We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vaction”
Review of Hotel Astir Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astir Beach
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Vaction”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent a week in Astir Beach hotel and although we are used to 5 stars hotels, this time by the budget we found this hotel to be a good nice choice - not the most luxurious place but a good one if you wish to enjoy Sea and vacation. The hotel is rated by the Greek system to be 4 stars (please don’t forget that the Greek system usually adds one to 2 stars to the common American/European system)

Pros:
1.Beach – The hotel is across the small road that lays between it and the beautiful sandy beach, for 6 Euro a day you get a set of Beach Umbrella and two seats.
2.Staff – The staff service was excellent – Our room was cleaned and changed daily and the ladies that took care for it did utmost possible, Restaurant staff is another staff the hotel can be proud off. Not like the Animation programmed staff!
3.Food at the restaurant was satisfactory and variety was enough. Food could be more of Crete orientation (This is Greek!) and less East European.
4.Our room was faced to the Garden and we had partial view of the sea. It was found to be better than the Sea View rooms by the noise from the Animation and bar. Room is typical Greek one – simple and not fancy. Beds were separate as most of Greek hotels, The TV set is small and dated to the 80th. Only English program is BBC. We suffered at the first night from Flies and Insects and in the morning staff spray the room few times so all of those left or killed.

Cons:
1.Animation team – No Greek program and the other are childish and poor
2.Internet – Should be free like on most restaurant around.
3.Transportation – If you want to tour the Island of Crete you need to rent a car. Although there are few around the hotel and the close neighborhood we found their prices (A class) changing from 20 Euro’s to 40 ones. You have to be very carful and make sure that the insurance and licensing are valid as well to the contract you sign (some just give you a receipt as contract)
4.Restaurants hours – Breakfast ends up 9:30AM, so if you want to sleep a bit more – you skip it. So is dinner that ends with light day still around.
5.Heraklion Airport and Airline – The Heraklion airport is one of those villages airports that is far with it’s facilities to service more than 3 to 4 million people tourist a year (mostly during 3 to 4 summer months). Don’t expect a clean toilet room. Check in is terrible and staff leaves you in line for opening always (this is not my first and/or second trip to Crete) for half an hour or more. Planes are leaving and coming likes bees, 24 hours a day, using one, short run way causing delays in summer season. The airport management is taking measures to build a new airport which will replace the current some where in 2015 (probably delayed by the Greek financial crisis).

Room Tip: If you are allergic or with small kids bring with you a Anti-Insect product – this is not specific t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IsraelAvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    95
    55
    32
    10
See reviews for
81
73
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel its swimming pool, restaurant and of course lovely sandy beach). The staff were really helpful and friendly! Location is so convenient as we could catch a bus to explore the island. Our room was cleaned everyday. We had side sea view so could enjoy very beautiful sunset).
October,2011

Room Tip: side sea view is enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Well … maybe not the most luxurious place to go but Crete is a beautiful place … It’s a nice hotel, clean and with the view straight to the beach (or at least this is how my room was). Yes, maybe if you want to have something fancy you need to look further more but if you just want to enjoy a relaxing time and do not want to spend too much time inside … this could be your choice. It’s a 3+ stars hotel and the beach is just cross the street (a very tiny street).

Oh, and the beach … so nice and so clean and so “soft” …

I hope someday I will be able to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Veve_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent two weeks in Astir Beach in August with the family. We usually go for fancier hotels, but were looking for a lower-budget holiday this time. Astir Beach proved an OK choice.

Advertised as a 4-star, Astir Beach is rather a 3-star hotel. We asked for two rooms next to each other, and got two rooms in separate buildings instead, with no chance of any changes. Renovated probably a few years ago, our double room was nothing fancy and not very big, but could easily accommodate an extra bed for the baby. The small fridge was noisy but could be turned off for the night. The TV-set probably dated back to the 90s; the only English channel available was BBC News. The air conditioning system worked fine for almost the entire period of our stay, but broke down on our last night. I had to contact the reception desk three times to get someone to fix it. The shower came with only a curtain. The bathroom floor was thus constantly wet. The towels and bed sheets were kept clean, though, replaced daily.

We had a partial view of the sea from the balcony, and enjoyed beautiful sunsets every evening. Don’t ask for a room facing directly the sea, if you are used to going to bed early. There is quite some noise from the bar and animation show in the evenings.

The food at the restaurant and the variety was satisfactory. There were some dishes that were actually very-very good. But also things I wouldn’t want to taste again (burnt, etc.). Meat and fish were always overcooked. If on half-board, you have to pay extra for any drinks (including water!) at dinner. For those used to having a hefty meal in the morning, breakfast proved a disappointment. No porridge for the kids, egg dishes of poor quality, etc.

Internet connection at the hotel lobby is for a charge of 2 EUR per half an hour. Seems like a robbery, considering there is absolutely free wireless at cafés down the street.

The service, I would say, is awful. Imported for the season, the staff probably have no days off for quite a few months in a row, so don’t expect any smiles. The staff are grumpy, look tired, and could use some lessons in English. The same could be said for the Animation programme staff, who look like they could use a long break.

The beach is excellent, with a 6 EUR charge for the beach set (for two) per day. Plenty of good restaurants around. But the neighbourhood itself is shabby - not a good place for a nice high-end holiday.

So Astir Beach is an OK hotel, if not looking for anything special. However, most guests are Russians. And so are their kids. So expect screaming, toy-breaking and bullying at the playground, as Russian parents spend more time on throwing cigarette butts to the sea (if not the children’s pool) than on parental supervision. Had to restrain myself not to personally “counsel” some of them on good manners. A lot of nice people as well, but probably not the best of stays, if you prefer English to Russian and Lithuanian, and decency to vulgarity.

Had a good stay. Thank you! But will choose a higher-end hotel next time. In a different town. And probably another country.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kaltroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I spent 12 days in this hotel and had really nice holiday. The room was quite big with basic furniture maybe 3 years old, the bathroom was quite dark with plastic accessories, which I didn`t like but it was always clean.
Food was ok, there was always something to choose, we had AI, and the variety of food was better during dinner. What I didn`t like about all inclusive, that it wasn`t self-service, but you always have to ask for any drink in the bar inside of the hotel.
There is animation team asking you to do aqua gym, play darts, volleyball, golf, petang and mini disco for kids every night.
The swimming pool is quite big and clean.
I can say that hotel is not 4*, it`s max 3*, but has the best position in Gouves because it`s directly on the beach. There is not much to do in Gouves, there are few shops and tavernas, so I would recommend it for older people and families. If you would like to do some shopping you can take the bus (bus stop is 15 minutes on foot from the hotel) and travel to Malia, Hersonnissos or Heraklion. There is also nice aquarium on the west, about 20 minutes on foot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Petra083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in July 2008 and not in 2009. By that time the hotel was everything but not a 4* hotel.
I really hope that this reality is changed now for this hotel but I can't leave this opportunity without sharing my 2008 vacations experience at this hotel. It was my first trip with my husband and the first vacation in two years so we were hopping to find what we've payed for: a nice 4*hotel, well... we were hopping a bit of comfort and a good cleaning standard in a beautiful island.
That didn't happened at all!
The pictures on the website are much better and appealing than the real deal!

It was more like a 2* plus Hotel not a 4*! The room was not roomy and most of the time the cleaning was pretty bad with no towels or sheets changed!

The swimming pool is really tiny with not enough chairs for everyone at all times!

The good thing was the location: a street in front of the beach and lots of restaurants and cafes along it. The hotel has a supermarket where you can buy souvenirs and other things you might need on vacations and a rent-a-car just a few steps away. To rent a car might be a good idea if you want to discover this big and interesting island and for us it was also an opportunity to be away from this hotel during the day.
You can find a tour agency close by where you can book some interesting tours and trips for a good price (better than by our travel operator).

The food is good and tasty in the hotel and out. Greek food is fantastic everywhere but be careful with the times because if they say that breakfast is till 9am or 10 am, then you cannot appear to have it 15 minutes before that time or you will listen some bad comments or even insults from the rude waiters. the same with all meals at this hotel.

Staff in general was not very helpful or nice. We already knew that Crete people are a bit nervous and can appear rude but we never though it would be so bad. They simply don't have patience to listen to your room problems or problems of any kind. My husband is allergic to bees and one bee entered our room during the cleaning period. We went to reception to explain that was a big bee in our room and that we were allergic. Basically we went there to ask for a insecticide and it took ages for them to understand and lend us an insecticide.
The same rudeness with the staff at the supermarket that yelled at us because we didn't choose enough postcards and they had to give us some change.

The Beach in front of the hotel is not great but is ok and with room enough.

This hotel didn't ruin our vacations because we decided to enjoy and make the most of it traveling around the all island which has so much cultural and nature sights and monuments to see.
It was a great vacation but because we decided to ignore the hotel bad experience. Although we made the most of this vacations we cannot forget we paid a lot for a good hotel and that the service we required was not provided.
Unfortunately we didn't complaint about it but we will not come back or recommend it to anyone.
Once again, I hope this hotel is better know!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesertChicGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I read with dread some of the reviews of the Astir Beach, and vowed to post my opinion upon our return. I've posted some photos which should help others too. Overall we had a good holiday. Our room was clean (housekeeping very good) and had a lovely view. The room was on the second floor and was sometimes noisy - people trekking past when we were trying to get our 3 year old to sleep. The beach is lovely, and there are plenty of places outside the hotel to go for a bite to eat. Even though we were all inclusive the food was monotonous after a week and we did venture out. The all inclusive bar had a very long wait - lots of barflies who never seemed to leave. The staff could be very surly and therefore we tried to avoid them! I would say that the premises and location are good, but the staff and food could be better. The weather was great and on balance it was a good holiday. I don't think Greece has 4 star hotels - always take one star away and its nearer the truth!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tulababy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
2.1 mi away
Hotel Themis Beach
Hotel Themis Beach
#8 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
399 reviews
6.0 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#62 of 171 in Hersonissos
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#119 of 171 in Hersonissos
380 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,878 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#61 of 171 in Hersonissos
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astir Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astir Beach

Property: Hotel Astir Beach
Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astir Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Gouves, only 18 Km east of the Heraklion international airport, by an extremely clean coast and sea, it is an ideal beach resort for unforgettable vacations. The hotel offers 164 modern and comfortable rooms equipped with private facilities, bathroom with bath tab or shower, direct-dial telephone, internet connection, private remote control air-conditioning, mini fridge, TV, hair dryer, safety box and balcony or terrace, most of them with a marvelous view to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astir Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Beach Gouves
Astir Beach Hotel
Hotel Astir Beach Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing