We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Island Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Lavris Hotels & Spa(Kato Gouves)
$86
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$291
$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sweet Memory Apartments(Kato Gouves)(Great Value!)
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hara Ilios Hotel(Kato Gouves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St. Constantin Hotel(Kato Gouves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Despina Apartments(Kato Gouves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cosmi Apartments(Kato Gouves)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,052)
Filter reviews
2,052 results
Traveler rating
1,310
573
132
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,310
573
132
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstholos barthomson repssea viewacross the roadmain pooldouble sunbedsbreakfast and dinnershared poolveranda baropen planlovely hotelfree saferelaxing holidayrelaxing poolfree bottlekon dim arbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,323 - 1,328 of 2,052 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel in Crete. Very centrally located on the island. Rooms spread around a very clean, quiet and well maintained complex. Food was very good, much better than expected for buffet style eating. Main pool areas were immaculate and the evening entertainment was varied and served its purpose. Access to beach was very easy, nice beach, small and used by the locals as well. Do not expect it to be child free, it is a public beach with private areas.

Room Tip: The sea facing suites are the best. Though, any room is very good. Excellent beds.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OutOfCountryLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelCrete, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review about our hotel and services, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have already reviewed this hotel when we visited in May 2012, and this one is late, the hotel is a real delight, quiet & peaceful, perfect for a relaxing break.
Hence why we re-visited again, and plan on going again this year.
Yes, it is in a quiet area, but this is what we love about it, also no guests under 18.
Breakfast is lovely, great eating on the lovely terrace on a sunny morning, evening meal is a changing buffet, with a choice for everyone.
If you fancy a change, both for eating and for a drink there is a good choice of bars and tavernas just outside the hotel only a short walk or stagger away.
Our favourite was Medusa, always greeted by the enthusiastic Antonio, and his lovely family, ably assisted by George. The home cooked food, by his mother, and the cocktails are fantastic too.
We can't wait to go back again to this lovely hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kimesmirh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelCrete, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for writing your review.
A review which shows us that our efforts are being appreciated and that these efforts do result in a very pleasant Holiday for our guests, which is what we are aiming for.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I visited this hotel with my boyfriend last summer, it is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.
Firstly it is an adults only hotel which means no screaming kids, perfect.
The location is excellent, about 20 minutes from the airport and it's right on the beach. However there isn't much near the hotel, just a few bars and restaurants. We visited the restaurant right opposite the hotel a couple of times and the food was excellent as was the owner.
The hotel is gorgeous and clean. There is a choice of two pools, both had actual beds which was amazing, also there was no rush to claim sunbeds, we would simply do this around 10 am after breakfast.
Our room was very modern and clean however we only had a small balcony with no view.
The staff were exceptional, so friendly and the bar staff would remember your orders. There are a number of delicious cocktails which we took advantage of every night, they are a bit pricey but who cares when you're on holiday.
The hotel manager was always present, she was also really friendly and happy to help.
We particularly liked George, who seemed to work 24/7 but was always happy and was a pleasure to talk to.
The entertainment was great, especially Nic and Dan, the singer and guitarist. They were great and also played a number of our requests!
My only criticism is the food in the evening, being a vegetarian there wasn't much choice and I'm not a fan of buffet style catering where you end up with a number of random items on your plate. Despite this the food at the pool side bar was lovely as was breakfast. There was plenty of outdoor seating which was great.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples looking for a quiet relaxing holiday.
Top tip = don't drink too much raki!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NJM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelCrete, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding our
hotel!
I am certainly very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The hotel.
When you decide to come and stay at The Island Hotel again, please notify us in advance and it will be our pleasure to make your stay, once again, exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is the best in gouves!
Excellent location (right on the beach), very clean, great pools, superb staff!
Rooms were beautiful with great views, very clean and obviously well maintained.
The two pools are great and there are a few activities to take part in, but are completely optional and there are no pushy staff / reps pestering you to get involved.
The food is good (wasn't mind blowing) but very good. I found myself eating at a little taverna / restaurant which is right next door to the hotel. It is called 'medusa' and is a great place for lunch and dinner. I would highly recommend paying it a visit.
Entertainment was extremely good.
Best member of staff was a lady called 'popi' at the tholos bar in the hotel. Very friendly and great company :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Horsehair100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelCrete, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive reply concerning The Island. We are pleased that you think highly of our service and staff and I will be sure to forward your compliments.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely friendly staff - no disrespect or snubbing, beautiful setting, view and scenery! Perfect for couples ready to relax by the pool. Room was modern and comfortable, and cleaned regularly. Half board - food was amazing, beautiful spread for breakfast and different themes for dinner - greek, italian, s.american, etc. Will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelCrete, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We enjoyed reading your review, thank you for your friendly words and your compliments regarding the hotel and the services provided by us.
You mentioned that you would definitely be coming back, it would be our pleasure to welcome you once more at The Island.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews