We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALEX”
Review of Hotel Astir Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astir Beach
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Vacationing in this hotel in July, very much. To the sea three seconds. The service is very good .. Food is standard, do not stay hungry))) Facilities are so comfortable you will not lose))) Cleaning service every day, and very high quality.
And of course the animation! Special thanks to the animation team for a very interesting presentation of the evening, for a variety of games throughout the day, for being diluted rest their positives!
Special thanks to the animators Natasha and Mario!)) You are very cool))

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 261 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Astir Beach in Gouves and the middle we stay up with all the money stolen from the room (including lions), given that they were put in wallet, wallet in a bag and it was placed in suitcase , on which sat a bag of shampoo, creams and suitcase was closed (not lock). Note that on leaving the room were closed the two doors to the balcony and the door I pushed it (deh, we have 50 years old and contol all, before going on somewhere). At the reception there is only a single camera pointed towards the entrance of the hotel (not the place where the reception or room keys), the lobbies or so. After calling the police, after approx. 1 hour, two gendarmes arrived, we asked for passports (lucky they were made ​​elsewhere), and together with the housekeeper, head housekeeper, and the reception representative began to rummage our room (such that we have hidden money ) in pillow in pouch drugs, etc.. Then they told us to go our money on new police station in Hersonissos (please note that only money I had them, they were around 10 euro you'd had with us on the beach and the bus was around 2 EUR / person one way, plus it was already Sunday at 14.00 (they do not work during the week between 14.00 to 17.00 hours) at the agency that I was gone, they came to 10 pm for money for the trip, instead now they washed their hands, as is the hotel business. SO BE CAREFUL WHERE KEEP YOURS MONEY .

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank ailemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRISOULAKIS M, Διευθυντής at Hotel Astir Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We are sorry for the whole event , reported by our clients , but ……..
All of our hotel rooms are equipped , with private safety boxes in the room , in order for our clients , to store and to secure all valuable things . Despite that, the money reported to be stolen , it was securely kept, as per the clients description in the comment , outside of the safe .
Of course, we had to call the police , as they are the only ones, officially authorised to handle this situation , As per their report , it was never proven that , somebody not authorised , entered in their room , or some door was broken or something was stolen .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As you all know a 4* hotel is really a full 3*. Astir Beach is not breaking the rule. You will find nice stuff, helpful, friendly. Decent food, various but not sophisticated. Basic rooms, with showers, TV, air conditioned and balcony, clean rooms. Cleaning lady was very popular, smiley. She cleaned the room every day and change the sheets twice a week. If you need more clean sheets, you can ask directly to the lady and it will be done without a problem. As I said , the staff is friendly. But they looked really tired. We stayed 8 days at this hotel and we saw the same people every day, at breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Nice pool, the one for the kids also.
Hotel is on a public sandy beach, all you must do is to cross the street.
I should definitely recommend this hotel to families with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on the west side, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narcis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is realy nice staff so friendly food was great couldn't fault anything in fact thinking of going back in august . The animation team were ever so friendly my 2 friends and me laughed from arrival to departing 1 of the best holidays to Crete ive ever had .Would definitely recommend well done Astir Beach .

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter if you early bedders
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having stayed at the St Constantin last year we were hoping for the same kind of experience, but we were a little disappointed. Room was fine no complaints there, food was fine, most staff were friendly although the bar man was constantly grumpy, which was a big shame; he even complained "it's not a nice job having to work here and see everyone enjoying themselves except me". This doesn't seem to be the attitude that local people take - we've found the Greek people to be friendly and down to earth on all other occasions. When all is said, you get what you pay for and although we did have a lovely holiday overall, I don't think we'll be returning to Astir again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmsEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is realy nice, for a standard 4 star hotel in Crete. Good food if you go all inclusive, nice pool and the staf is nice as well.
Very close to the beach, sandy beach..... but here you have to be very carefull. The beach is public, like almost everywere in crete.... and the lifeguards are not well prepared.
You have to avoid the water when is wind and big waves. It just happened when i was there with some othe people, we found a russian guy in the water (we do not know even now if he was dead or allive) . The rocks are verry dangerous on big waves and the lifeguard stays there just to take the money for the sunbeds and umbrelas.
So this is sometingh to think about. But the hotel is just ok in any other sense and for the money paied you get good service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaduCostea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A good place to stay, in front of nice sandy beach. Room was spacey with balcony to the west. We enjoyed wonderful sunsets.
There was not that must entertainment any more in September. Buffet meals had daily varieties in main courses, and tasted good. We stayed there with a group and had a pleasant time.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building on the west side to enjoy nice sunsets. In the unit behind the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ElsDeKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.9 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
509 reviews
1 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
457 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Manos Maria
Hotel Manos Maria
#83 of 174 in Hersonissos
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 mi away
Elpida Village
Elpida Village
#1 of 2 in Istron
307 reviews
7.1 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#128 of 174 in Hersonissos
413 reviews
2 mi away
Europa Beach Hotel
Europa Beach Hotel
#6 of 14 in Analipsi
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astir Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astir Beach

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $66 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astir Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Gouves, only 18 Km east of the Heraklion international airport, by an extremely clean coast and sea, it is an ideal beach resort for unforgettable vacations. The hotel offers 164 modern and comfortable rooms equipped with private facilities, bathroom with bath tab or shower, direct-dial telephone, internet connection, private remote control air-conditioning, mini fridge, TV, hair dryer, safety box and balcony or terrace, most of them with a marvelous view to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astir Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Beach Gouves
Astir Beach Hotel
Hotel Astir Beach Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing