We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply..it is perfect!”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
constanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“simply..it is perfect!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We landed at 18:30 , arrived at the hotel at 19:00 , super fast check in and directly to dinner.The food is very good, and drinks come cheap! Every evening has a diferent theme: spanish, italian, french , greek, etc. We had a huge room: a double superior plus , with sea view, with jacuzzi just near your bed, btw BIG BED AND COMFY!, bathrobes, slippers, a botle of water comes complimentary every day! The hotel has its own beach, its free for the guests! We also rented a car from nearby( 200 meters or so) for just 35 euros/ per day and visited a lot!
THANK YOU EVA and THE ISLAND GOUVES for your warm service and for sure see you again next summer!

Room Tip: bigger is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank razvan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheIslandHotelCrete, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments and words!
As Eva would say: 'Parakalo' (translation: You're welcome).
It was our pleasure, and we are awaiting you this year again!

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    544
    122
    26
    9
See reviews for
88
1,602
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for a fortnight end of September changed to a sea view on arrival as recommend by other reviews what a room it was what the staff called the sexy room. Staff out of this world Nicole in the kitchem gave us a gift of her home made oil and some oozo to take home from front desk to maids everyone great. Only problem we had was the Duo she could not hold a note murdered every thing she sang Thomson normally have first class acts at Gold Hotels please look into the entertainment side of this hotel. Meals gave us no problems I like my food hot and never had a problem good variety and sitting out looking at the sea at meal times what more could you ask for.Not much to do at night outside the hotel probably as the season was coming to an end.We will be back by then they may have changed rep and entertainment.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank walburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHAMPTONSHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a lovely Hotel which pays great attention to detail.
The surroundings are tranquil and totally relaxing. We spent most of our time around the Quiet Pool only a stones throw from our room, no 812, and although we didn't try out the much larger main pool,as we were quite happy to sit and read, we could see it was equally relaxing and pleasant.
This Hotel is a 'Four star plus' in our opinion, and as a couples/adults only experience, ideal for a complete getaway. Attention was paid to the general ambiance of the site and it was decorated with lovely places to sit and enjoy. The entertainment was essentially low key, but of very good quality, and the food was good on the whole, with plenty of choice.
The 'A la Carte' restaurant was particularly good and we enjoyed a free experience of this, as a special offer to all guests from the Hotel.
The room we occupied was not particularly large, but very nicely decorated and furnished, and the balcony was overlooking a small orchard at the back . This hotel is very large, but it doesn't seem to be, as there are so many quiet and secluded places to enjoy and it is not a high rise monstrosity.
The female manager was very engaging and actively present and welcoming and all staff were very professional, friendly and accommodating.
The beach, though small, was very good and the sea shallow and safe for swimming. There is a bar at the hotel which serves the beach and lots of local vendors selling fresh fruit and various cakes regularly visit.
There is a promenade outside the hotel and shops and Tavernas nearby. Kato Gouves is relatively quiet and in some need of structural updating, but we particularly wanted to be in a less popular area, so were very pleased with our resort choice. The only thing perhaps which should be mentioned, is that their are planes flying overhead, but this did not have any real impact on our stay.
We have both said that we will be returning to this brilliant Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jaklynba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a wonderful week here, enjoying the lovely food, beautiful sea views and the hotel itself which is stylish, clean and very well run. There are two pools, plus the beach just across the quiet road is excellent for swimming in the clear turquoise sea. There are lovely walks along the seafront. By bus it is easy to reach Heraklion, Ag Nik and hiring a car enables you to visit the Lessithi Plateau which is scenic and unique.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view- the island offshore is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ALIF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

During the last week of October 2011 my Partner and I enjoyed our time at this hotel so much that without hesitation we decided to return again during their last week of operation, 7th to 14th October this year.
It is often said that a return visit is a disappointment, when compared to the first.
Definately not the case with the "Island"; it was even better second time around!
The hotel covers quite an extensive area, everywhere being exceptionally clean, tidy and well managed.
Our room Maid was exceptional (502).
Each and everyone of the Hotel Employees was completely dedicated, happy, smiling and very willing to please. Quite an achievement when you consider their economic situation.
Something we might learn in the U.K.
Throughout the week at all mealtimes the selection was wide and varied; something for everyone and all of a high standard. At no time did I see anything "below par" and believe me I spend a lot of time "inspecting".
Mentioned in another review, a lunchtime visit to Paradises is very worthwhile, and for car hire we were very pleased with the service provided by Mike, just along the road.
For comfort, relaxation, dedicated Staff and good food this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EDDY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel. For the first week in October the weather was amazing, hot sunny and that lovely warm breeze that cools the skin whilst sunbathing. The previous review says it all, this is a very clean modern hotel. The staff were so nice and friendly and nothing was a bother. Food really nice although we sometimes struggled with the choice of the main evening course, but that was probably our problem and not the hotels. However we did have a problem with the cats, whilst very cute they were a nuisance in the restaurant , where they roamed freely and were often fed titbits by guests. We especially enjoyed a pre evening drink in the Island Taverna which overlooks the bay towards Heraklion, again the staff were really friendly and what a place to watch the sunset. All in all this is a great hotel for a chill out holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Freda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After the summer we have endured in the UK we were really looking forward to our first visit to Greece. We had read all the reviews before going but having been recommended by our son and his fiance, who visited in June, we half knew what to expect, and we weren't disappointed.
Rather ironically, we were in room 516, next door to the previous reviewer and agree with most of what they have said.

The hotel covers a large area and consists of two main buildings separated by well laid out and maintained grounds. The levels differ all over the site so it is not really suitable for anyone with limited mobility but these levels create plenty of variety and different character areas. Once we mastered the knack of getting into the double hammocks, we enjoyed quiet times together, gently swinging back and forth in the shade of one of the many mature palm trees.

As others have mentioned, the area around the hotel has little to offer, and Thomson's description of what the village of Gouves has to offer, uses more than a little 'artistic licence'. Having seen it from the bone shaker 'wally trolley' train, we felt no desire to wander round what is best described as a scruffy village with too many closed and abandoned premises, very little to offer.

We had intended to hire a car for a couple of days but opted instead for a couple of the Thomson trips. Firstly we went to the palace of Knossos on their Myths and Legends Tour which was a half day tour. The first half of the tour was to the palace which was fabulous, with so much history, (dating back to 7000BC!) but we started to find out that there was very little genuine evidence as most of what we were looking at was reconstructions. After the palace we were driven further inland to what was promised to be 'a pretty little Cretan town that has won architectural wards' ???? Really? The scenery there and back was lush and green and very different to the area around Gouves but to be honest, they could have saved the petrol and taken us back to the hotel.

Our second trip was to the Leper island of Spinalonga and the harbour of Elounda. Again, this was broken into two parts. The first part, a coach trip to Elounda, then boat trip to the island was great and we found the island had a fascinating history and our guide was full of facts and very informative. After that we were back on the boat to be taken to a 'secluded beach' on the other side of the island for a BBQ prepared by the staff of the boat and a chance to swim in the turquoise waters. Great if you are a swimmer. What we found was that we moored just off the rocks next to a very average beach big enough for about 50 people. The problem was that we were one of 5 or 6 boats each carrying 100+ people!!

Our advice to others would be to skip the trips and hire a car locally, or book it on line before you go, for delivery to the hotel. Thomson quoted 55euros a day for car hire but you could get on for 30-35euros by doing it yourself. For the cost of the two trips we could have hired a car for six days!!!

The staff were really friendly and eager to chat and their mastery of our language put us to shame. A few deserve a special mention; Popi in the Tholos bar was always friendly and smiling, There was a good selection of drinks on offer although the measures were a bit too much like the UK, rather than Spain. Nicole in the restaurant, who produces her own Extra Virgin Olive Oil and red wine during the 6 month shut down, and the lady who ran the Stone bar, (didn't catch her name, sorry). She told us that we (the Brits) had done the Olympics proud.

In summary, the Island Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break by the pool and the beach, but next time we will get a car for a few days and explore more of the island. We are already planning to return next year.

Room Tip: Aim for side or garden rooms to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank nosmadanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
3.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,966 reviews
1.4 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
1.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
23.2 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#8 of 35 in Elounda
1,434 reviews
42.7 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 175 in Rethymnon
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Property: The Island Hotel
Address: Vlihadas Street | Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Pantheon Palace Beach Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#3 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantheon Palace Beach Gouves
Hotel Pantheon Palace Beach
The Island Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing