We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service, lovely location, thoroughly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service, lovely location, thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed July 3, 2009

My wife and I booked this holiday fairly last minute using teletext.com. We checked the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and can honestly say we were not disappointed. After booking I tracked down the hotel email address in order to ask a couple of questions. The replies were always prompt and set the tone from the start.
Due to our flight timings we arrived at the hotel at around 3:30am via our pre-booked coach transfer. As the hotel is only 12km from the airport it just so happened that we were the first dropped off. We were met at the front of the sister hotel Goves Sea by the night receptionist in a golf style buggy and transported along with our luggage the 75m up to the Gouves Mare. No fuss during check in and shown staright to our room.
The Gouves Mare is around 2 years old, lovely and modern as most of the photos indicate. The Gouves Sea is a few years older but just a s nice as far as I can tell. Both are family owned (as is the case with most hotels in this part of Crete) so not too large and fairly informal. Only about 50 rooms in total. That said there is no skimping on quality of service or friendliness by the staff. Marianna and Christel run the front desk and do so very well. We actually asked to change rooms for one that just had a shower as opposed to a bath with shower over. We were given the choice of a couple of rooms. A few other couples have also moved rooms in the week we have been here. Not for any adverse reason. Just for showers only or perhaps a sea view if available. The hotel is full but guests change over at various times throughout the week so room changes are always a possibility if required. Up until last year the hotel was primarily linked with French tourists but UK tour operators have now been invited. The majority of guests this last week have been British.
The hotel is classed as 4* using the Crete classification system. I wouldn't disagree with giving it that rating. The overall experience has been wonderful. As my wife is 6 months pregnant we only wanted a quiet getaway. If you want hustle and bustle then go to Malia. If you want a great, modern, clean hotel then this is the place. Effectively right on the sea front you can chosse to either laze by either swimming pool or onto the beach as you require. By middle of the day most people we were pretty much the only ones by our pool as the other guests were sightseeing or otherwise. We were on half board. Breakfast was a mixture of continental buffet and hot. Evening meal was varied and catered for vegetarians. There is also a snack bar at the front of the Gouves Sea which sells all sorts from salads to burgers. Happy hour in the hotel was from 6-8pm when cocktails were virtually half price at 3.50 euros. Happy hour now exists from 6pm until the bar closes. Mostly because I think the Brits were the only ones using the bar.
Although locally there isn't a great deal to do there are plenty of trips available and car hire places so that the sights and sounds of the rest of Crete can be explored.
The hotel offers free internet, located in the hotel lobby.
Overall I would highly recommend the Gouves Hotels and would come back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2016
Kalimera !!!

Many thanks for your so enthusiastic and joyful comment about our small familiy hotel !

We are very happy that you've seen the changes we've made from 2009 and hope you will come back again to note our improvements to come ;-)

We consider you as our ambassors in your country to praise our Gouves Sea Hotel & Suites to your family, parents and your relationships !

Best regards from the island of Crete
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    88
    41
    18
    9
See reviews for
79
174
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2009

from the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough to make our stay a great experience. our room was very big and spotlessly clean. clean towels every day and bed changed very often. the food was excellent and we were never tempted to eat out in the evening for a change. the snack bar at the front, run by the son of the family was excellent and also very friendly. the staff would pop up at different places in the hotel and always with a smile. we will certainly go back to this lovely family run hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2016
Kalimera !!!

Many thanks for your so enthusiastic and joyful comment about our small familiy hotel !

We are very happy that you've seen the changes we've made from 2009 and hope you will come back again to note our improvements to come ;-)

We consider you as our ambassors in your country to praise our Gouves Sea Hotel & Suites to your family, parents and your relationships !

Best regards from the island of Crete
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Don't be put off when you arrive at Gouves Mare - the front of the hotel is called Gouves Sea and you may think you're at the wrong hotel as we did!! There are two blocks and the Mare is at the back of the complex, two minutes walk straight down the drive to the lovely sandy, shallow beach. Our room was huge, with free air conditioning, great shower, no balcony but instead our table and chairs were in the main courtyard on the ground floor. The food was good, lots of choice, all fresh and plenty of it! I would recommend hiring a car, we booked direct with Mike Tours (about 15 mins walk out the right of the hotel) and I can recommend them for price and service - we paid about 140 euro for seven days non consecutive car hire. We did lots of day trips, but I particularly recommend going to Dikti Cave (about 45 mins south east of Gouves, its a torturous hike to get to the cave, but worth it for the views and the stalagtites), an hour and a half south to Matala where there are sea caves and a lovely little resort with great tavernas, local market and crystal clear waters (do take some shoes to wear though as the beach is beautiful but really pebbly and boiling hot underfoot!). We also enjoyed the Crete Aquarium (which we walked to from the hotel, about half an hour out to the left of the hotel), Rethymnon (nice harbour and historical fortress) and Aghios Nikolaos (lovely views around the lake). In the evenings, we loved going to the Sailing Cafe (15 mins walk out to the right of the hotel) and sitting in the very comfortable chairs right on the seafront, an ideal place to watch the sun set with a drink and again, great service. This hotel was particularly excellent because of the friendly and welcoming staff, the spacious, cool and clean rooms and the great standard of the hotel accommodation overall. I would definitely recommend this hotel and resort to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthYorksCoupleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianaChrysogonou, Directeur général at Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2016
Kalimera !!!

Many thanks for your so enthusiastic and joyful comment about our small familiy hotel !

We are very happy that you've seen the changes we've made from 2009 and hope you will come back again to note our improvements to come ;-)

We consider you as our ambassors in your country to praise our Gouves Sea Hotel & Suites to your family, parents and your relationships !

Best regards from the island of Crete
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
6.5 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#62 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
16.6 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
12.8 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#13 of 32 in Amoudara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
38.6 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
34.7 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites

Property: Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites
Address: Gouves Pediados, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crete and Hotel Gouves Sea ****... Our well-situated, comfortable and family hotel, in front of the Aegean Sea, will be the first great souvenir of your trip and an excellent place to go to visit all the most important cities of Crete : 18km from the airport, 22km from Héraklion, 30km from archeological site of Knossos, 45km from Agios Nikolaos, 85km from Ierapetra, 98km from Rethymno, 115km from Sitia, 158km from Chania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gouves Sea and Mare Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Suites Gouves Mare
Hotel Gouves Mare
Mare Hotel Gouves
Gouves Sea And Mare Hotel & Suites Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing