We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but would not return”
Review of Club Lyda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Lyda Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Reviewed August 6, 2014

On arrival we were greeted by costas, who is so friendly and helpful, 1st room was awful, dirty, noisy old fridge, no shower curtain, next to olive trees which attracted mosquito, 2nd room was better, staff are so friendly, stefanos and costas in particular were fantastic, bad points, food not great, pool toilets not cleaned enough, visited rainbow bar for food and helen across from hotel aswell, bus service fantadtic which takes you to hessonassis whuch is a lively town to visit, Malia is stop after but nit for the faint hearted, lol, overall , loved frete, just not this hotel unfortunately,

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 664 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at about 10.30 as we walked up the road the music was roaring out.We were then taken to our room if you could call it that it was no better than a cave.The beds were so old and hard very uncomfatable.Then to make it worse cockroaches we caught seven went to reception and were told the maid would spray ,they wouldnt give us another room,as i tried to sleep(which was impossable for the music)a roach landed on my head.Worse holiday ever.Thomas Cook need to be looking into this hotel

Room Tip: Dont know we didnt see any.Probably by the top pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rita g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Very satisfied about the service we received from the employees. Especially from: Costas, George, Vasso, and Despina. The hotel has nice facilities, and the reception provides great information about tourist attractions. If something should be taken care of, it would be the meal. We missed some authentic Greek food.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Ara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roula N, Διευθυντής at Club Lyda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay at Club Lyda. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Club Lyda.

Regarding your comments on the food I have to state, that our menu consists of many Greek traditional recipes such as Muzaka, gumbo, lamp in Greek style and many others.
Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Mrs. Roula Niraki
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

All inclusive is not all inclusive. Food is not good. And hotel is outside area. Night time shower and water is closed. And only russian disco and after 11 PM is all over. Not recomended. .............................

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank Imre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at lyda club on the 2nd of June, we was on a lads holiday and we had a afternoon flight so when we had showed up it was late and but we was greeted by the friendliest man and who I can only describe as the nicest guy and a credit to the hotel costas, who which gave us food due to missing dinner and we needed sobering up. We were on a lads holiday so for us hersonissos and malia are a 20 minute bus journey so the hotel being only 2 minutes up the road from a bus stop was a great location for us to chill in the day and party at night. Our room was brilliant 2 single beds and a double bed, being 3 lads we weren't exactly tidy at times but the room always would be cleaned so well! The pools are brilliant such a good vibe. The bar was brilliant with all the guys behind it and had such a laugh with stefanos who is such a funny guy and was nice enough to give me a lift one night. The animation was a Tunisian guy called michel who always worked hard and really got people involved and everyone who was in the hotel in our stay got to know eachother and would play water volleyball for hours people from all different countries. We always worry as we come to Crete every year because were lads in our early 20s we get stereotyped and we should but at lyda we weren't treated as trouble they treated us like family and it's an incredible atmosphere to be there. Anyone who complains about the food are ridiculous, great choice of meals, always different meats and fish with other dishes, never had a meal I didn't enjoy. There was a waitress there she couldn't speak English, she was quite young with dark hair, when I was hungover every morning I would walk out and she would literally bring me good and look after me. I have been back a month today and I am still upset that I'm not at lyda! Amazing place and we will return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liamdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roula N, Διευθυντής at Club Lyda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Club Lyda. I am happy to learn that our facilities and service exceed your expectations. Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Mrs. Roula Niraki
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in June 2014 and when we arrived it was late at night and were greeted by a man at the desk. When I asked him about the air conditioning, how much and if I could leave it on in the day and with his awful attitude he said why you need it, you not stay in room?! This is the awful attitude from the staff we had all week.but we were pleasantly surprised that they had left us sandwiches and water in the room. But then the room wasn't right and wasn't very clean. So they said they would move us the next day. The next morning when we woke up we found out we were in the room they call the dungeon room. I went back to the room around 12 and the smell was so shocking. We had the fans for the toilets right next to our room and it was blowing out all the dirty water from the toilets. Was absolutely vile. I made a complaint but they weren't in a hurry to assist. We were moved the next day, but only by.chance of the hotel manager hearing me say how disappointed I was with the hotel. When we did move we had a room near the bar and the music was so loud, it didn't stop until 1am and started again at 9am. Staff weren't Greek and were very rude. Food was very little. Chips and.chocolate cake at breakfast. Only 4 choices for evening meal. Too many Russians Italians and Germans. Which were all very rude aswell. All inclusive stops at 11pm and they had silly rules like only using one glass over and.over again. Staff told me, what do I expect, it's only 3star. Bad attitudes. Best part about the holiday was the shop and pool. English tourists should stay away. Not friendly people.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank l-davies1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The outside area of the hotel is really nice and looks like an authentic Greek villa rather then a hotel. Three lovely pools including one with pool bar. I arrived before my partner due to unforeseen circumstances and the staff looked after me and made me feel special and not alone.

Room Tip: Choose one pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
1  Thank Kat833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roula N, Διευθυντής at Club Lyda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read your compliments of the friendliness and dedication of our colleagues. We make every effort to ensure your expectations are exceeded and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your personal experience and acknowledge our efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Mrs. Roula Niraki
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.6 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
Lavris Hotel Bungalows
#14 of 36 in Kato Gouves
221 reviews
3.7 mi away
Porto Village
Porto Village
#91 of 172 in Hersonissos
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Marie Kelly
Villa Marie Kelly
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
456 reviews
37.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Rock
Hotel Eden Rock
#3 of 3 in Agia Fotia
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Lyda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Lyda Hotel

Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $69 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Lyda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Lyda Hotel is an ideal holiday choice for families and couples looking for a relaxing getaway to Crete. It offers large open areas for children to run, extensive sun terrace areas around the three large outdoor swimming pools and features a mini club for children aged four to twelve years old during July and August. The mini club is supervised and operates during set times during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Lyda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Lyda Hotel Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing