We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great half-term break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Club Aphrodite
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Gouves
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great half-term break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just got back from a nice relaxing break with my daughter. As the name says its on the beach front, good friendly staff with large rooms with a firm matress on the double bed, daughter said her bed was comfy. A wide range of drinks very drinkable and the food was edible although quite limited but that would be down to it being end of season there was more food stations not being used. The only complaint I would have would be that it could do with being heated higher to keep warmer.

For the football fans there us a warm welcome across the road at the Anfield Bar (dont be put off by the name) 8 screens showing multiple games

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    307
    208
    100
    73
See reviews for
231
443
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel late Sept - early Oct for 10 nights. We had a late night check in and the Receptionist (Maria), was warm and welcoming. Stavros has had some negative comments; however, he was keen to tell us about other parts of the island (Agios Nicholas) and was helpful towards us. Our room (in the separate annexe), was rather sparse, but it was kept exceptionally clean with maid service each day with fresh towels and bed linen. The maids were lovely, particulary Poppy, who helped us learn some basic Greek. The pool areas were exceptionally clean, with the large pool commanding a lovely view of the sea and distant horizan. The smaller pool area was set in lovely gardens with tropical plants and trees and had a beautiful pool bar with a very helpful barman. Yes, there were many other nationalities there, particularly German, Austrian and Russian, but we found them to be friendly enough if you made the effort to smile at them - I believe the Second World War ended in the 1940's - perhaps it's time to let bygones be bygones??!! The entertainment team were fantastic during the day - we joined in with yoga, stretching classes, aqua aerobics and acqua zumba and the staff running these always had a smile on their faces and a cheerful remark. It's simply not true that everything was said in German - all these classes used the English language. We only went to the Greek night so cannot comment on the evening entertainment. The food was plentiful and varied, particularly the salad selections and the hotplate grills in the evenings. The cooks worked very hard to supply pancakes, omelettes and friend eggs in the mornings. If you are the sort of person who wants chicken nuggets and chips then perhaps stay away and go to an English seaside resort, but don't go to a foreign country (catering to different nationalities) and expect English food and turn your nose up, as some reviewers have, at whats there.... it's ignorant, says more about you than the resort and gives other British people a bad name! Gouves is a small resort and is probably much busier in the height of the season - however, I agreed that parts of it looked a little "tired". However, local people were friendly and we did enjoy going to the Anfield Bar, as well as a lovely, quiet little taverna run by a lady called Katrina (who made delicious iced frappes). We had some fantastic trips out - Knossos, Spinalonga, Cave of Zeus, Agios Nicholas (a beautiful town) and Heraklion for the Saturday Market. Even though the weather was a bit dodgy for the first few days it did not deter from our enjoyment of the holiday. If you are a person who just wants to sit in a hotel and get p****d all day then you can do this too.... if you're all inclusive it's free drinks all day..... but is this what a holiday is all about? We would recommend this hotel on the basis of the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, who work hard and long hours and the location in regards to the beach was great. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I've just had a week's holiday at this hotel. We wanted a relaxing week and we feel we got a good deal on this holiday. We had read the reviews and generally take things with a pinch of salt but we were a bit apprehensive about the hotel. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel looked nice from the outside and the reception and bar areas were very spacious. Our room was on the third floor of the main building and it was a nice room with a lovely sea view. We asked reception for more pillows and I personally found the bed to be very comfortable.

The water in the pool was a bit cold but there was an indoor pool and plenty of space and plenty of loungers around the pool. We were lucky with the weather as it was at least partly sunny every day and very warm.

The food in the restaurant was a very good standard and there was plenty of variety. It was a little lukewarm by the time you'd dished it up and got back to your table but you could get a warm plate which helped. This is something that's common in lots of hotels abroad and it wasn't a problem. I can see that the food might get repetitive after 10 days/2 weeks but I couldn't eat in the same restaurant at home 3 times a day for 2 weeks and not find it repetitive!
The staff were friendly everywhere, especially if you made an effort to smile and say please and thank you. The wine and beer in the restaurant were fine but at the bar the wine was pretty terrible so we drank ouzo instead which was fine.

We did 3 excursions during the week and went to Spinalonga and Knossos which were definitely worth a visit. The archaeological museum in Heraklion was really good too. Gouves was quite small and lots of things were closing down for the end of the season but I thought it was a nice little place and very handy for seeing more of the island.
Overall, we had a really good, relaxing holiday. I would definitely go back to Crete and I would stay at Aphrodite Beach Club again.

Room Tip: The lower rooms in the main building looked over the garden and might be a bit dark because of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

After reading various negative reviews, it was fair to say we were prepared for not having the best holiday-HOWEVER upon arrival, we were greeted by a fantastic guy on reception who was really helpful, our room was fantastic and we felt the food, service, atmosphere there was absolutely brilliant? They cater for all ages and there really is something for everyone. There was no need to go off site for anything, the only time we did was to go to visit the anfield bar as in the reviews it had said how great that place was, but it was dire-don't go there! We couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room, the location (across the road from the beach) and the staff were magnificent all the way through our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Me and my Fiancee have just come back from the aphrodite beach club hotel, and after reading the reviews on here we did start to get quite aprehensive, but it turned out good in the end.

The hotel itself when you enter is a gorgeous place to be, all very clean and very pleasant to be in.
The room we had also was very good, and very clean with maid service every day changing beds and towels.
The only niggle is the beds are quite hard and can take some getting used to, but they serve their purpose and arent as uncomfortable as people make out.
The bar is well stocked, the beer was fine, i did try the wine and it was ok but im not a wine drinker, but it was drinkable.
The soft drinks, lemonade and soda are nice but the coke and orangeade in my oppinion not so, but again thats just my tastes.

Now the food, dont get me wrong the qaulity is fine and it is nice food, but it did get repetitive for us, but again thats just me.

pool areas are all very clean and tidy and plenty of sun loungers, water is absolutely freezing though but i suppose on a very hot day it does serve its purpose.

Over all i would stay at this hotel again, i found it perfectly fine for mine and my fiancees needs, some of the reviews about the food i can relate too but some people on here have deffinitely made mountains out of mole hills about this hotel, and i find that a real real annoyance as all the people we spoke too had good oppinions about the hotel and staff (who are all very friendly).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel wasn't bad but the 4 star rating is pushing it a bit. The staff were wonderful friendly and helpful, The rooms we were given the first three days were very basic and needed a upgrade, but after 7 days of cruising with Costa we went back to the hotel and were given a lovely room modern and obviously had be refurbished. The food was beautiful plenty of choice and I did not find a lot of repetitiveness as stated in other reviews. We were on an all inclusive basis so often the food is basic but not here that wasn't so. The drinks however were terrible. The only things that actually tasted like it should were the beer and the white wine everything else (including soft drinks) were indescribable. The pools were clean and beautiful and the little beach a haven overall I would go back but not on all inclusive as I had to buy my drinks anyway. One last word the entertainment staff worked very hard, but the hotel would benefit from more night time entertainment like the Greek night which was delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a better room in the hotel not the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

After reading many terrible reviews I was quite apprehensive about our stay but seen as we got a really good deal we agreed to make the best of our trip either way. Upon arrival I was surprised by how beautiful the complex actually was, a very good first impression. A friendly and very efficient receptionist had us checked in and up to our rooms in no time. The nerves kicked in during the journey up as so many people had slated the rooms. No need to be nervous at all! Room was spacious and clean with a bath, fridge, plenty of storage and balcony with sea view. Very impressed and definitely worth its star rating. My boyfriend did complain the bed was hard but I slept fine so depends on personal preference. Food was fantastic, plenty of variety with a salad bar and even a cooking station with chef preparing fresh food during all meal times. We had no reason to eat out even once during our 7 night stay. Evening entertainment wasnt up to much but as we went out of season this was to be expected. They did put on a greek night though which was brilliant and got all the guests included. The staff are friendly and helpful. I feel those complaining about the staff have been harsh as they do work 7 days a week from april to october so give them a chance. Pools are of high quality we spent our days lounging by the pool bar drinking lager and lime. Lovely weather for the time of year (15th-22nd october). Due to the all inclusive finishing at 11pm we spent our nights drinking and dancing with Thomas in the Anfield Bar which is reasonably priced and great atmosphere. I feel the reviews have been harsh and i'm surprised by the number of bad ones. We had a great week at a great price and would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JodThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouves
0.8 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 38 in Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
2.3 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Club Aphrodite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Aphrodite

Property: Beach Club Aphrodite
Address: Gouves, Crete 70014 , Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#11 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Club Aphrodite 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Club Aphrodite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Aphrodite Hotel Gouves
Beach Hotel Gouves
Aphrodite Beach Club
Beach Hotel Aphrodite
Aphrodite Hotel Crete
Beach Club Aphrodite Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing