We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting Service standards in Crete!”
Review of Hotel Astir Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astir Beach
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Setting Service standards in Crete!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well, this was supposed to be a trip that was expected stand in our memory for ever! Stand it did - With such a high expectation we stepped in to Astir Beach hotel in Crete. As it is with high expectations our request for double bed (read that as matrimonial!!!) was not there as the reservation done by our charter agent conveniently forgot to mention this!!!

However, the reception staff at Astir beach swung into action immediately to satisfy our expectation by giving the only available room with a double bed, with no extra charge!!!
Added to this the breakfast and dinner spread was just brilliant and absolutely delightful.
But all this pale in comparison with the service given by the restaurant staff while making our eating experience truly personal...as observed it was not just us but everyone of the guests were treated like they should be - as special people.
THen they say three things that make a hotel stand out - Location, Location Location - well the Astir beach is one of those that will make your Creten holiday worthy.
Astir Beach Hotel, what they lack in material luxury, they made up million times in their service orientation.
Cheers and keep this up!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach facing room in the back. Don't take the one's in the front as it will guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miscamusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    95
    55
    31
    10
See reviews for
80
73
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

In this hotel I spent a beautiful week. But the animators made it perfect. One of these, Natasha is very good, she made me smile and made the day fun! It's really a good person. I like her! The staff is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

They said there is a 4**** hotel, but the rooms look rather like a 2**! We slept in folding bed, on a poor quality mattress and bedding as for 2**! The taps in the bathroom confirm the 2** valuation!

With breakfast and dinner included in the initial price, you still have to pay for evreything (including watter!) at dinner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISOULAKIS M, Διευθυντής at Hotel Astir Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Our hotel , it is officially rated by the Greek Tourist Organization as a four [****] star hotel , and we feel that this is correct . All of our rooms, are equipped with private facilities and normal beds [ doubles – triples ] and they do not have folding beds . For photos descriptions , please visit this site or our official site .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kato Gouves hotels

Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Vacationing in this hotel in July, very much. To the sea three seconds. The service is very good .. Food is standard, do not stay hungry))) Facilities are so comfortable you will not lose))) Cleaning service every day, and very high quality.
And of course the animation! Special thanks to the animation team for a very interesting presentation of the evening, for a variety of games throughout the day, for being diluted rest their positives!
Special thanks to the animators Natasha and Mario!)) You are very cool))

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Astir Beach in Gouves and the middle we stay up with all the money stolen from the room (including lions), given that they were put in wallet, wallet in a bag and it was placed in suitcase , on which sat a bag of shampoo, creams and suitcase was closed (not lock). Note that on leaving the room were closed the two doors to the balcony and the door I pushed it (deh, we have 50 years old and contol all, before going on somewhere). At the reception there is only a single camera pointed towards the entrance of the hotel (not the place where the reception or room keys), the lobbies or so. After calling the police, after approx. 1 hour, two gendarmes arrived, we asked for passports (lucky they were made ​​elsewhere), and together with the housekeeper, head housekeeper, and the reception representative began to rummage our room (such that we have hidden money ) in pillow in pouch drugs, etc.. Then they told us to go our money on new police station in Hersonissos (please note that only money I had them, they were around 10 euro you'd had with us on the beach and the bus was around 2 EUR / person one way, plus it was already Sunday at 14.00 (they do not work during the week between 14.00 to 17.00 hours) at the agency that I was gone, they came to 10 pm for money for the trip, instead now they washed their hands, as is the hotel business. SO BE CAREFUL WHERE KEEP YOURS MONEY .

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank ailemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISOULAKIS M, Διευθυντής at Hotel Astir Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are sorry for the whole event , reported by our clients , but ……..
All of our hotel rooms are equipped , with private safety boxes in the room , in order for our clients , to store and to secure all valuable things . Despite that, the money reported to be stolen , it was securely kept, as per the clients description in the comment , outside of the safe .
Of course, we had to call the police , as they are the only ones, officially authorised to handle this situation , As per their report , it was never proven that , somebody not authorised , entered in their room , or some door was broken or something was stolen .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As you all know a 4* hotel is really a full 3*. Astir Beach is not breaking the rule. You will find nice stuff, helpful, friendly. Decent food, various but not sophisticated. Basic rooms, with showers, TV, air conditioned and balcony, clean rooms. Cleaning lady was very popular, smiley. She cleaned the room every day and change the sheets twice a week. If you need more clean sheets, you can ask directly to the lady and it will be done without a problem. As I said , the staff is friendly. But they looked really tired. We stayed 8 days at this hotel and we saw the same people every day, at breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Nice pool, the one for the kids also.
Hotel is on a public sandy beach, all you must do is to cross the street.
I should definitely recommend this hotel to families with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on the west side, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narcis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is realy nice staff so friendly food was great couldn't fault anything in fact thinking of going back in august . The animation team were ever so friendly my 2 friends and me laughed from arrival to departing 1 of the best holidays to Crete ive ever had .Would definitely recommend well done Astir Beach .

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter if you early bedders
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
2.1 mi away
Hotel Themis Beach
Hotel Themis Beach
#8 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
399 reviews
6.0 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#62 of 171 in Hersonissos
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#120 of 171 in Hersonissos
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,876 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#61 of 171 in Hersonissos
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astir Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astir Beach

Property: Hotel Astir Beach
Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astir Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Gouves, only 18 Km east of the Heraklion international airport, by an extremely clean coast and sea, it is an ideal beach resort for unforgettable vacations. The hotel offers 164 modern and comfortable rooms equipped with private facilities, bathroom with bath tab or shower, direct-dial telephone, internet connection, private remote control air-conditioning, mini fridge, TV, hair dryer, safety box and balcony or terrace, most of them with a marvelous view to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astir Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Beach Gouves
Astir Beach Hotel
Hotel Astir Beach Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing