite of the very hot air, it was uncomfortable enough. Never the less, it is a good weather for trips.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anastacia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This hotel is very clean inside and out. Staff are excellent. Lovely pool. Set in beautiful gardens. The room we had was large and spotless and had a large balcony. Where the hotel fails is with the food. Hot dishes were always cold or luke warm. Most dishes were over cooked and the meat or fish was dry. Reasonable selection of salads. Dessert was always cake, syrupy fruit salad mainly comprising water melon and fresh water melon. No other fruit was available. The fruit juice at breakfast was manufactured orange or blackcurrent - not nice. Good selection of bread. Hard boiled eggs were warm as was the dried up bacon and scrambled egg mixture. If this hotel could serve hot food hot and ensure it was not over cooked it would be excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank solanaLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irini K, Manager at Hara Ilios Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear member of Trip Advisor!
We frankly thank you for your suggestions!
We always give importance in your indications and try for the best!
The challenge is one:
Visit us again!!!

Kind regards

KYPRIOTAKI IRINI

HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews