We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of Magda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magda Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We returned this year after staying at the Magda in 2009. The hotel and staff are as lovely as ever and the rooms spotless. The food is OK if a little repetetive.The only problem we encountered was the Animation Team, which consists of 4 young French people who do not speak a word of English. This seems very strange to me when the Magda Hotel take bookings from three English travel firms, but only seem to cater for the French guests..On our last visit the animation team consisted of Belgium and English so they introduced all the entertainment in both French and English so every one was happy.The only other complaint was the loud,head banging music that the animation team insisted on playing all afternoon around the pool area. That's OK if the guests are all youngsters but on the whole the average age of the guests was 40 to 70 and like us lots of the other guests that we spoke to had to leave the hotel in the afternoon to get some peace. So, if you want a relaxing place to stay this hotel may not be for you. It is such a shame as we enjoyed our last holiday so much at the Magda but this year we left thinking that we may not return again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lincsbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    212
    76
    23
    9
See reviews for
147
213
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
S.-Petersburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Very good hotel. July 2010. From Petersburg. Very good personnel and meal. Purely. In the following arrival to Crete we will have a rest here

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russianfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at the Magda Hotel in Kato Gouves for 4 days. It was a pleasant experience, and very good value. The hotel is relatively elegant, with a nice design. The swimming pools seemed very attractive, although we did not use them, but the other guests seemed to be enjoying them.

The dining room is extremely clean, with very kind and efficient staff. The waiters work really fast and pay attention to details, and it shows. The food is excellent, much better than most hotels I've stayed at.
Those of you taking the half-board deal, please note that you will be asked to pay for your drinks at dinner - this is apparently the custom in Crete, so do not be surprised.

Two small points that need improvement:
1. The hotel does not supply shampoo, so you have to purchase your own, which is strange for a 4-star hotel.
2. In our room the overhead lamp was only loosly attached to the ceiling, with a dangling electric wire, detracting from the overall appearence of the room, which was otherwise nice.

Overall, the Magda Hotel is a nice place, with a polite and kind staff (especially Mrs. Katerina at reception). We would be glad to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ortal-Paz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

just got back,had a good time apart from noisy French people who took over,3 English couples in a 190 room hotel.Hotel was clean and tidy,cleaners noisy 1st thing on a morning.The food was good and varied,apart from the samie desserts,1 drink at meal times,the waiters didnt come back to see you.It may have been all inclusive b ut it didnt feel like it.The transfer shuttle bus didnt turn up after 50 minutes so got a taxi back to airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

After reading reviews of this hotel I was looking forward to our trip to Crete although a little dubious about some of the comments about food as we were on an all inclusive package. However I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived.
The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very accommodating. I also noted that whenever my partner and I were in earshot of the employees they spoke in english which was a welcoming surprise! The animation staff were also very nice and despite our agenda of "relaxing" whilst in the hotel they endeavoured to ask us if we wanted to join in with activites.
The food in the hotel was very tasty and varied with a staple salad bar and italian choice for those less willing to try different dishes.
There were also a lot of French guests in the hotel and although I understand the basics from school I am not fluent, however the staff remained accommodating with regards our lack of linguistic abilities!
The Location of the hotel in Gouves was quite quiet and if I was to revisit Crete I perhaps would have gone earlier in the season. However there were still things to do with nearby sightseeing opportunities easily accessible by bus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southport_Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Went to Magda Hotel with my husband, we are 35-40 age range. We had a lovely stay. All inclusive was great value. We were there for a week and didn't find the food that repetitive because there was a good selection available. If you do get bored with it there are restaurants 5 minutes down the road. The staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel was 5 minutes walk from a busy tourist beach. The animation (entertainment) staff were good fun and the list of activities available was good/varied. The evening entertainment was not for everyone, if you want a holiday with a group of girls or guys this probably isn't the place for you, but it is definitely good for couples or families. We are already talking about going back there with our family/kids. The hotel/rooms etc were clean. We hired a car and saw Crete, it was in a good position for this because it was close to Heraklion and Ayos Nikolaus (spelling?) which are two of the main towns. Hotel parking was free.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat_Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

great hotel,good service,staff verry friendly
hotel near airport 14km
spacious rooms, daily cleaning
not very diversified food-but tasty
team of animators note 10
beach near the hotel 4-5min walk,with very fine sand, clear water with gentle entry,beach set cost 6euro

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pion7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.9 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
6.7 mi away
Smartline  Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magda Hotel

Property: Magda Hotel
Address: Gouves Pediados, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#8 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magda Hotel Gouves
Magda Hotel Crete
Magda Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing