We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina Hotel lover”
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kato Gouves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marina Hotel lover”
Reviewed July 4, 2007

I have stayed at the Marina Hotel now 5 times and absolutely love the place. Each time I go I love it even more. The all inclusive package is value for money. It is definitely a proper all inclusive with all meals, drinks (including water) and snacks part of the package. Sunbeds on the beach and by the pool are also part of the package. In the dining room if you ask for a red and a white wine they will bring you a bottle of each. The staff at the hotel are lovely and helpful. The bar is still all inclusive up to 1 a.m. instead of the usual 11 p.m. The hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms cleaned every day and towels changed every day. The Marina hotel is undergoing refurbishment but not during the summer. Both of the hotel blocks have been refurbished in the last 2 years as has the poolside bar at the main pool, the outdoor restaurant, reception and bar. I believe that the bungalows are next in line for refurbishment. The waiters have a fantastic sense of humour and have become our friends. The Italian animation team are really good fun - do some silly things but are a good laugh. I will go back again and again. The town of Gouves is about a 10 minute walk away. The first thing you see as you walk up the street towards the town is the Irish bar which is a brilliant place to visit. George the owner is a lovely man and goes out of his way to please. There is a brilliant chinese at the top of the stretch - very reasonable and well worth a visit. The main town isn't very big compared to some resorts and is full mainly of bars and gift shops. It is much cheaper in Gouves than Stalis or Hersonnisos.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — Coming home
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilovecrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
17
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2007

This holiday started like the holiday from hell! Diverted to Athens airport for 2 hours as unable to get into Crete due to the most horrendous electrical storm and torrential rain. Thought we were never going to arrive and once we did definitely wished we hadn't!!

The hotel can only be described as decrepid. Horrible 1970s decor: pink dining room with quilted wall hangings to hide (unsuccessfully) the peeling paintwork. Bar area with multi-coloured disco themed ceiling - Saturday Night Fever eat your heart out! Furniture extremely dated and had definitely seen better days. As for the bedrooms, where do I start. Lumpy, uncomfortable beds. Rattling, drafty windows. Bathroom poor, rubbish shower attachment on tap. Hotel block looked more like a prison, thought we were in Prisoner Cell Block H. Whole place needs knocking down.

Food very unexciting. Luke warm and heavily recycled. 3 of our party had norovirus during the stay. Public areas not particularly clean.

The weather did eventually improve and we were able to sit by the pool, couldn't get in the pool though as water freezing cold. The beach is horrible, rubbish everywhere, much like the rest of the resort. Went out for walks around the complex, looks like a war zone or third world country. Rubbish strewn everywhere, cars dumped, stray dogs, abandoned houses, no beautiful scenery more like a slag heap, it is terrible.

My only advice is to tell you not to book this hotel, it should be classed as 1/2 star and really has no good points. I'd also advise not to go at end of season as weather very unpredictable and very few tourists around, feels kind of eerie.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunGoddess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kato Gouves hotels

Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Having booked our all inclusive holiday before discovering this excellent site we were horrified to read the reviews. It was with trepidation that we boarded the coach for our transfer to the Marina Hotel. To add to our fears we were the only people on the coach staying at the hotel. Upon reaching Gouves the drive in down narrow dusty lanes did nothing to allay our fears. Out of nowhere the Hotel seems to appear and we alighted the coach, retrieved our bags and entered the hotel, passing the cleaning staff polishing the marble steps. The impressive reception area was ahead of us and we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff. Once checked in our bags were taken by a porter to the bungalow that we had booked. As we walked through the grounds we felt a weight lift from our shoulders. I admit the bungalow's interior and furniture did appear a little dated, however it was spotlessly clean with good air con and all the essentials you could need. Good shower/bath, fridge etc

We went to breakfast and couldn't help but to be impressed by the range of food on offer from the buffet, a mountain of various types of loaves, choice of hot or cold breakfast and traditional Cretan breakfast. All the other meals had the same range of choice so you were never disappointed. Sarah the waitress was excellent very funny to watch when she became animated. When going got tough she got going. Service superb but best to arrive early at meal times to avoid long queues

The two pools were well maintained but being a beach lover we opted to use the sunbeds provided free to us on the beach a short walk across a fairly quiet road opposite the hotel. The facilities at the beach were excellent and the main man in charge always had a word with the regulars.

Multi-national hotel and the Italian entertainments team ensured that the activities were open to all. It was great watching the Euro beach football and volleyball tournement each afternoon.

Overall excellent holiday would definately stay again

  • Liked — The hideaway setting of the bungalows
  • Disliked — We were lucky but main hotel building air con only available between 6pm-6am
  • Tips/Secrets — Get to the buffet early especially peak holiday time late July - August
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lennysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2006

On arivel to the resort its dirty run down half built. filthy. the hotel on arivel looked good given a small glass of orange given keys to bungalows porter went of with our bags so fast that we lost him walkig around in the dark in the rain found the room in the end. room flooded. cleaner came swept room out and went we had to get her back again as we were still in puddles. the was plaster comming of the walls shower knee high mould and rust in bathroom. room very basic didnt tell us that the bungalows are on two floors and a pool view is not like there broucher as the trees are so big now they block all light and view noise from planes is very bad day and night. main building is clean food warm and a bit boaring. entertainment terrible general staff ok understand from others manager very rude to english. this is not a 4star hotel more like a 2/3 star not worth the money a great disapointment all round.

  • Liked — didnt
  • Disliked — mould rust knee high shower
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go to gouves
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marbessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

i can honestly say that our holiday was probably the worst so far, we have had.
we were put in the "bungalows" which are supposed to be for families but tiny and dirty! the bath was mouldy,floors were dirty,and the smell was musty- we have a baby but couldnt put her down at all because of the grime.
we are non-smokers but felt like we were on 20 a day when we got back..... everyone smoked including staff!
the management couldnt care less if you complain.. as countless people were,but to no avail.
the food was ok but warm not hot ...so whatever time you got to the restaurant it was the same.
i would advise anyone to save their money and book somewhere else as the hotel is as bad as the resort-terrible!
oh and the town near the hotel is a rubbish tip- bottles, food,dead animals,litter the area. filthy!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jainelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

On arrival we were not that impressed with the greeting we received, we were given a small tumble of orange and a set of keys for our room,there was no help with our bags and we struggled to our room which was a building outside of the hotel main building , it was dark and a good walk to our room. The room smelt of sewage in the mornings but cleared by the afternoon food was just warm and below required heat for health & safety of food (ie) meat & chicken. The menu was pretty much the same on a daily basis, althrough the day staff were more polite, the entertainment was poor,the rooms were clean but very basic the shower was half a metre from the floor which meant that you Had to hold the shower head in one hand and wash with the other, it was an add on not a proper shower,in our room we could not use the bath because the taps didn't work. There was some aircraft noise but not that bad,I have rated it wellbelow 4* because of my room and its contents,but we did not see any other rooms. We did speak to other holiday makers and they were of the same opinion

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank keithchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

I spent three days here in early October. When I arrived I asked for the air conditioning remote and the desk clerk and manager told me it was not longer available. Apparently they don't provide air conditioning after a certain date in the year. The fact that it was boiling hot didn't seem to make much difference.

The bigger problem was the mosquitoes. I couldn't open the windows to let in any fresh air because there was a large infestation of mosquitoes on the property. Each room had a "mosquitoe machine" but it didn't work because it was electric and the electrictiy goes off when you leave the room. Even with the windows closed they got in so I had both heat and bugs.

The management was pretty unhelpful about it but I did manage to get them to spray the room with insecticide on the second day.

I would have left and gone to another hotel but it was part of a package.

All in all, this is hotel is about the worst experience I've had and I couldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — closeness to a nice beach
  • Disliked — attitude of management
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.1 mi away
Hotel Despina
Hotel Despina
#135 of 171 in Hersonissos
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astir Beach
Hotel Astir Beach
#21 of 36 in Kato Gouves
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalia Beach Hotel
Kalia Beach Hotel
#25 of 36 in Kato Gouves
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gouves Bay Hotel
Gouves Bay Hotel
#27 of 36 in Kato Gouves
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
#13 of 36 in Kato Gouves
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Property: Marina Hotel
Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Gouves
Marina Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing