We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel crap food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magda Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
hartlepool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel crap food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

the hotel it self was lovely,clean well maintained,animation team were excellant especially with the children,bar prices were ridiculous much cheaper in village,shops in main street and tavernas were very good,both chinese resturaunts served decent food and good service,we spent every night looking for somewhere to eat even though we were half board,we couldnt stomach the food in hotel mainly catered for french. squid in pasta and snails in potatoes.if you didnt like bread and salad theres not a lot for english tastes.there is a pub in main street called the pig n whistle that serves real english food nice atmosphere and friendly staff. definately would never return to this hotel mainly because of the food cost a fortune to have to go buy food at other places when we already paid for breakfast n evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    210
    75
    22
    10
See reviews for
142
201
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

Just flown back in today. Stayed for one week had a relaxing holiday. The rooms were very nice for Greece. Had 2 single beds in and plenty of cupboards for clothes. Bathrooms were clean and tidy. Towels changed 3 times during our stay. Pools very clean and tidy but it was a fight for the sunbeds needed to put towels out on them early to get one. The entertainment crew were very frendly and helpful there were activities all day if you wanted to join in. The main down falls for us was the price off drinks nearly 8€ for 2 prints of larger and 3€ for a cuppa tea. The evening meal was very repeative. It seemed that the left overs were re used at the next meal. We ate out a few nights as could not face the food that was being offered. The main street for bars is about 30 miniutes walk. Drink and food are cheaper there. We hired a car for 3 days 80€. We went to Spinalonga, the trip with the agent cost 53€ each so we decided for less to do it ourselves with the car. This hotel seemed to cater for the older generation and there were allot of french. I would not suggest this for under 40's or family's with kids because of the food. Enjoyed the rest but wouldn't go back again.

Some plane noise during night as directly in flight path for landing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookyCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Just back from Gouves and although we weren't sure about the resort at first, it was really ok. Might get very busy in high season, though. The Magda hotel is good - staff helpful and friendly, very clean but not a 4 star hotel. Probably a 3+ star. The food is repetitive and although there will always be something that you can eat, it's not always appealing. Soup,salad on every night and a choice of fish,chicken and meat. Rooms comfortable and clean but you do have to pay extra to use the fridge and for a safe. Swimming pools outside are clean and pool for the children. Indoor pool good but sauna padlocked and although there was a sign for the gym, we couldn't find it. The entertainment / Animation staff were very good. Always came round to tell you what activity was coming on and weren't pushy if you didn't want to do anything except lounge by the pool ! Aquagym, archery, boules during the day and low key entertainment at night. Mainly French and Brits at the hotel. Short walk to the beach and several bars and restaurants also along the beachfront. Hire of loungers on the beach was 5Euro for 2 loungers and parrasol. Eating out & drinks not cheap due to the exchange rate. Euro3.50 for a beer and Euro2.50 for a small glass of a soft drink. I would recommend the Magda to a friend but would have to point out all of the above first. A holiday for families with perhaps younger children - not teens-and for couples looking for a relaxing holiday. Also, enjoyed the full day's trip to Spinalonga.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

Please excuse my English is not my native tongue.
Worst hotel ever –DO NOT GO !
I was captive in this hotel for 2 weeks in July 2008.
The hotel – is fake 4 star hotels by civilized European standards max 2, 5 stars.
We book a honeymoon suite and on arrival we receive a small room.
The room was changed for double room not HM –suite as we bookend, only I raised my voice to the receptionist.
Very dirty rooms, with damaged furniture.
Smell of vinegar on the pool area, and on the days without breeze sewer odors.
Every maid supposed to serve like 25 room so imagine the quality of their work
(I had the dirtiest bathroom ever saw in a hotel probably).
We discovered on arrival that we have to pay extra for deposit/safe box and refrigerator.
(60 Euro together). Very bad food , almost no trace of Greek food , 95% was int food : lasagna pizza , French fries , chicken wings etc ( like fast food ) ; sparkling water was 3 euro / 0.2 liters and the cherry on the cake was the RE-USE of non eaten food from evenings in breakfast.
EVERY towel we receive was tear or with stains.
Nobody was cleaning the dust in our room for 14 days.
The personal was unfriendly and they do not understand German and not much of English.
Hotel parking lot was 40m down the street on street corner and without security ;
No AC in the lobby area , and the presented internet ( on the hotel web ) is neither free or available in the room , they have pc in the lobby “for rent “ 2 Euro / 15 min.
On the last day ,for the late check out , they ask for 45 euro – I give them the finger !
Conclusion – THEY RUINED OUR HONEY MOON
PS Crete is wonderful, but not if you stay at Magda Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stefan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from the Magda hotel.The hotel staff were very warm and friendly and the room we had was spacious and spotlessly clean.
The food in the restaurant was excellent with a great variety of different dishes.
The hotel itself is in immaculate condition and very near to the village of Gouves.
I would recommend this hotel for families and mature couples.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Had a very enjoyable holiday at the Magda Hotel, Crete. The rooms were reasonably spacious and comfortable and the whole hotel is kept extremely clean.

There are a mixture of nationalities, majority French & British but this, if anything, made our stay more enjoyable. There was no loutish behaviour at this Hotel.

There are three pools, two outdoors all reasonably sized. Sunbeds are easily available. Much of the daily entertainment was pool & sports based (there is a separate sports complex) and the Animation Team worked very hard to keep everyone involved and amused. There is some evening entertainment at the Hotel if required.

Hotel bar prices not too cheap (G&T £4!!) but cheaper drinks and snacks were found at the Asteria bar appr 10 min walk from hotel. (Pint beer £2) Hotel Breakfasts good & evening meals ok & not too formal.

Gouves resort not the most attractive-beach 5min walk & fairly clean- Sunbeds £5pd with some 'watersports' avl

Out & About Water City waterpark appr 5km away up top of mountain-kept my children amused but watch prices of snacks.

In all, an excellent holiday and I would recommend the Hotel to future holidaymakers looking for a reasonably priced family hotel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — the Bar prices
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevefhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

After being moved to this hotel as the hotel we booked was full we had to give our good and bad points, firstly the good well 5 mins from beach, very clean maid cleaned and made beds, changed towels daily, nice food good variety, friendly staff, must visit the da vinci code restaurant tho down the road food is fantastic there! can't stress that enough, beach staff nice and friendly, water park good but beware food and drinks there very expensive.
now the bad, not alot of food the kids liked, drinks expensive about £4 for malibu & coke, £3 for a beer, night time entertainment not very good no kids mini disco, said we could have late checkout of room for 40 euros as we wasn't getting picked up till 2am then chucked us out with 2 small children as they needed the room, rep not very helpfull our tranfer didn't arrive to take us to the airport had to get a taxi, but that's direct holidays/thomas cook for you

  • Liked — food, pool and friendly staff
  • Disliked — entertainment, drinks prices
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ctoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouves
0.8 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 38 in Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 38 in Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Smartline  Village Resort & Waterpark
0.6 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magda Hotel

Property: Magda Hotel
Address: Gouves Pediados, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#8 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Magda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magda Hotel Gouves, Crete
Magda Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing