We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best laugh with Mr Bean”
Review of Phillipos Taverna

Phillipos Taverna
Ranked #11 of 53 Restaurants in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Side street by the Beach-front Church
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best laugh with Mr Bean”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great chef with the best food around and there is always a laugh with Phillipos who looks like Mr Bean and Matilda

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    50
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great food and very friendly and efficient staff. A typical Greek taverna with an extensive menu slightly off the beaten track so was pleased to find it. Beware the portions were quite big.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justina15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent and authentic”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Was in Gouves Crete for a week and was recommended this taverna by a local, ordered an assortment of dishes all very large portions and delicious, asked Philipo if we could order some dishes for a few days time that where not on the menu, he could not be more helpful and we returned a few days later we had Xorta Gavros etc all to die for, a top rate taverna and very reasonable prices nice relaxed atmosphere and would recommend this place to anyone I know.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank novachess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“It was a nice evening!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Few days ago, I was there with my husband and some friends! The service and the food were excellent. Phillipos was so polite all the time, even I felt uncomfortable, but he is like this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samseera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Taverna”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this Taverna just round the corner what a jewel, lovely food reasonable prices. Phillipe was a great host even driving me to catch a garlic merchant we just missed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDK1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillipos Taverna also viewed

 
Kato Gouves, Gouves
 
 

Been to Phillipos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing