We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon!!”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently returned from our 2 week honeymoon in The Island Hotel and all we have to say is - WOW!! As soon as you arrive off the coach, you know its going to be the perfect holday... The hotel is very modern and spotless!! The room was a nice size with a huge bed, The rooms were cleaned to a good standard everyday and a fresh bottle of water was placed in your room! We spent our time around the small quiet pool which was perfect. We managed to get a sunbed everyday no problem (Although people do still put there towels down on the beds and vanish for a good few hours). I was a little worried about the food, We had booked half board and read some bad comments on the food... We found it absolutly perfect, There was plenty of choice, A different theme everynight... We stayed for 2 weeks and you would expect the food to get boring and repetative but we found it beautiful every single day! We had planned to eat out some nights before the holiday but as the resturant was situated over looking the beach and watching the sunset go down every night and the quality of the food we found there was no need to eat out! Breakfast there was a fry up every morning, fruit, cereal, pancakes etc what more do people expect? And as I say in the evening there were themed nights, There was also a chef cooking on a wok some nights and kebabs some nights!! The choice was incredible!! For lunch we ate in the resturant in the hotel a couple of times but mainly ate out, There are plenty of resturants both on the beach front or out the front of the hotel, cheap and good food!! We hired a quadbike and a car through Mike Tours just outside the hotel, quad bike for a day - 20 euros!! Cracking experience and a car for 2 days 84 euros which we found alot cheaper than if you booked via Thomson. We went to Watercity and Spinalonga both really good trips, altho Spinalonga can turn into a bit of a history lesson.. If your looking for a lively holiday then this is not for you... If you are looking to get away, chill out, completly relax and enjoy the sun!! Then this is paradise!! We had the best honeymoon and would 110% go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
There are newer reviews for The Island Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,972 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

To escape the weather in England we booked a week at The Island. The weather was perfect as was the hotel, especially as it was child free. We upgraded to a suite and it was well worth the extra cost. It was light, spacious, had a walk in wardrobe, separate double shower, 2 sets of patio doors and great balcony furniture, as well as a super comfortable bed. As everyone has said the hotel is very clean, quiet, relaxing, with plenty of different area's to sit, 2 swimming pools (1 main 1 quiet) and several places to have a drink. The sandy beach is literally across the road and has plenty of sun loungers. The food was good and what you would expect from a 4* hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful especially Sandra and Eva at reception. There are a few bars and supermarkets outside the hotel. We tried most of the bars and they were great! My favourite drink was the Medusa special, at Medusa's! Try Skorpios for great food and a warm welcome. Outside the beach door turn left and keep walking along the sea front for about 20 mins and you will come to the other part of Gouves. Turn left at the big hotel on the corner, walk up and turn left at the Anfield Bar (a particularly unfriendly welcome from bar lady in there) and a bit further up you will find The Filoxenia Taverna. What a great place, great food and very friendly people well worth the 20 min walk.
The only downside were that the balcony did not have a partition just a small wall separating you from the next room. Also the only non smoking area's were indoors, it would have been nice to have been able to sit outside for meals and not be subjected to other peoples smoke.
This was a wonderful holiday and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just arrived back from a 11 day holiday in the Island hotel Crete, what a quiet and relaxing holiday the whole hotel was so clean and comfortable hotel staff and Thompson holiday reps so friendly and helpfull, never had any trouble getting a sun bed either the double beds or the traditional singles, we only had one day where it was quite busy around the main pool so we went to the smaller quiet pool where their were always beds any time of day,
we are vegetarians but still had a good choice of meals every day and on the Saturday we went to the on site Taverna for Creten night and they prepared a special 5 course meal just for us it was great, we went on a excursion to the Minoan Palace and Heraklion which were only about 20 minutes away, every evening you could sit with your dinner and watch the sun set just perfect , the only complaint would be that as it was so hot the aircon in the room could have had a bit more power at night , but over all a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnkelly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Island in 2011, and booked again for a short notice sunshine break. On check in the reception staff noticed that we were repeat clients - always creates a favourable impression despite being easy to achieve, surprising how many hotels don't bother though - and we were allocated a room adjacent to the one we had in 2011. Pleased to say we found that little had changed - the hotel remains immaculate, and the staff (some of whom also remembered us) are without exception wonderfully helpful. The entire property is washed down from 07:00 daily (some of the floors/paths are slippery until they have dried, but that doesn't take very long). There are plenty of sun beds around the two main pools, and also on the sandy beach across the road from the hotel - take your blue hotel beach towels, and you won't be charged. The food remains buffet-style at breakfast and dinner (the only lunch option is a la carte at the Stone pool-side restaurant) and as such arrangements go, it is better than many - plenty of choices, regularly topped-up and many different 'themed' menus during the week, don't expect Michelin standard catering though. Drinks prices seemed to have crept up by a euro or so and are a bit more expensive than the local tavernas - some good cocktails though. The hotel runs a popular "Cretan" evening in it's own taverna every Saturday for an extra €20 per head - go for the music and dancing, the traditional Cretan food is an acquired taste. a final point - if you travel to this property from the UK it will probably be with Thomson Holidays - if so, and you have pre-booked any excursions, despite the impression given by the Thomson site, make sure you get one of the reps to chase up the physical tickets you will need with the local Tui office (last year and this we ended up having ours faxed to the Island hotel the night before). Otherwise the reps won't be aware that you have booked excursions, and there is every possibility you will not be allowed on the coach.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Essexscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We returned from a lovely stay at The Island Hotel a week ago and I thought it was a very clean and well laid out hotel. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very helpful and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a good holiday. Its true that the beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms could do with more storage and they should definitely hang a blind over the door so that the light is not streaming in when you wake in the mornings. The design of the bathroom will not work for everyone as the bathroom is not closed in and the only privacy is achieved by pulling a blind down where there should be a wall. The pools are very clean and there are lots of beds but it was very dissapointing to find towels on the sunbeds for hours whilst people are elsewhere, usually at the beach! When we complained to reception we were told to bring the towels to reception and just use the beds. My answer to this is that I have paid for a holiday and it is their job to deal with this problem not mine. Subsquently, nothing happened. They have a rule but don't seem to enforce it. The food was ok, personally I didn't go to Greece to eat lukewarm themed dinners each night and ended up eating in the local tavernas. My favourite Taverna was Skopelos which is located at the end of the road if you turn right out of the main gate. The owners were very welcome and having eaten several times in Medusa and Georges, I found this to be the most authentic, well priced and generous. All three Tavernas were welcoming and fairly good but Skopelos was definitely the best of the three. There was enough choice for breakfast but it could definitely be better, its fine and plentiful but not really 4 star. We have spent many holidays in Greece and enjoy traditional greek food and Skopelos Taverna really was a good representation and much cheaper than Medusa or George's. The hotel is well located on the beach and if you are looking for a very quiet and relaxing holiday then this is a good choice. We had a really lovely holiday but only becaue we decided to ignore the fact that we had paid for half board and decided to eat out each night. I wish that when we were booking this holiday that there had been the option for Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 631RebeccaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We returned home yesterday from a week at The Island Hotel, wished we had gone for two !! The whole holiday was perfect, as soon as you walk into the main reception you feel your whole body relax, then, you walk through the doors to the main hotel area and you know you have just arrived in paradise !! The Hotel is spotless, secluded seating areas and hammocks, peace and quiet literally 24/7, absolutely fantastic staff, great food, lots of choice (didn't need to eat out, and I am a picky eater) everything was just right. Through the door at the bottom of the garden and you are on the beach (across a very quiet road, but that was no hastle) the Hotel has use of the sunbeds, just take your blue towel with you from your room and the sunbed is free. We treated ourselves and had one of the suites with private pool and yes people looked over, occasionally, from the pool area to look at the view but it really is no problem at all, don't regret booking this room it was beautiful. Booked a 4x4 day through Thomson, brilliant day, brilliant guide, brilliant lunch, well worth the money. All in all a superb Holiday, would we go back ? YOU BET !!!

Room Tip: Suite with private pool was fabulous
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We returned today in the early hours and was very sad to leave, the hotel, staff and weather was perfect, we asked for the same room and we got it with extras, A special thank you to all who made our stay so perfect yet again. As always the attention to detail was lovely, the Kitchen with all the new changes is great although i liked it the last time as well, Gentlemen PLEASE remember to take long trousers in the evening for dinner as it is the hotel policy, ladies dresses look lovely not shorts and t-shirts. i will always rate this hotel excellent because Marie-ann and her staff are always there to look after the guest.

Room Tip: seaview rooms are to me better although you pay more the view is beautiful xx
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
3.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
1.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#9 of 35 in Elounda
1,471 reviews
43.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Address: Vlihadas Street | Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Pantheon Palace Beach Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#3 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $97 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantheon Palace Beach Gouves
Hotel Pantheon Palace Beach
The Island Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing