We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to perfect”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Most of the recent reviews below relate our experience of this hotel. We had a shared pool room at the front of the hotel over looking the sea in the 300 block. Very centrally located, ideal. You can't see the road at all, which runs along the front of the hotel between the small beach and hotel grounds, as the road is below the sightline of the these ground level rooms, this also keeps noise levels down although it is not a busy road. The road being lower makes the views very special. The same seascape creates the backdrop for the buffet breakfast and evening meals restaurant, The Kitchen, it is the nicest restaurant view we have seen in quite sometime. The sunsets were spectacular. The shared pool rooms are very comfortable, with their own private terrace, outside furniture and sun beds. We didn't use the large two communal pools once in 14 days. We didn't have to get involved in any fights for a sunbed thankfully, we did hear about one altercation over sunbeds at the main pool. We paid for privacy and that is what we got sort of....Wonderfully private, apart from the fact that sunbathers at the main pool are directly above you and often look over the the handrail/barrier across to the sea views and so can then look down directly onto you, which some did at great length it seemed!. However they are still not as close by as would be the case if you were laying on a sun lounger at the main pool. The premium we paid for our room was worth it and we would recommend upgrading if you can. Great views and privacy. We did find it strange that our terrace furniture consisted of one comfy armchair and one upright dining chair which was not comfy at all. So only one of us could be comfortable at a time on our terrace. We did ask the rep Henry to see if the upright chair could be exchanged for an armchair, but the best offer we had was from the maid who gave us a sleeping pillow to use on it! So we didn't use the shaded terrace as much as we would have liked too because one of us was always more comfortable than the other. As we had paid a premium for the room we did think we should have been able to make full use of the terrace we had in comparative comfort. I am writing about the shared pool room in detail as I have not been able to find any other reviews about these rooms specifically. Everyday around mid morning the restaurant manger came round with her staff with complimentary covered plates of fruit, so refreshing to eat when hot, and left it by the private and shared pools for guests - I don't think this was done for any of the other rooms. This was a lovely touch. The maid service was amazing, with daily fresh towels. You could change your hotel beach towels at The Bathhouse daily as well if you chose too. This is the same for all guests. Our bed was extremely comfortable. The shared pool rooms require you to share your reasonably sized pool with your immediate neighbour, so four folks to the one pool. This works well if you get good neighbours of course, so it is a bit of pot luck. For 7 of our 14 nights we had no neighbours so we had the pool to ourselves, which was a bonus. Then we had an English couple for a week who were very nice, fortunately. Then on our last weekend we had a young french couple who were very loved up, and I think sometimes forgot we were there, it was a bit awkward to see them canoodling in the pool and on their sunbeds, although I don't think my husband found it as awkward as I did!!! If you don't want to play neighbour roulette and can afford to, then upgrade to the private pool rooms, where you get a separate bedroom and living area and small pool to yourself, with terrace and furniture/sunbeds. The swimup pool masionnettes are toward the back of the complex, there is no seaview and your terrace is right next to the pool, but it is a communal pool for all guests who are swimming and sunbathing in close proximity to your room and terrace so it is not as private, or not really private at all.
We found the two reps Henry and Hannah helpful enough. We didn't get particularly warm vibes though. Their welcome talk was informative. The entertainment duo, Lauren and Pete were pretty good, and we happily wiled away an evening listening to them, some nights were better than others. Gemma was very good, very sociable, and a great singer. The ambiance of the hotel livened up in our second week in the evenings as it seemed much fuller and The Tholos Bar next to the main pool was much busier. The Saxophone player was brilliant, and we loved listening to him. A cocktail special was on every night for 5 euros which was very reasonable. My fav was the Cuba Libra. The bars outside the hotel are cheaper and pleasant enough and make for a change in scenery. Many guests use these tavernas it seems. The location of the hotel is the best in the area. Don't bother taking the little 'Noddy train' for 9 euros that stops on the beach road in front of the hotel. It is a waste of money and just takes you across a wasteland that is vandalised and shabby. It does show you where the Aquarium and Dinosaurworld is though! It doesn't drop-off and pickup, so you are on a round trip. Gouves proper is a bit of a walk and if it is really hot then it can be quite a trek. Just touristy shops etc when you get there. We went to Agios Nikolaos on the bus proper, which is well worth it and very cheap. The bus stop, number 15 , is at the top of the road running away from the beach past bakery and up to the T junction, and then cross over the road (carefully) and turn left and walk for 200 yards or more to get to the stop. We managed it, so imagine most folks could. Agios Nikolaos is beautiful and full of quality shops etc and much prettier than Gouves by a long way.
We also went on the 4x4 trip. This was superb. Darryl our driver and guide was first rate, and made the day for us. He was so knowledgeable and interesting. I was a bit worried that the trip was going to be arduous, but it was fine, a bit bumpy in parts. Visiting the birthplace of Zeus, a cave in the mountainside above The Lasithi Plateau , was brilliant. The stalagmites and stalactites were phenomenal. Crete doesn't have the same level of H&S rules it would seem as UK when descending 200 wet steps and returning, but it was fine. If you go on this trip wear sensible shoes (it is quite a steep climb up to the cave, and rocky in parts) and you will want water if it is hot. We both found it a very hot and longish climb, but we aren't as fit as we should be! This was a full day trip, lunch was fab. We would do this trip again. The Greek night, booked through Thomsons, was rubbish and a waste of money. The traditional Cretan village is one house, in and out in under 5 minutes, the wine tasting was non existent and the Cretan staff didn't make it clear where to go or what to do as our party made our way to the main eating area, so no wine tasting or feta. The eating and entertainment area was huge and over 600+ folks were crammed in sooo tightly that we could hardly move our arms to eat our very poor meal, this is not an exaggeration. The entertainment was based on authentic greek tradition but was definitely tailored toward the very mass tourist market. This is a cynical cash making event which relies on making folks drunk on cheap wine so that they think they are having a good time because they are drunk. We were not drunk. The high point of the trip was meeting other holidaymakers and having a bit of a laugh. Thomsons should drop this event or downsize it to make it more authentic. We got fed up with the buffet evening meals at the hotel after about 7 days. We thought the selection fair, very fresh fruit, salad and a wide variety of choices, especially at breakfast. We realise half board is not for us, this is not the hotel's fault. Eva, the hotel manager was excellent. We had a great greek language lesson with her, we weren't very good at it! Her team were exceptionally hard working. We had no problem with speed of service or getting drinks etc. The Al a Carte restaurant, The Taverna, was a disappointment, the free meal, while 5 courses, was average, and this is the only time the waiter service faltered, our waiter got somewhat confused and kept bringing us the wrong course. I agree with another reviewer that The Yacht Beachside bar was under utilised, and we would have been happy to sit there with a drink and have uninterrupted views of the sea had it been open in the evening. Neither The Tholos Bar, by the main pool, nor The Stone Bar (daytime snacks, very nice), have open seaviews as they are set just a little far back but there is nothing between them and the sea, you just need to be standing up to see it. There seems to be a pretty constant sea breeze, which can be quite stiff at times. However when so hot this is welcome. It does make the sea a bit choppy though, and quite challenging if you are not a confident swimmer. The beach is narrow but sandy and shallow walking into the sea which made it more manageable. The sea was crystal clear and very warm. On a couple of days the breeze dropped and the sea was very calm, perfect for swimming.
The hotel is on the flight path to Iraklion and planes fly overhead every 10 minutes or so, they are just high enough not to be a problem, but every now and again an extra loud one goes over. It didn't bother us at all but it might some folks. The rooms are very quiet, very energy efficient, with the air con not working unless the patio doors are shut, and electric switches off when you remove your room keycard from the scan switch on the wall when you enter. Remember this if trying to recharge your phone etc when not in the room. We would go back to this hotel upgrading to a sole use pool room, but only B&B, and we would hire a car so we had more flexibility with regards access to more of Crete and alternative eating options. Overall very nice hotel. Near to perfect.

Room Tip: Upgrade as high as you can to get seaview and own or shared pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VADM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
There are newer reviews for The Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,972 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The first views of the hotel can actually been seen from the air 5 mins before the plane lands at Heraklion airport. From the first impressive glimpse you can tell that you are in for a treat if you stay here.

The reception - is clean - and (as most areas) well air conditioned. The staff are a delighrt. They are helpfull, knowlegeable and friendly. One of the receptionists spoke dutch,english,german,french adressing one customer after another whilst speaking on the telephone in greek! I cannot speak too highly of them. The waiters/waitresses/cleaners are scrupulously clean and tidy, polite,friendly and helpfull.

The hotel itself is just right for a relaxing break. The room was clean,well maintained and decorated. It was not the biggest of rooms but it ts space was maximised very cleverly particularly in the shower/toilet area.
***NOTE : IT IS MORE THAN WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY TO GET A SEA VIEW ROOM
We are 'balcony people' and i was delighted with the size of the balcony which in effect was another room! There was a quirky thing that happened though - betweenn the hours of 9pm - 11pm the balcony light came on on could not be switched off??? This was the same for every balcony.

The food ....... wow the food was simply great. More on the international side than greek side, though there was always a cretan speciality dish every evening.
Breakfast was an event - anythink you wanted including a freshly cooked omlette with fillings of your choice. One morning we even got champaigne. The FULL ENGLISH had everything including ENGLISH sausage as well as the cocktail thingies with 32 types of PROPER bacon and ........ BLACK PUDDING. I was amazed. Even my vegetarian other half (who only normaly eats like a mouse) managed to have propper filling and interesting breakfasts each day.
Breakfast was an informal affair with blokes wearing - well- blokey things - t-shirts and shorts mostly.
Evening dinners were a more formal affair with men having to wear long trousers and women having the opportunity to wear and show off those dinner/cocktail dresses.
As well as the main eating/buffet area there were also a couple of quieter areas ajoining and this suited us better than the run and grab hurly burley of the buffet buffallo stampede.
We got the chance to spend one evening in the a- la carte dining room (with served 6 course meal) in the TAVERNA as part of our booking deal. This was a very elegant silver service job and finished with entertainment from the resident duo (ok) and the entertainments manager(fantastic voice and personality). So you can finish the night off in easy chairs sipping your chosen cocktail/nightcap.

The grounds are neat and well maintained and the activities are all available but not pushed at you. The entertainment was ok (not realy our thing) but the enrtertainments manager had a FANTASTIC voice and range of songs - from 60's jazz,swing to abba and some opera.

The drinks were a little expensive even for a hotel but each night the hotel had a differet special cocktail which was reduced to 5.50 euro.

The main pool was always full early by the young 'look at mee's (towels on sunbeds before 8.30 etc but there is a quieter smaller pool available. if pool hols are your thing then i don't think you will be dissapointed here However I sat on one of the 'canopy beds' near the pool one evening to try it ....YEAUCHHH !!! slimy with suntan oil and wet from damp towels and .... well iwon't dwell on it. Safe to say - not for me - unlike the variuos hammocks which are under shaded areas dotted in the grounds. I'm a big chap and they were still very capable of giving me a nice comfy safe place to relax with a beer or two!

The beach is only a few steps out of the hotel door through the main garden (DONT FORGET YOUR ENTRY CARD KEY to get back in). We were under the impression from thomson that it was a private beach - IT ISN'T and got very very busy with local families (and very happy very vocal kidds) at the weekend.

The beach was unfortunately not very clean with cig ends etc regularly littering the thin strip of sand. BUT ITS THE HOLIDAY MAKERS WHO ARE TO BLAME!
The sea was a mixture - some days rough with waves breaking even out to sea(which made for a little excitement). Other days quite calm with a few ripples in crystal clear blue water.
There was a life guard on duty every day who was always on the ball if people strayed out too far or into his boat launching lane between the buoy markers.

***** The holiday was advertised by thomsons as adults only COUPLES getaway. However there were several intances of children/families in the hotel.******* and lots on the beach.That said it didn't really spoil anything. An MP3 player and earphones covers a multitude of noises that kids seem able to make- lol. Though a little crowded we always got sunbeds and parasol(free for residents) whatever time of day we we hit the beach.

We were more than satisfied with a fantastic luxury,relaxing break but my one major criticism would be that the hotel lacked a bit of character. We have been holidaying on the greek islands for the last 25 years now because we love the people,the food, the ambience. Unfortunately depite a greek evening (which cost extra) we could have almost have been in ANY hotel in any country. Even the surrounding tavernas didn't make much of its heritage etc preffering to play modern pop music rather than the familiar greek 'tinkly tinkly music' as i like to call it.
We found the surrounding area of Gouves to be rather lifeless and almost completely dead in the daytime.

There is a little train that runs along the sea front which you can catch outside the hotel. Beware the times are a bit random though a timetable proudly displays the times that it is SUPPOSED to run and costs about 8 euros. I wouldn't bother catching it in the day as Gouves seems to be completely asleep until the evening and I don't think theres enough to see to make it worth while.

Rather than paying for the (IMHO) overpriced trips offered by reps why not try the local transport which runs from early doors to early evening. WE made the 1 hour bus trip to Agios Nicholias. Buses are from the bus stop 5 mins walk left (stop 15) or right (stop 14) from the top of the main rd (which is a 10 min walk from the hotel).It cost us just over 4E each for each direction. JUst head for the BAKERY and keep going till you hit the main rd. Buses are big,airconditioned with an english speaking and generaly helpfull local and run every hour. They seem to appear on time but make sure you flag them down - we saw a couple miss ours because they got up from their bench too slowly and failed to attract the drivers attention. They would have another hour to wait in the baking sun in the middle of nowhere. The bus ends at either and AG NI or Heraklion at the bus terminal, Air conditioned with snacks etc.

THe minus points with the holiday/hotel are all small niggly things almost too small to mention. All of this said it was a FANTASTIC holiday experience. - you could do a lot worse in spending your hard earned euros on a luxury break.WE would HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: I would recommend a high floor (lifts on each floor) in the main hotel with a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We thought this hotel was really brilliant.

The cleanliness/design - the hotel is spotlessly clean throughout, both in the public areas and in the room. The pool and area is also entirely spotless. It has a modern almost minimalist design but is very comfortable. The layout is slightly sprawling – with lots of different interconnecting buildings facing lots of different directions. When we arrived (as part of a package with a number of others) we were taken as a group to our rooms by a receptionist, as I think we’d have got lost on our own!

Pool area/s and leisure – there are two main pool areas. One has a view of the sea (which is just across the road) and is very deep. It is quite large and never felt crowded. There seemed to be plenty of sunbeds, some single beds and some double beds for sharing. There are also numerous umbrellas available. The design is very nice and relaxing and as it is an ‘adults only’ hotel its very quiet. The other pool area is surrounded by rooms and doesn’t have a sea view. It is smaller and more shallow, but absolutely spotless and lots of shade if needed. Some of the rooms open straight onto this pool area. There is an indoor pool as part of the spa but we didn’t use this. There are also tennis courts, a table tennis table, two pool tables and an air hockey and table football set. There is a shop on site which we thought was really good, not too expensive and sold a range of products (clothing, food, drinks, snacks, suncream).

Bars and restaurants – there are two main bars within the hotel. One opens out on to the main pool area and has plenty of outdoor seating. There is an acoustic duo who play outside most evenings. They usually have a cocktail on ‘offer of the day’ most evenings too. The other bar is just off reception, near the library, but we didn’t use this. There are two main restaurants – one is buffet style and the other is a la carte. We ate breakfast and dinner in the buffet restaurant most days. Whilst a buffet style restaurant is not everyone’s cup of tea, we thought it was fine. There is both outdoor and indoor seating and plenty for everyone so you can choose where you sit. The outdoor seating is really lovely as you have views of the sea/sunset as you have your dinner. There are lots of different options on the buffet and a ‘show cooking’ area so everyone should find something they like. Wine/drinks are ordered separately from waiters and waitresses. Generally the service is fantastic – the only small complaint we would have was the time it took for the wine to be brought to our table some evenings. We ate in the a la carte restaurant one night – this was also good but personally I preferred more choice from the buffet restaurant. Also the a la carte restaurant is towards the back of the hotel so the views are not as good (in my view!). As is standard in most large hotels, men are asked to wear trousers in both restaurants for dinner. There is also a snack/lunch bar near the pool. This looked good but we didn’t eat there so can’t comment.

The room – the room we had was a sea view room. There are a number of different options of rooms to choose from which means you should get the one you want. It was clean and comfortable. There is a small fridge and also a safe. The aircon was fine. The balcony did have a seaview, but I had a slight disappointment (my only one!) in that we’d ordered a seaview (and paid extra for this) but I felt it was more of a side seaview, whereas others have full seaviews.
Location – The hotel is directly across the road (not busy) from the sandy beach, and there is a supermarket a couple of minutes walk up the road to the left. There is a road at the back of the hotel with a number of bars and restaurants which are generally very good, some Greek tavernas and some cocktail bars. They weren’t loud or late into the evening and were a nice alternative to the hotel. There are also a few car hire places. Gouves itself hasn’t got much to speak of. The resort seems to be in two parts – at one end (where the Island is), there are mainly hotels and some bars and restaurants. About a mile (perhaps less) up the road is the other (larger) part which has some shops and more restaurants. The shops consist of a few supermarkets, some clothes/electrical shops, a variety of different bars and some more hotels. There’s also a marina.

Overall – we really enjoyed the hotel and commented a number of times that we couldn’t understand why it doesn’t have a 5 star rating! Its a fantastic choice for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The sea view is probably worth the extra
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beccy12001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We recently returned from a very relaxing week at this lovely hotel.It was all we had hoped for and more.So much has been said about the hotel, it's amenities and food that I have nothing to add.Every lunch time we ate at the Medusa tavern just outside the gates of the hotel
,the food there was traditional, home cooked of a very high standard, and extremely reasonably priced.Do give it a try and I am sure you will be as impressed as we were.
You will be made very welcome by Antonio.
Janet and Geoff Wright.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millbrookMonmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is lovely, beautifully clean with lovely staff. We were really lucky as we booked a sea view room but got a free upgrade to a suite! We didn't find a problem with getting a subbed but, although we hate to do it, you really needed to reserve them with a towel and book before you went in for breakfast!

The breakfast was really good with loads of choice but dinner wasn't great. There was a chef one night cooking chicken kebabs, which were raw inside, so avoid those. The salad was good but the hot stuff wasn't hot unless they had just put it out. We ate three nights at George's which is just outside the back of the hotel. The food there was great and George and the staff are really friendly. You could have a meal for two with a carafe of wine and a large and small beer for about 22 euros. The drinks there were loads cheaper too. About 4 euros for a gin and tonic compared with 6 euros 50 cents in the hotel. We added up how much extra half board had cost and found it would be cheaper to go bed and breakfast and eat out every night.

It is easy to get a bus to chersonnissos, agios nikolios or Heraklion. We got the bus to chersonnissos and it was only 1 euro 60 cents each way. Apparently it was about 5 euros to ag nik which is nothing considering it is about 50 km away. To get to the bus stop, walk up to the main road and turn lft. Cross over the road and keep going for about 10 minutes and you'll come across it. It is dead opposite the one you will get off at when you come back. It is bus stop 15 whic is what you ask for on your return journey. There is a conductor on the bus who shouts out the stops as you get to them.

I would definitely go back to the hotel but only on a b&b basis.

Room Tip: Go b&b to afford a better room. Sea view is worth it. Garden rooms are more jungle view. I overh...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nobody can dispute that The Island is a beautiful and idyllic place to get away with your partner; however we (and others after discussion) came across a couple of problems.
I went to The Island with my boyfriend, brother and his partner. It was suggested to my brother and his partner by a Thomson advisor as being the perfect couples retreat.

FOOD
Good selection- however sometimes cold, which is fair to expect when it's a buffet. We found that 7:30 is a mark when most goods are restocked but by 8pm, it was all cold again.
For breakfast just go straight up and grab your food, then find a table and you will be offered tea or coffee (IF YOU’RE LUCKY) when you are seated. We found a few waiters are happy to pretend they can't see you. For dinner, go in, sit down, order your drinks and when they arrive, go and get your food. This is because they waiters/resses are happy to let you eat your meal before finally giving it to you.
The A La Carte was beautiful - well worth it and better service. You must take advantage as it is FREE if you are with Thomson!!!

HOTEL ROOM
It was very clean and tidy. The cleaners do an excellent job and work harder than any I've ever come across. They are also very pleasant as you are leaving your room. Beds are very comfy and our shower was great as well - however my brother and his partner had a lot of trouble with theirs.

HOTEL REPS
AWFUL!!! We were misinformed about various things. We went on an excursion to Spinalonga (The Leper Island) and we were told everything was included in the 59Euro price. However, it was a further 2Euros each to get ON to the island. It was not the price that was the issue, but some people did not bring a purse as they were told there was no need, and my partner and I ended up paying for strangers so their trip was not wasted. I was not told I needed to cover up and was given dirty looks from staff. Finally we were told there 'might be a little opportunity for a quick dip' however it turns out it was a whole 1hr15 devoted to swimming before our BBQ and numerous people didn't bring their swimwear as the way it was described was something quick and optional. So there were 7 people sat on the boat (all from our hotel funnily enough) looking glum while every body else had an amazing time in the sea.
We were also royally ignored by Hannah at our farewell cocktails. I think she knew we were irritated. Because of this we did not know details of our departure then had to seek out this information elsewhere. THERE ARE MANY OTHER EXAMPLES BUT I WILL BORE YOU!

ENTERTAINMENT
Gemma was great, bubbly and pleasant to everyone. She makes the effort to stop for a chat and check how you’re getting on, despite that not being her job. (Events co-ordinator.) She has a wonderful singing voice so if you get the chance go and see her! She also runs Yoga which was great and various other activities (darts, French boulles etc) There was also a great and funny singing duo, saxophonist, pianist etc.


EXCURSIONS
If you can afford and have the day free PLEASE go on the 4x4 adventure!!!!!!
Best day of the holiday and something I will never forget. I am a very nervous traveller but was persuaded to do this by my boyfriend as it is a once in a life time opportunity. Simon, our guide was funny, confident and reassuring and put me at ease straight away. We learnt more from his tour than we did our qualified travel guide at Spinalonga. He was full of knowledge and kept us informed without being patronising. Simon made the trip excellent for the 8 of us in the Landrover. On this trip you visit;
Zeus’ Fertility Tree
Goat Valley (goats climb trees!!!)
Zeus’ cave (absolute highlight – amazing!! If you go up here do NOT ask for a donkey ride. The owners are cruel and hit, whip and spit at them)
There were also glorious view stops of the plateau where you can see a spectacular view and Marbella Bay.
Stop to try the local Raki and honey.
BBQ stop with AMAZING food and great choice.

I would only advise to go to Spinalonga if you have a family. But this may be because we were so ill informed.
In this trip you
Go to Alunde(??), get on a big comfortable boat, sail over to Spinalonga. The information is fascinating if you can even hear your guide – it’s very windy up there. IT’S TWO EUROS TO GET ON THE ISLAND! Take the correct change too as they won’t give you any back. Then you get back on the boat and sail to a beach where you go swimming for 1Hr15 – take swimwear and a change of clothes. The BBQ is being cooked in front of the boat – you can see it all being cooked. It was beautiful quality pork with fresh salad, feta cheese, potato and a pear for dessert with a choice of white wine or fanta for a drink. Then you get back on the boat and sail back to Alunde for a coffee break (price not included) and a look around the shops. Worth it if you can do more than one excursions.

We also hired a quad bike to drive to Chersonisoss which was a 20 minute journey on an 80cc quad. This cost 25Euros for the day – until 10pm. Good day out and a lot more lively than Gouves.

OTHER RESTURAUNTS.
The restaurants just outside the hotel are worth a shout. Kon Dim Sur (The one with the fire things outside it) offers free WIFI, excellent reasonable priced food, excellent service from a great waiter and free TV to watch football etc.
Also try Milos, A 5 minute walk from the hotel with excellent steaks.

OTHER
The WIFI at the Island was good if you could even connect to the bloody thing, but there are two reliable computers free to use in the reception.
The reception is 24hr which is great if you arrive late and have trouble with your room. They are very pleasant and informative and speak a variety of languages.
There were always sunbeds available even after 10am.
We used the spa to get massages - we all agreed it was worth the 40 euros!!!! Amazing.
Don’t expect great things at the airport. There is a lack of food places, it is unorganised and chaotic. But it got us home safe and that’s all the matters!!


I hope this is helpful. I'm sure there are 100's of spelling mistakes but this was done in a rush!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is by far the best on the island of Crete, We could not fault anything, the food, the cleanliness, the staff, the amenities all fantastic

I have recommended the hotel to several of my friends and family and those that have been have also been 100% pleased with the complete experience

Brilliant place......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueLionLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
3.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
1.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#9 of 35 in Elounda
1,471 reviews
43.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Address: Vlihadas Street | Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Pantheon Palace Beach Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#3 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $97 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantheon Palace Beach Gouves
Hotel Pantheon Palace Beach
The Island Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing